Hi
Welcome to the vet nursing library guide. This guide is full of helpful information about the library, its resources and study skills. If you have any questions please email me. Enjoy your time at Middlesex University
Susannah
For current library services and information please visit this link MyMDX
If you are having issues logging in to resources please check this library guide https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/accessing-eresources
IMPORTANT CHANGES
The Sheppard Library will change its Opening Hours from the 28th April 2025. Up until now the building was operating on a 24/7 basis and in line with the Building closures plans across campus, the Library will be affected as follows:-
From the 28th April it will operate from 8am to 11pm during Term Time, 8:30am to 10pm on Summer Holidays and 11am to 6pm on Bank Holidays.
From the 6th May an overnight bookable study space will be available in the College Building, CG48, between 11pm and 8am. This requires booking in advance.
If we don't have a journal paper you need then we get it from the British Library, free for Research and Academic Staff. They also lend books. See our Inter library loans guide.
If you think we should buy a book for the library, tell us via the Suggest a book form for your campus.
If you want us to subscribe to a new journal (which can be expensive) please ask your Liaison Librarian.
Use Library Search to find and access quality academic resources.
Gemma Wilkinson is the Academic Writing and Language Lecturer for the School of Health and Education.
Part of Learning Enhancement the team can help you excel in your academic communication, whether this is in written assignments or oral presentations, as well as using information effectively and ethically in your work. They also teach maths, stats and numeracy skills.
Contact: LET@mdx.ac.uk
Academic Writing and Language (AWL)
Join our MyLearning community for further opportunities to develop your writing and language skills alongside other students or through one-to-one development plans with our AWL lecturers.
Please find all the information you need on Home Page - MyMDX under 'Learning'.
If you have any questions, please contact awl@mdx.ac.uk
Health & Education School – LET Co-ordinator: Gemma Wilkinson
Textbook of Equine Veterinary Nursing by
Discover a practical approach to equine veterinary nursing care, for use in clinical practice and education. Textbook of Equine Veterinary Nursing provides an introduction to the required knowledge and fundamental skills involved with veterinary nursing care for equine patients. It is a rigorous and comprehensive resource for any individual working in the equine veterinary industry, covering core topics including anatomy and physiology, clinical examination, medication administration, husbandry, infection control, and critical care for equine patients. Specific nursing care requirements for neonates and donkeys are also included. Textbook of Equine Veterinary Nursing readers will also find: Detailed discussion of topics including applied equine welfare, equine medical and surgical disorders, and equine anaesthesia Information, revision aids, and exam guidance specific to the current syllabi for the equine veterinary nursing qualification Advice on career progression, further qualifications, and training in equine care Written by a team of experienced equine veterinary nurses and equine veterinary surgeons and based on evidence-based research, Textbook of Equine Veterinary Nursing is ideal for equine veterinary nurses, student equine veterinary nurses, veterinary students and equine science students. This textbook can also be used for higher education equine courses.
Introduction to Animal and Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology by
A sound knowledge of anatomy and physiology is an essential basis for the effective clinical treatment of companion animals and farm animals alike. The fifth edition of this bestselling textbook continues to provide students with a comprehensive description of the anatomy and physiology of dogs, cats, birds, exotics, farmed animals, and horses. This new edition: Contains detailed descriptions of the systematic anatomy and physiology of a wide range of animal species with expanded bird coverage for the first time. Includes applied anatomy tips that relate theory to clinical practice. Considers anatomy education not only for veterinary science students, but also those studying wider animal science, animal behaviour, or agriculture. Newly enhanced with an online test-yourself course and augmented reality animations to view on your phone and bring the subject to life, this book is an essential and easy to understand introduction for all those embarking upon a veterinary, animal science or animal management career.
The Impact of Therapy and Pet Animals on Human Stress by
Stress can have a deleterious effect on people's health, but a growing body of evidence suggests animals can have a positive effect on people's stress levels. This book showcases a rich collection of papers from Human-Animal Interactions, highlighting research pertaining to pets, and to animal assisted therapy in school and professional settings.
Physical Rehabilitation for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses. 2nd ed. by
Physical Rehabilitation for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses A must-own guide for veterinary professionals specializing in physical rehab Physical rehabilitation is a vital aspect of veterinary medicine. A successful program of rehabilitation is one of the most important determinants of long-term patient outcomes after surgery or serious illness, and veterinary patients are no exception. Veterinary technicians and nurses specializing in physical rehabilitation therefore constitute a potentially critical component of any veterinary practice and/or care team. Physical Rehabilitation for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides a clear, accessible overview of this subject for prospective veterinary rehabilitation professionals. Brimming with insights stemming from both research and practical experience, and now updated to reflect a wave of new research since the first edition, this book promises to equip readers with the knowledge required to make themselves indispensable in veterinary practice. Readers of the second edition of Physical Rehabilitation for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses will also find: Practical tips and tricks connected to the role of a technician on a rehabilitation team New or updated coverage of subjects including canine fitness, shockwave protocols, underwater treadmill exercises, and many more Guidance ideal for training programs and certifications from the most important institutes and technician schools Physical Rehabilitation for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses is ideal as an introduction for prospective technicians and nurses, as well as a reference handbook for practicing veterinary technicians and nurses.
