Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Problem with NHS ATHENS?
2020: If you need to reset your ATHENS password or if you have any other ATHENS related query please email: email@example.com and they will be able to help you.
Referencing your work
It is important to properly reference your work. Cite Them Right will help you reference just about any source, using the Harvard referencing style.
Cite Them Right Online This link opens in a new window Description: Cite them right online covers a comprehensive range of source types, alongside detailed advice on referencing and its importance in academic work
Subject Scope: For use by students in Business, Criminology and Sociology, Health and Education, Science and Technology and Work Based Learning. Art and Design, Law and 3rd year H&E should follow the links in the Referencing Library Subject guide. http://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/plagiarismreferencing
Why do I need to reference?
Welcome to your Nursing Library Guide
Welcome to your Library Guide. You'll find lots of useful advice, essential links and videos to help you with your studies. If you need any help please contact me. You can also use our Library Chat or Ask a Librarian service to speak to a Librarian.
For more information on Library Services please visit: https://unihub.mdx.ac.uk/study/library
Starting Your Literature Search
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is an excellent tool to help you carry out a comprehensive search for relevant references. Remember you will not have access to all articles as full text.
British Nursing Database This link opens in a new window
An extensive and up to date nursing and midwifery database, covering over 200 UK journals and other English-language titles.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Medline is an excellent tool to help you carry out a comprehensive search for relevant references. Remember you will not have access to all articles as full text.
Internurse This link opens in a new window
Find full text articles from key UK nursing journals, including British Journal of Nursing.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
An excellent psychology database containing peer-reviewed literature devoted to behavioural sciences and mental health.
Cochrane (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a database of systematic reviews commisioned by the Cochrane Collaboration. The Cochrane Library also contains information about controlled trials and is updated every month.
Literature searching... and using CINAHL
Handouts from literature searching sessions and to prepare for 3rd year
Evidence - how to evaluate it using BREAD
A very brief intro to Literature Searching
A very brief video about Keywords
Searching for UK focused articles
CINAHL: focusing on UK content
Advanced search in CINAHL