Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Veterinary Nursing: Journals & Databases

New database!

We now have access to a database called VetMed Resource, which covers all aspects of veterinary medicine and is designed to support practice, education and CPD. Please access the database via the link below, or from the databases list in MyUniHub.

Journals

Image of a selection of journal covers

 

The Library subscribes to thousands of academic journals and magazines (print and electronic).

Magazines are usually aimed at a profession, business or interest; and contain articles, news, job adverts, new product reviews, events and advertising.

Academic journals focus on a specific subject area and contain detailed articles, papers and research.  The articles are often peer-reviewed, so have been assessed for quality by experts prior to publication. This makes them good sources of information for your work.

Databases

Image result for cartoon animal with telescope

E-Journals & Databases

Electronic journal holdings can be checked in the Library catalogue, where links will be provided if there is an online version. The  journal title search screen may also be checked.   

Many electronic journals are provided in "bundles", packages or specialised subject collections from particular publishers. For example, Sage Premier Collection and Elsevier's Science Direct. Journal databases are online resources which allow you to access the contents of journals ie. articles.

Many also contain conference proceedings, research papers, newspapers, TV programmes and standards. 

The Library subscribes to a large selection of journal databases including several specific to Veterinary Nursing. 

Journal databases can usually be searched by subject and more specifically by author, type of material, article title, publisher, year, language or organisation.

A successful search will provide you with a list of relevant articles which will have references that you can also search for. Many databases provide full-text articles ie. the articles can be read online. 

Access: UniHub > MyUniHub > MyStudy > MyLibrary > Databases (online guide opposite)

Accessing Journal Databases

Veterinary Nursing Journals