Complementary Medicine for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses by
Timely update of a practical reference book in complementary medicine with expansion of bibliographies, nutrition and diet, treatments, and therapies Complementary Medicine for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides a broad overview of complementary veterinary medicine in general, designed as a reference book covering the most commonly used complementary modalities, with an explanation of each modality and its historical background, procedure guidelines, and usefulness, along with practical tips. A range of both common and lesser-known modalities are covered, including physical therapy, holistic nutrition, acupuncture, chiropractic, Chinese, Western, and Ayurvedic herbal medicine, homeopathy, aromatherapy, and grief counseling. The text enables readers to assist with procedures associated with holistic medicine and knowledgeably discuss treatment options with clients. Outlining the respective roles of technicians and veterinarians throughout, Complementary Medicine for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides thorough coverage of integrative veterinary medicine in a user-friendly, digestible format. The book provides clinically-relevant patient history and release forms, a glossary of terms, quick reference charts, and contact information for additional resources and training. Written by a highly qualified author with significant experience in the field, Complementary Medicine for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses covers sample topics such as: TCM theory, chiropractic medicine, veterinary orthopedic manipulation (VOM), osteopathy, homeopathy, aromatherapy, and veterinary NAET Homotoxicology, applied kinesiology (AK), bach flower therapy, glandulars, cold laser therapy, magnetic therapy, ozone therapy, and prolotherapy BioNutritional analysis (BNA), immuno-augmentative therapy (IAT), color therapy, rife, EAV/Biotron, and animal communicators Detoxification, nutraceuticals, general nutrition, trigger point therapy, reiki, shiatsu, tuina, underwater treadmill therapy, and herbal pharmacy procedures Role of conventional medicine in a holistic practice, ozone therapy, pulsing magnetic field therapy, and assisi loop A unique resource covering different modalities that can be used to effectively treat health problems in animal patients, Complementary Medicine for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses is an essential resource for veterinary technicians and nurses, along with veterinarians and dedicated pet owners who wish to move beyond basic consumer resources.
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion by
Small Animal Toxicology Respond rapidly to small animal poisonings with this up-to-date quick reference guide Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Small Animal Toxicology, Third Edition is an essential resource for managing poisonings in dogs and cats. Using the familiar Five-Minute Veterinary Consult format, the book makes it quick and easy to find the crucial details for successfully managing toxicology cases in dog and cat patients. Toxins are listed alphabetically with key details in brief bullets, with clinical photographs depicting plants and other toxins for identification purposes. The Third Edition adds 11 new chapters, including pet food, CBD, gabapentin, and more, and 2 new appendices discussing anthelmintics and calculations. Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Small Animal Toxicology: Makes it easy to locate and apply pertinent information in a time-sensitive poisoning situation Presents toxins in alphabetical order for ease of use, with an index by clinical signs to help develop differential lists when the toxin isn't known Features clinical photographs to aid in identifying toxins Emphasizes clinically relevant details for the most common toxins presenting in small animal practice Adds 11 new chapters and 2 new appendices, plus expanded and updated information throughout Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult Clinical Companion: Small Animal Toxicology is a must-have resource for general practice and emergency vets, veterinary students, and anyone who might take a call about a suspected poisoning.
Cooperative Veterinary Care by
Cooperative Veterinary Care A new and improved edition of the original guide to veterinary care and husbandry putting the emotional welfare of animals first Every pet needs medical care in the veterinary clinic and husbandry at home. Fear and stress can present significant barriers to good care while also compromising safety for animal care professionals and pet owners. It's possible to help pets learn to allow and even willingly participate in veterinary care, husbandry, and grooming. With a foundation in learning theory and emphasizing practical techniques, Cooperative Veterinary Care is a groundbreaking guide to encouraging voluntary participation in veterinary care. Now updated to reflect the latest research and clinical information drawing on years of professional hands-on experience, it's a must-own for any small animal practice or pet professional looking to increase patient comfort and facilitate excellent care. Foundations of learning and training to prepare any professional to get started right away Unique exploration of the veterinary environment and how Cooperative Veterinary Care can help Integration of the Fear Free(sm) Spectrum of Fear, Anxiety & Stress to quantify patient experiences Step by step training plans for veterinary care and husbandry with photo and video demonstrations Practical applications for all common procedures. Foundation techniques which can be expanded to virtually any veterinary care or animal husbandry and grooming need Cooperative Veterinary Care is written for the veterinary professional team but will help anyone and everyone who cares for and interacts with pets.
