Evidence based Practice
“…involves the conscientious use of current best evidence in making decisions about patient care…” Evidence-based practice in nursing & healthcare: a guide to best practice (2005)
‘Evidence-based decisions combine clinical expertise, the most relevant and best available scientific evidence, patient circumstances and owners’ values. This is what we mean by Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine (EBVM).’ RCVS (2017) ‘What is EBVM?’ https://knowledge.rcvs.org.uk/evidence-based-veterinary-medicine/what-is-ebvm/
Pet-Specific Care for the Veterinary Team by
A practical guide to identifying risks in veterinary patients and tailoring their care accordingly Pet-specific care refers to a practice philosophy that seeks to proactively provide veterinary care to animals throughout their lives, aiming to keep pets healthy and treat them effectively when disease occurs. Pet-Specific Care for the Veterinary Team offers a practical guide for putting the principles of pet-specific care into action. Using this approach, the veterinary team will identify risks to an individual animal, based on their particular circumstances, and respond to these risks with a program of prevention, early detection, and treatment to improve health outcomes in pets and the satisfaction of their owners. The book combines information on medicine and management, presenting specific guidelines for appropriate medical interventions and material on how to improve the financial health of a veterinary practice in the process. Comprehensive in scope, and with expert contributors from around the world, the book covers pet-specific care prospects, hereditary and non-hereditary considerations, customer service implications, hospital and hospital team roles, and practice management aspects of pet-specific care. It also reviews specific risk factors and explains how to use these factors to determine an action plan for veterinary care. This important book: Offers clinical guidance for accurately assessing risks for each patient Shows how to tailor veterinary care to address a patient's specific risk factors Emphasizes prevention, early detection, and treatment Improves treatment outcomes and provides solutions to keep pets healthy and well Written for veterinarians, technicians and nurses, managers, and customer service representatives, Pet-Specific Care for the Veterinary Team offers a hands-on guide to taking a veterinary practice to the next level of care.
Introducing Research and Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Professionals by
Research can seem difficult to get to grips with. However, at the heart of this new edition is the view that research is essentially a simple activity, the principles of which can be readily understood by students new to the subject. Each chapter guides the reader to uncover the 'mysteries' of research, exposing each aspect in turn, while demonstrating how research in healthcare is a practical activity, orientated directly to patient care. Fully updated to refer to the latest sources and studies, the third edition includes:  a new chapter on systematic literature reviews;  a new chapter on research ethics;  a completely revised chapter on evidence-based practice which now focuses more tightly on the implementation of research and other forms of evidence. This book is designed for all students of nursing and allied health professions at any level but who find themselves studying research for the first time. Research is illustrated through examples of activities familiar to students from their daily lives, which help build confidence in undertaking research and evidence-based practice.
Nursing research : methods and critical appraisal for evidence-based practice by 
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by
Evidence-based practice is central to safe, high-quality and effective nursing. However, learning how to critique evidence and apply it to practice can be challenging at first. Written in clear, student-friendly language, this book builds your understanding of the terminology, theory and practice of using evidence. Learn how to evaluate different sources of evidence, apply this to your clinical decision making and, ultimately, contribute to an evidence-based culture in your workplace. Key features o Each chapter is mapped to the new 2018 NMC standards, showing how what you have learned relates to the requirements of a registered nurse o Filled with activities and student case studies to help you understand how to identify, evaluate and implement evidence-based practice o Promotes an evidence-based culture in all aspects of nursing practice, supporting your professional identity and development
Introduction to nursing research incorporating evidence-based practice by 
A beginner's guide to evidence-based practice in health and social care by 
How to Read a Paper by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Centre for Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine
Information about on-going projects and useful resources for the veterinary profession to promote the use of Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine principles.
VetSRev is a freely accessible online database of citations for systematic reviews of relevance to veterinary medicine and science.
Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine Association
The Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine Association (EBVMA) provides information on the training and practice of evidence-based veterinary medicine
This short article gives a brief guide to the different study types and a comparison of the advantages and disadvantages.
https://www.cebm.ox.ac.uk/resources/ebm-tools/study-designs
Research and Study Skills for Veterinary Nurses by
With developments in skills and knowledge level, more and more academic rigour is expected of veterinary nurses. Exams, CPD and repeated testing and study throughout the nurse's career are now requirements. Aimed at veterinary nurses and technicians, this book will guide the reader through the various research and study disciplines required of them. Research and Study Skills for Veterinary Nurses discusses why these academic skills are now required of the veterinary nurse, different types of source material, how to complete written assignments, how to reference properly, how to approach different test questions, how to respond to oral exams, how to complete OSCEs, CPD training, and work-based practical assessments. Research and Study Skills for Veterinary Nurses provides information and advice for student vet nurses who need a reliable resource to guide them through their course.
