My Subject: Nursing: Perioperative Nursing

Your Reading Lists

NSA 3511 Principles of Perioperative Nursing

Key Resources

Below are some key resources recommended by your lecturers:

Cite Them Right Online This link opens in a new window
Cite Them Right Online will help you to reference just about any source, and understand how to avoid plagiarism. Make sure you have logged into Unihub before accessing.

Cochrane Evidence Summaries
Cochrane Evidence is free to access and aims to summarize the key findings of Cochrane Systematic Reviews. The Cochrane Library gathers and summarizes the best evidence from research to help you make informed choices about treatment.
NHS Knowledge and Library Hub Search NHS knowledge and evidence resources and register for an NHS OpenAthens account if you are eligible.

Quick full text searches

Library Search (Hendon) This link opens in a new window
Summon enables you to search most library resources simultaneously. Find articles, books, reports, DVDs, CDs and more. Swift and simple access to quality academic resources
Internurse This link opens in a new window
Find full text articles from key UK nursing journals, including British Journal of Nursing.
British Nursing Database This link opens in a new window
An extensive and up to date nursing and midwifery database, covering over 200 UK journals and other English-language titles

Literature searching - further resources

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is your main resource to help you carry out a comprehensive search for relevant references across nearly 3000 journals. Remember you will not have access to all articles as full text.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Medline is an excellent tool to help you carry out a comprehensive search for relevant references from more than 4800 medical journals. Remember you will not have access to all articles as full text.
Cochrane (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is the main resource for systematic reviews.

Useful ejournals

AORN journal
Full text available 1995 to present
British Journal of Nursing
Full text available 1995 to present
Journal of Advanced Nursing
Full text available 1997 to present
Journal of perianesthesia nursing: official journal of the American Society of PeriAnesthesia Nurses.
Full text available 2001 to present
Journal of Perioperative Practice
Full text available 2012 to present
Medsurg nursing
Full text available 2004 to present
Nursing Standard
Full text available from 1996 to present
Nursing Times
Full text available 2005 to present
OR nurse
Full text available 2007 to the present

Liaison Librarian

Jodie Ward

Subjects: Health and Social Work

Apps for your phone / tablet

Help with Academic Writing

Gemma Wilkinson is your Academic Writing and Language Lecturer for the School of Health and Education.

Based in the Learning Enhancement Team (LET) Gemma can help you excel in your academic communication, whether this is in written assignments or oral presentations, as well as using information effectively and ethically in your work. The LET can also teach maths, stats and numeracy skills.

Contact: LET@mdx.ac.uk

You can also book 1-to-1 tutorials with them, get written feedback on your work or sign up for LET workshops (links below).

CINAHL Basic Search

Doing a basic search in CINAHL

CINAHL Advanced Search

Advanced search in CINAHL

Nursing: Perioperative Nursing

Welcome