Skip to main content
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Nursing: 1st Year Nursing

Problem with NHS ATHENS?

2020: If you need to reset your ATHENS password or if you have any other ATHENS related query please email: whl@nhs.net and they will be able to help you.

On-campus library services during Covid-19

To provide a safe environment, access to all services is by advance booking only:
* Studying in Sheppard Library: https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/bookings
* Borrowing books - Click & Collect: https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/clickandcollect
 

Finding Books and Journal Articles

Use Library Search to find your books, journal articles and other online resources.

Recommended resources

These resources are very useful for finding journal articles:

Useful journals

Useful things to know about

Image of Racism in Medicine text and 2 babies

BMJ: Racism in Medicine issue

Read all the articles in the February 2020 issue of the BMJ. Make sure you are logged into MyUniHub first.

RCNI logo image

Covid-19

The RCNi COVID-19 Resources Centre have produced key guidance and information for nurses.

Nurses image from RCN Digital Archive

The RCN Digital Archive has an excellent range of photos from Nursing history. They can be used for educational use but don't forget to Reference using the advice for Visual Sources in Cite Them Right

Visible Body cover image

Visible Body is an online anatomy & physiology learning package. Download the mobile apps over the MDXUNI wifi network. There is also a desktop version.

appointment times image

One-to-One appointments

Need some help with using our databases or with referencing? Get in contact with your subject Librarian to book a one-to-one online appointment. There's also lots of advice on these subject guides.

Our Referencing & Plagiarism guide is full of essential information to help you get things right!

Cite Them Right Online logo

Cite Them Right Online has examples for all your Referencing needs. Try the online help videos and tutorials to help you build up your skills.

Reading List search

Your Reading List has library resources chosen by your Module Leaders specifically to help you with your module. The books and articles on them will help you do your assignments.

BoB has BBC TV and radio Archive going back to 2007 plus material from the last 30 days from other broadcasters. It's great for news stories and documentaries on NHS and medical stories. Use your MDX email to sign in.
 

Have a look at the free training courses you can do via LinkedIn Learning - brush up your IT, web development, photography or job interview skills. There's lots there and it is all free for Middlesex students and staff.

book cover image

Want to read something that isn't a text book or an academic article? Try this for a bit of excellent wider reading. Shelfmark: 610.73092 WAT or read this book online via Library Search.

Kortext logo

The most important e-Book that you need to know about is your KORTEXT book. This is your personal e-Book, selected specifically for your Module. Find the link in your Module area.

Nurse and child

For information about logging in to NHS ATHENS or questions about the modules to complete via NHS ATHENS, please read this document and follow the instructions.

book cover image

Want to read something that isn't a text book or an academic article? Try this for a bit of excellent wider reading. Shelfmark:  610.73092 CAS

Follow Middlesex University Library on Facebook

Managing Library search slide

Find out more about how to use Library Search. This guide includes some excellent step by step instructions. 

LET team

If you need help with your Academic Writing  there is a whole team to help you with that. Contact the LET team for advice and appointments.

What does the Nursing & Midwifery Council do? Watch this YouTube video to find out.

 

Wellcome Collection image

Need a break from your studies? The Wellcome Collection always has interesting Health-related exhibitions. EXPLORE THEIR WEBSITE FOR SOME ONLINE INSPIRATION.

Cite Them Right

This Cite Them Right page has a very useful example Reference List. 

Library shelves

Managing your Library Account helps you to stay on top of your Loans and Reservations. This useful guide shows you the important things to know.

   

Inter Library Loan link

Inter Library Loans

If you need something that isn't in our own collection we can arrange an Inter Library Loan for you.

myUniHub

Remember to log in to myUniHub before using our electronic resources. Logging in shows that you are a fully authenticated Middlesex student and gives you full access to everything we have online.

newspapers image

Global Newstream is a database of online newspapers. You can save searches and set up Alerts so you can keep up-to-date with stories that interest you. 

Follow the MDX Library instagram account @mdxlibrary

Sign in

Library Search - remember to sign in

Always sign in to Library Search. You'll be able to Pin selected items to a list for viewing later, save searches, request items and manage your library account.

Hard Pushed book cover

Want to read something that isn't a text book or an academic article? Try this for a bit of excellent wider reading. Shelfmark: 618.20092 HAZ


A bit of nursing themed poetry to brighten your day.

RCN logo

RCN - Subject Guides

These Subject Guides created by the Librarians at the RCN link to some excellent resources. The subjects are varied - such as Diabetes, Sepsis in children, LGBT &  Health, Midwifery, End of Life Care,  HCAs APs and TNAs key resources, History of Nursing and many more. 

Keywords for Nursing & Midwifery students on Biteable. Scroll to the bottom right on the video to view this full screen.

A quick intro to Literature Searching. Scroll to the bottom right on the video to view this full screen.

Online induction video for new students

A very brief intro to Literature Searching

A very brief video about Keywords

Referencing your work

It is important to properly reference your work. Cite Them Right will help you reference just about any source, using the Harvard referencing style.