Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Business: Support Materials: Coaching and Mentoring

Trouble-shooting Issues

If you are having issues accessing our resources...

  • Clear your browser cache and then restart your browser: Instructions to do this are on the Middlesex University IT services webpages.
  • Turn off your work VPN and/or use a personal non-work device: Sometimes your Work VPN and/or security software on a work device can block access to our resources.

If you continue to have access issues, please email businesslibrarian@mdx.ac.uk and we will look into the problem.

Books on Coaching and Mentoring

The SAGE Handbook of Mentoring

The SAGE Handbook of Mentoring provides a scholarly, comprehensive, and critical overview of mentoring theory, research, and practice across the world. Internationally renowned authors map out the key historical and contemporary research, before considering modern case study examples and future directions for the field.

Techniques for Coaching and Mentoring

The book presents a comprehensive and critical overview of the wide range of tools and techniques available to coaches and mentors. With a strong academic underpinning, it explores a wide range of approaches, and provides techniques both for use with clients and to support professional development of the coach or mentor.

Excellence in Coaching

Excellence in Coaching is a comprehensive guide presenting the latest cutting-edge thinking in the field of workplace coaching. Published with the Association for Coaching, this book covers all key components of the coaching process, and examines a diverse range of coaching models including behavioural and transpersonal coaching, enabling coaches and trainers to adapt their approach and excel in their professional practice.

Coaching and Mentoring for Work-Life Balance

This book is a practical and evidence-based resource to help coaches and mentors in supporting clients to achieve greater work-life balance. Written by an experienced academic-practitioner team, this book provides coaches and mentors with a way of addressing work-life tensions with their clients. It is grounded in research and practice and offers a wide range of tools and techniques which are supported with real-life case studies illustrating how they can be employed.

Coaching Skills

This book will support you whether you are an experienced coach working with senior executives, or a beginner taking your first steps on the journey to becoming a master-practitioner. The book answers questions such as: Which tools and techniques pay dividends every time and to avoid? What are the magic ingredients that determine whether the coach-client relationship works? Why are goal-setting and questioning such important skills for any coach and how can you acquire them? How as a coach can you work with clients to make truly transformational changes in their lives? As a writer Jenny has published more than 70 books on topics which include adult learning, influencing, facilitation skills and career management.

Leadership Team Coaching

 Leadership Team Coaching is a roadmap for those who have the responsibility of developing a leadership team. It provides a thorough explanation of the key elements of team coaching and is filled with practical tools and techniques to facilitate optimum performance across virtual teams, international teams, executive boards and other teams.

The Leader's Guide to Coaching and Mentoring

Coaching & mentoring skills are essential to help people reach their full potential. Once the preserve of qualified external coaches, all managers are now expected to apply these skills to get the most from their people. This guide provides the tools needed to coach  mentor within your role & unlock top performance in your people.        

The Coaching Manual: the Definitive Guide to the Process, Principles and Skills of Personal Coaching

Translated around the world, and recommended reading on many coaching programmes this bestselling book is trusted globally as the definitive guide to coaching. Understand and develop the core skills and beliefs of an effective coach  Know how to ask insightful questions that deliver valuable answers. Gain practical help to plan coaching assignments that accelerate and improve your results.

Brilliant Coaching: How to Be a Brilliant Coach in Your Workplace

Great coaching increases people's engagement, learning and performance. Coaching is the must-have leadership skill that helps you get the best from your team, and Brilliant Coaching shows how you can have it too. By adopting methods specifically developed and proven in business, you'll discover what it takes to be a leader or manager who can coach, and apply simple coaching principle in everyday scenarios.

Implementing Mentoring Schemes

'Implementing Mentoring Schemes' constitutes the most comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of the design, implementation, evaluation and revitalization of mentoring schemes. Although it can be used as a practical "how-to" guide on implementing mentoring schemes, it is ultimately a book that promotes best practice, combining academic research and case studies with many years of practical experience to produce expert advice.

Coaching, Mentoring and Organizational Consultancy: Supervision, Skills and Development

Substantially revised, this accessible book provides a response to these growing demands, examining:

  • Differences and similarities between coaching, mentoring and organizational consultancy.
  • Personal and professional development that leads to sustainable change.
  • Qualities, capabilities, skills and values necessary for effective coaching, mentoring and supervision Guidelines for practice.

Group and Team Coaching

Group and Team Coaching offers a new perspective on the 'secret life of groups', the subconscious and non-verbal processes through which people learn and communicate in groups and teams. Updated with new research and including a wealth of vignettes and case studies, it will be essential reading for coaches who work with groups and teams as well as leaders commissioning coaching.

The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of the Psychology of Coaching and Mentoring

A state-of-the-art reference, drawing on key contemporary research to provide an in-depth, international, and competencies-based approach to the psychology of coaching and mentoring. Puts cutting-edge evidence at the fingertips of organizational psychology practitioners who need it most, but who do not always have the time or resources to keep up with scholarly research.

The Practice of Adpative Leadership

The Practice of Adaptive Leadership is a hands-on, practical guide containing stories, tools, diagrams, cases, and worksheets to help you develop your skills as an adaptive leader, able to take people outside their comfort zones and assess and address the toughest challenges. In today's rapidly changing world, The Practice of Adaptive Leadership can be your handbook to meeting the demands of leadership in the midst of complexity.

Coaching and Mentoring: LinkedIn Courses

LinkedIn Learning is part of the LinkedIn network. It is a website packed full of videos, tutorials and fully-curated courses taught by recognised industry experts. As a Middlesex University student, you have free access to this valuable resource.