My Subject: Nursing: Practice Educator Module

Your librarian

Subjects: Health and Social Work

Referencing your work

To get started with referencing, check out the Referencing Tips and Referencing Rex Word documents below and have an explore of your comprehensive referencing guide Cite Them Right Online. Any question? Just get in touch :)

Cite Them Right Online This link opens in a new window Description: Cite them right online covers a comprehensive range of source types, alongside detailed advice on referencing and its importance in academic work Subject Scope: For use by students in Business, Criminology and Sociology, Health and Education, Science and Technology and Work Based Learning. Art and Design, Law and 3rd year H&E should follow the links in the Referencing Library Subject guide. https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/plagiarismreferencing

Fantastic events from the Department of Mental Health, Social Work and Integrative Medicine!

Upcoming seminars
This programme of afternoon sessions presents a range of key topics representative of the health, social and educational subjects being taught, with invited experts both from within and outside of the university. Upcoming topics include Drug & Alcohol Awareness; Child Protection & Safeguarding; and Quality Improvement: What does it mean?

Key Resources

Below are some key resources recommended by your lecturers:

Cite Them Right Online This link opens in a new window
Cite Them Right Online will help you to reference just about any source, and understand how to avoid plagiarism. Make sure you have logged into Unihub before accessing.

NHS Knowledge and Library Hub Search NHS knowledge and evidence resources and register for an NHS OpenAthens account if you are eligible.

Finding books and Journal Articles

Use Library Search to find your books, journal articles and other online resources.

Library Search (Hendon) This link opens in a new window Use Library Search to find and access quality academic resources.

Recommended databases

CINAHL This link opens in a new window Find nursing, midwifery and allied health article references from more than 3000 journals Date Range: 1981 - present Full Text: No (partial)
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Offers full text journal articles and abstracts covering aspect of Education

APA PsycINFO An excellent psychology database containing peer-reviewed literature devoted to behavioural sciences and mental health.

Medline This link opens in a new window Good for finding articles from the whole range of medical literature. Covers more than 4800 journals.

Cochrane (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window Open Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. The Cochrane Library (UK access) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is the main resource for finding Systematic Reviews of the effects of healthcare interventions.

Useful websites

NICE - National Institute for Health & Care Excellence
NICE that publishes guidelines and guidance based primarily on evidence-based evaluations of efficacy, safety and cost-effectiveness.
The Kings Fund Library
A unique and free source of information on health and social care policy and management.
National Grey Literature Collection
This collection is funded by Health Education England and delivered by Stockport Foundation NHS Trust.
Office for National Statistics
Find official UK statistics on a wide variety of different subject areas eg crime, population.
UK Data Service
Access to an extensive range of key economic and social data, spanning many disciplines and themes.

Nursing: Practice Educator Module

Welcome