Quality Improvement in Nursing by
As a student and newly registered nurse, you will need to work with others to lead, improve and sustain high quality care. This book will equip you with the skills and knowledge to do just that. From the principles and theory behind quality improvement to the practical skills and tools needed to enable it, the book develops your ability to engage in continuous quality improvement in different settings throughout your career.Key features· Mapped to the 2018 NMC Standards of Proficiency· Case studies illustrate the principles of quality improvement in real examples from practice· Walks you step by step through each aspect of a quality improvement project, from identifying a need to implementation and evaluation· Personal and professional development is discussed throughout, empowering you to engage in quality improvement from the very start of your career
Surgical Patient Care for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses. 2nd ed. by
Surgical Patient Care for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses A step-by-step guide to caring for small animal surgical patients Surgical Patient Care for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses, Second Edition offers a complete, practical guide to nursing care for patients undergoing common and advanced surgeries in small animal practice. Written by veterinary technicians for veterinary technicians, the book is organized chronologically, beginning with the initial client contact and continuing through surgery to discharge and aftercare. The new edition significantly expands the surgical procedures chapter, adding new procedures, and incorporates updates to reflect new knowledge throughout. Topics cover all aspects of surgical patient care, including surgical assisting and patient comfort, for orthopedic, soft tissue, and emergency surgeries. A companion website offers video clips and review questions and answers, plus the figures from the book in PowerPoint. The Second Edition features: Hundreds of clinical photographs to support the text, with more than 100 images new to this edition, including many new instrument photos A logical chronological organization, from initial client communication through to discharge and aftercare instructions Topics ranging from laboratory testing, patient preparation, and instrument care and maintenance to bandaging, client communication, rehabilitation, encompassing orthopedic, ophthalmic, soft tissue, and emergency surgeries Expanded coverage of surgical procedures and wound management A companion website with video clips, review questions and answers, and the figures from the book in PowerPoint Surgical Patient Care for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses is equally useful for veterinary technician and nursing students and for veterinary technicians and nurses in practice, providing practical advice in a well-illustrated format.
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research. 6th ed. by 
BSAVA small animal formulary : Part A, Canine and Feline by 
BSAVA Manual of Practical Veterinary Welfare by
Awareness of animal sentience and welfare continues to grow in parallel with that of human mental health. This brand new manual for the whole practice team provides concise practical information on how to assess and maintain the highest standards of welfare in all veterinary environments. Written by a team of experts from a range of disciplines, the manual is relevant to all veterinary professionals and animal carers, as well as those studying animal welfare and behaviour. This title takes a holistic approach to animal health, and covers the welfare of the veterinary team and the 'One Health' positive aspects of pet ownership and animal contact.
Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care by
Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care Detailed, standardized, step-by-step protocols for easy access to essential information in small animal emergency rooms and intensive care units Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care, Second Edition offers a complete and clinically oriented reference for step-by-step detail on a wide range of procedures in the small animal emergency room and intensive care unit. Each protocol provides detailed instructions grounded in the evidence. The book is carefully designed for ease of use, with concise but comprehensive explanations, useful equipment lists, protocols called out in boxes, and extensive reference lists. In the revised and expanded Second Edition, information has been updated and expanded throughout, and information and chapters have been added in many important areas, including veterinary point-of-care ultrasound (VPOCUS), veterinary CPR, blood banking and transfusion medicine, advanced techniques for mechanical ventilation, and veterinary health care team wellbeing. A companion website offers the protocols in Word for editing and use in practice and the figures from the book in PowerPoint. Specific topics covered in Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care include: The cardiovascular system, covering catheterization of the venous compartment, arterial puncture and catheterization, cardiac VPOCUS, principles of electrocardiography, and electrocardiogram interpretation The respiratory system, covering oxygen therapy, pulse oximetry and CO-oximetry, blood gas analysis, pleural space and lung VPOCUS, tracheal intubation, and temporary tracheostomy The urinary and abdominal systems, covering urethral catheterization, abdominal VPOCUS, peritoneal dialysis, technical management of hemodialysis patients, and peritoneal evaluation Transfusion medicine, covering blood banking, blood typing, cross-matching, and administration of blood and other biological products Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care presents invaluable and accessible information for emergency situations, making it a highly useful reference for veterinary practitioners, veterinary technicians and nurses, veterinary students, small animal emergency and critical care residents, small animal emergency and critical care specialists, and emergency and critical care veterinary technicians and nurse specialists.
The Veterinary Nurse's Practical Guide to Small Animal Anaesthesia by
An accessible guide to small animal anaesthesia for the veterinary practice The Veterinary Nurse's Practical Guide to Small Animal Anaesthesia meets the need for a single practical guide to veterinary anaesthesia and its potential complications. Written by practicing veterinary nurses, the guide analyzes each stage in turn, beginning with a discussion of pre-assessment and pre-medication of patients. Most critically, it reviews the normal functioning of each physiological system in small animals before detailing common problems caused in these systems by anaesthesia. Developed for the day-to-day needs of veterinary nurses, readers will also find: Step-by-step guides to addressing specific issues such as GDV, brachycephalic patients, aggressive patients, and more Detailed guidelines for interpreting common test results and biometrics such as capnography and ECGs Chapters designed for easy reference in specific emergency situations The Veterinary Nurse's Practical Guide to Small Animal Anaesthesia is an essential tool for veterinary nurses and veterinary technicians.