Understanding Research for Nursing Students by
Get to grips with all aspects of research that you need to succeed in your nursing degree. Learn why research is so important to nursing, develop your knowledge of key methods and terminology and build your confidence in applying research principles to your nursing practice.Key featureso Each chapter is mapped to the 2018 NMC standards, showing how research relates to the requirements of a registered nurseo Straightforward language and a step-by-step approach introduce you to key concepts and guide you through all aspects of the research processo Filled with activities and case studies to help you apply research principles and methods to your studies and practice
Nursing Research by
Find out why this book is a student favorite! Providing a solid foundation in nursing research and evidence-based practice, Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 10th Edition offers balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methodologies and an easy-to-read, easy-to-understand approach. This edition features new content on trending topics, including the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN), as well as improved usability, user-friendly learning aids, and full-text research articles to help you better understand how to apply research to everyday clinical practice. Balanced coverage explores the nursing research process and the EBP process, as well as qualitative and quantitative research methodologies. User-friendly writing style and engaging learning aids throughout the text include full-text research examples, Helpful Hints, EBP Tips, IPE Highlights, Research Vignettes, Clinical Judgment Challenges, Critical Appraisal Criteria, and more! Innovative format integrates examples from current, high-quality, relevant full-text research articles. "All-star" team of contributors is a widely respected collection of experts in nursing research and EBP. NEW and UPDATED! Full-text research articles, including a population health study and a quality improvement study, serve as foundational examples throughout the text and Research Vignettes illustrate the types of high-quality research and evidence-based practice (EBP) projects that are driving advances in nursing practice. NEW! Content on trending topics includes: Precision science and tailored healthcare based on evidence Big data Secondary analysis Data collection using social media and technology Focus groups Descriptive qualitative methods Genetics, genomics, and "omics" Social determinants of health and population health Healthy People 2030 The new U.S. Surgeon General's Report on Oral Health The NIH funding roadmap IPEC Core Competencies The opioid crisis HPV NEW! Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) content introduces the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model and includes Clinical Judgment Challenges in each chapter to help prepare students for the NGN. NEW! Expanded coverage of the latest developments in the field includes: Content on research methods (scoping, rapid realist, etc.) and guidelines (evidence- versus expert-based) other than meta-analysis. Content on mixed-methods research that reflects the growing emphasis on mixed research methodologies. Content on quality improvement (including the National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators [NDNQI], magnet status, and the Triple Aim) that addresses the growing importance of evidence-based quality improvement initiatives in clinical settings. NEW! Improved usability, with more illustrations, larger table type, increased use of bulleted text, enhanced readability, italicized in-text research examples for greater visibility, and better-aligned learning outcomes and chapter-ending key points make it easier for students to locate, understand, and retain information.
The Research Process in Nursing by
Comprehensive and thorough in scope, The Research Process in Nursing 7th edition provides everything you could want to know about research methods. This established textbook reflects the significant advances in nursing research and the importance of evidence-based practice, and provides an invaluable resource for both the novice and the more experienced researcher. It includes practical information and advice on: How to find and critique the evidence How to choose the right approach How to collect data How to make sense of the data How to put research into practice Special features: A clear, explicit and easy to understand text which links theory with practical steps in the research process. Examples provided allow the reader to apply a variety of research concepts to theoretical learning and professional practice. Incorporates chapters, research examples, and policy from a range of international countries, including Canada, Australia, USA and Hong Kong. Provides detailed discussions around each example, which clearly link theory with practice Easy to read for novice researchers and undergraduate nursing students, but at the same time provides sufficient depth and detail to be of value to experienced researchers and practitioners.
Nursing Research by
This book answers all your students′ questions on the nursing research process. Restructured to follow their progress from being a novice nurse researcher to an experienced one, it gives them the knowledge to understand evidence-based practice and critical appraisal and to succeed in their own projects. Key features of the book are: Updated practical coverage of key methods such as conducting a survey and a section on the Research Excellence Framework International research examples in action Reflective exercises A companion website including access to journal articles and flashcards. It is essential reading for nursing undergraduates, postgraduates and all new researchers.
A qualitative PICO question focuses on in-depth perspectives and experiences. It does not try to solve a problem by analyzing numbers, but rather to enrich understanding through words. Therefore, the emphasis in qualitative PICO questions is on fully representing the information gathered, rather than primarily emphasizing ways the information can be broken down and expressed through measurable units (though measurability can also play an important role).
A strength of a qualitative PICO question is that it can investigate what patient satisfaction looks like, for example, instead of only reporting that 25% of patients who took a survey reported that they are satisfied.
When working with qualitative questions, an alternative to using PICO in searching for sources is the SPIDER search tool. SPIDER is an acronym that breaks down like this:
S=Sample
P=Phenomena of Interest
D=Design
E=Evaluation
R=Research type
Methley, A.M., Campbell, S., Chew-Graham, C. et al. PICO, PICOS and SPIDER: a comparison study of specificity and sensitivity in three search tools for qualitative systematic reviews. BMC Health Serv Res 14, 579 (2014). https://doi.org/10.1186/s12913-014-0579-0