I have created an online workbook to support this module for vet nursing students. I strongly suggest you take a look at this and the one about referencing
Susannah
As the culmination of the student’s undergraduate programme the syllabus for this module is a synthesis of their subject knowledge and the application of their practical and research skills that they have developed during their programme. This module will also illustrate the student’s achievement of their employability skills of effective learning, communication, teamwork, numeracy, information technology, nursing skills and personal career development. Research skills gained during the completion of VET2204 module are applied to support academic curiosity using an inquiry-based approach.
Aims
This core module aims to synthesise learning from the students’ undergraduate Veterinary Nursing programme providing an opportunity for students to study independently and investigate a topic in depth. It fosters academic curiosity; an inquiry based approach, the employment and application of research skills thus facilitating the development of a higher level of theorising. Students will select a topic of personal interest they wish to study further and will manage their own learning during this module, with the support of an allocated supervisor for this period of independent study. Students will identify 6 – 8 primary sources from a range of publications in their central theme with a view to completing a meta-analysis worthy of publication. The review should include an analysis of the strengths and limitations of the study and offer perspectives for future work. Full details of how to prepare the article for publication will be provided within the module handbook/module page.
Don't forget to use the Referencing support information in this guide
https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/vetnursing/referencing
Outcome
A 4000 – 5000 word metanalysis on a topic which must be agreed with the supervisor in advance and should be presented as an article for publication
See your module handbook for further details VET3703 or VET3704
There are five learning outcomes for this module:
Utilise the key sources on the module reading list as well as the required reading for each topic as a starting point. There are also additional resources provided in the further reading lists for each topic. You are expected to find your own sources beyond this by utilising search databases such as PubMed. A range of reliable sources aimed at veterinary professionals should be used – these include primary research articles in journals as well as review articles and textbooks. You are expected to apply principles of critical analysis of the literature in addition to finding content relevant to the assignment brief.
How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation by
This innovative nursing textbook provides a clear guide to writing a winning dissertation. It contains advice and guidance for overcoming many of the difficulties students face in this process. Written by experts in the field, each chapter provides scenarios with effective solutions and clear principles to follow to answer the issues raised. The book guides you through the stages of finding and assessing literature to answer a clear dissertation question, and the practical skills of writing and structuring a successful dissertation. Chapters include: - Starting your dissertation journey - Developing a successful dissertation question - Sourcing and accessing key literature - Essential research principles and processes - Critically appraising research articles - Implementing evidence-based health care in practice - Taking your dissertation further, including publications and conferences. Accompanied by a website featuring a range of resources including an unabridged example of a completed dissertation, How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation is essential reading not just for nursing and healthcare students completing dissertations, but all students who need to develop their critical appraisal and assignment writing skills.
How to Write Your Undergraduate Dissertation by
Writing a dissertation is like running a marathon: a successful one takes months of careful planning and preparation. This practical guide takes undergraduate students step-by-step through the process of completing a dissertation, from the initial stages of generating original ideas and planning the project through to writing their first draft and critically reviewing their own work. It shows students how to choose the most appropriate methods for collecting and analysing their data and how to then integrate this research into their dissertation. Students will learn how to develop consistent and persuasive arguments and write up their research in a clear and concise style. This book is an essential resource for undergraduates of all disciplines who are required to write a dissertation as part of their degree.
Writing Your Doctoral Dissertation or Thesis Faster by
Any new journey requires a map to guide you through potential pitfalls, explain interesting landmarks, and offer time-saving tips. Given that a thesis or dissertation is arguably the most important journey students will embark upon in their professional career, smart travellers will want Writing Your Doctoral Dissertation or Thesis Faster close at hand. This guide helps you determine their research topic, choose appropriate methods, turn a hypothesis into a study, complete a literature review, write and defend a proposal, collect and analyze data, write up the study, and ultimately defend your dissertation. Building on years of experience with their own doctoral students, the authors have developed an extremely comprehensive, yet easy-to-use tool, which includes unique features like encouraging student reflection, student stories, hints and tips, end-of-chapter checklists, and ideas for incorporating social media. When used in a classroom setting, ancillary content assist instructors in supporting students throughout the process. Use the proven techniques and guidance of this indispensible tool to finish faster!
Professionalism and Reflection in Veterinary Nursing by
Professionalism and Reflection in Veterinary Nursing offers insight into the role of the veterinary nurse in the 21st century. It provides useful information that facilitates a deeper understanding of the underlying theory that supports clinical nursing practice. Exploring concepts that underpin the delivery of professional veterinary nursing, the book covers core issues, themes and principles that explain what it means to be a veterinary nurse. The role of the registered veterinary nurse The registered veterinary nurse's responsibility to the patient Evidence-based veterinary nursing Veterinary nurse trainer and educator resources A timely publication due to the increased recognition and expectations of the role of the veterinary nursing profession, Professionalism and Reflection in Veterinary Nursing is ideal for veterinary student nurses and qualified veterinary nurses, enabling them to contribute to the development of the professional identity.
Research and Study Skills for Veterinary Nurses by
With developments in skills and knowledge level, more and more academic rigour is expected of veterinary nurses. Exams, CPD and repeated testing and study throughout the nurse's career are now requirements. Aimed at veterinary nurses and technicians, this book will guide the reader through the various research and study disciplines required of them. Research and Study Skills for Veterinary Nurses discusses why these academic skills are now required of the veterinary nurse, different types of source material, how to complete written assignments, how to reference properly, how to approach different test questions, how to respond to oral exams, how to complete OSCEs, CPD training, and work-based practical assessments. Research and Study Skills for Veterinary Nurses provides information and advice for student vet nurses who need a reliable resource to guide them through their course.
The dissertation journey a practical and comprehensive guide to planning, writing, and defending your dissertation by 
