Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page is for students enrolled on the various sexual health modules run by Middlesex University, including the Graduate Certificate In Contraception And Sexual Health.
Finding Books and Journal Articles
Use Library Search to find your books, journal articles and other online resources.
Library Search (Hendon) Use Library Search to find and access quality academic resources.
It replaces Summon and the Library Catalogue.
Referencing your work
Cite them right will help you to reference just about any source, and understand how to avoid plagiarism. Make sure you have logged into Unihub before accessing.
Cite Them Right Online This link opens in a new window Description: Cite them right online covers a comprehensive range of source types, alongside detailed advice on referencing and its importance in academic work
Subject Scope: For use by students in Business, Criminology and Sociology, Health and Education, Science and Technology and Work Based Learning. Art and Design, Law and 3rd year H&E should follow the links in the Referencing Library Subject guide. http://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/plagiarismreferencing
Below are some key resources recommended by your lecturers:
Starting Your Literature Search
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is an excellent tool to help you carry out a comprehensive search for relevant references. Remember you will not have access to all articles as full text.
British Nursing Database This link opens in a new window
An extensive and up to date nursing and midwifery database, covering over 200 UK journals and other English-language titles.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Medline is an excellent tool to help you carry out a comprehensive search for relevant references. Remember you will not have access to all articles as full text.
Internurse This link opens in a new window
Find full text articles from key UK nursing journals, including British Journal of Nursing.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Reviews are the gold standard of systematic reviews. They bring together research and make recommendations for interventions and care based on the available evidence.
Ordering your journal article
The main purpose of a database such as Medline or CINAHL is to find references to the good quality research evidence.
Sometimes you will be able to access the article straight away or you will able to find a paper copy of the journal in the library.
However sometimes you will need to order the article using the reference you found on the database.
You can order the article through the Inter Library Loans Service for a small charge (£3) Follow the link below for more details.