My Subject: Nursing: MSc Nursing students

Finding Books and Journal Articles

Use Library Search to find your books, journal articles and other online resources.

Library Search (Hendon) This link opens in a new window Use Library Search to find and access quality academic resources.

Library Search help

Starting Your Literature Search

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is an excellent tool to help you carry out a comprehensive search for relevant references. Remember you will not have access to all articles as full text.
British Nursing Database This link opens in a new window
An extensive and up to date nursing and midwifery database, covering over 200 UK journals and other English-language titles.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Medline is an excellent tool to help you carry out a comprehensive search for relevant references. Remember you will not have access to all articles as full text.
Cochrane (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is the main resource for Systematic Reviews.

A helpful video about Literature Searching

Further Resources you may want to explore

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search across the academic literature to find references. Use the citation function to find related articles and view the impact of the research literature.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This resource will help you to find references to journal articles within the area of psychology and mental health.

Quick Full Text Searches

Internurse This link opens in a new window
Search key nursing journals such as the British Journal of Community Nursing, British Journal of Nursing, Nurse Prescribing, Practice Nurse amongst others. All articles available as full text
OVID Full Text Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 200 journals covering nursing and other health professions.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Large collection of science journals including nursing, health professions and public health

Key Resources

Below are some key resources recommended by your lecturers:

Advanced nurse practitioners – an RCN guide to the advanced nurse practitioner role, competences and programme accreditation
The term advanced nurse practitioner (ANP) is increasingly being used in the UK to acknowledge the advanced level of the role, the scope of practice and its associated competencies.
NHS Knowledge and Library Hub Search NHS knowledge and evidence resources and register for an NHS OpenAthens account if you are eligible.

Managing Your References

Refworks This link opens in a new window Please login here if you are new to Refworks. Description: Refworks is online software that helps you collect, store and organise the references you use in your work. It makes producing a reference list or bibliography quick and easy. It is web-based, so you can access your references from anywhere, and you will never lose them if your computer fails. It integrates with Library Search for the harvesting of references and can sync with Word and Google Docs.

Useful ejournals

British Journal of Nursing
Full text available 1995 to present
Journal of Advanced Nursing
Full text available 1997 to present
Journal of Continuing Education in Nursing
Full text available 2003 to present
Journal of Nursing Education
Full text available 2003 to present
Journal Of Research In Nursing
Full text available 2005 to present
Nursing Standard
Full text available 1996 to present
Nursing Times
Full text available 2005 to present

CINAHL - doing a basic search

CINAHL - doing an advanced search

Your librarian

Jodie Ward

Subjects: Health and Social Work

Referencing your work

Cite them right will help you to reference just about any source, and understand how to avoid plagiarism. Make sure you have logged into Unihub before accessing.

Cite Them Right Online This link opens in a new window Description: Cite them right online covers a comprehensive range of source types, alongside detailed advice on referencing and its importance in academic work Subject Scope: For use by students in Business, Criminology and Sociology, Health and Education, Science and Technology and Work Based Learning. Art and Design, Law and 3rd year H&E should follow the links in the Referencing Library Subject guide. http://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/plagiarismreferencing