Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are academic resources?
For your studies, you will need to find academic sources. These can include academic textbooks and scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.
What does Peer-reviewed mean?
Peer-reviewing is a vigorous process where articles written by academics are assessed by other academics, who give the writer editorial feedback. The article is rewritten using this feedback, before being published in an academic journal.
Finding the journals and news databases
There are multiple ways you can find databases to help you find journal articles:
1. You can use the library's main catalogue, Library Search, and use the filters on the left-hand side.
2. You can access the subject library guides. These guides will give you advice on which databases will help you find journal articles appropriate to your studies.
The database links from the Business: Core Resources Guide are also in the right-hand column.
You can access the databases through the A - Z databases on myUniHub.
How do I find and spot peer-review articles?
Limit your results to 'Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed' articles using the left-hand column.
If it is peer-reviewed, it will have this icon:
Business Source Complete
Limit your results to 'Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals' using the left-hand column.
Other Search Engines
Search engines may not explicitly state if an article has been peer-reviewed. If you are unsure whether an article has been peer-reviewed, look for the 'about this journal' section in the journal. If you are unsure about the article and whether you can use it for your assignment, please contact us on:
Academic Resources: Library Guide Pages
Business Journal Databases
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Description: Business Source Complete is our most comprehensive business database with content from peer reviewed (scholarly) journal and magazine articles. Most articles are full text. Business reports with industry, company and country profiles are also included.
Emerald This link opens in a new window Description: Emerald offers access to journal articles in the fields of Business, Economics, Management,
Marketing, Accounting, Finance and Human Resource Management.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window Description: A leading full-text scientific database providing access to journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Description: Includes:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science and Humanities
Social Sciences Citation Index
Science Citation Index
(See individual databases for more information)
Subject Scope: Arts, Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences
Date Range: Varied
Full Text: No
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window Description: Searches over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters.
Subject Scope: Anthropology, Economics, Politics, Sociology, Development Studies, Gender and Sexuality, Human Geography and Environment, Development Studies, Business and Management, Social Policy, Health, Education, International relations, Media and communication, Psychology, History, Law and Philosophy.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window Description: Humanities International Complete provides full text for over 1200 journals, together with books and other published sources from around the world. It also contains all the data from Humanities International Index providing indexing and abstracting for over 2000 journals. Much of its full-text content is not found in other databases.
Research Repository: Middlesex University This link opens in a new windowResearch work by Middlesex University staff and alumni
If you are having issues accessing our resources...
- Clear your browser cache and then restart your browser: Instructions to do this are on the Middlesex University IT services webpages.
- Turn off your work VPN and/or use a personal non-work device: Sometimes your Work VPN and/or security software on a work device can block access to our resources.
If you continue to have access issues, please email email@example.com and we will look into the problem.