My Subject: Nursing: Non-Medical Prescribing

Your librarian

Subjects: Health and Social Work

Referencing your work

Cite them right will help you to reference just about any source, and understand how to avoid plagiarism. Make sure you have logged into Unihub before accessing.

Cite Them Right Online This link opens in a new window Description: Cite them right online covers a comprehensive range of source types, alongside detailed advice on referencing and its importance in academic work Subject Scope: For use by students in Business, Criminology and Sociology, Health and Education, Science and Technology and Work Based Learning. Art and Design, Law and 3rd year H&E should follow the links in the Referencing Library Subject guide. https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/plagiarismreferencing

Referencing Rex says...

Useful journals

Nurse Prescribing
Full text available 2003 to present. From January 2019 re-named Journal of Prescribing Practice.
Nursing Standard
Full text available from 1996 to present
Nursing Times
Full text available 2005 to present
British Journal of Nursing
Full text available 1995 to present.

Finding Books and Journal Articles

Use Library Search to find your books, journal articles and other online resources.

Library Search (Hendon) This link opens in a new window Use Library Search to find and access quality academic resources.

Library Search help

Key Resources

Below are some key resources recommended by your lecturers:

British National Formulary (BNF)

You will receive a personal print copy of the BNF from your Module Leader for the non-medical prescribing modules.

BNF for Children (BNFC)

You will receive a personal print copy of the BNFC from your Module Leader for the non-medical prescribing modules, if this is within your scope of practice.

Standards for prescribers
The standards that set out how nurses and midwives can achieve prescriber status, how prescribing programmes are run and what constitutes safe and effective prescribing practice
A Competency Framework for all Prescribers (2021)
The Royal Pharmaceutical Society has updated its Competency Framework for all Prescribers, which sets out what good prescribing looks like across all health professions. The framework is for all regulators, professional bodies, education providers, prescribing professions and patients/carers to use.
NHS England Medicines Optimisation
Medicines optimisation looks at the value which medicines deliver, making sure they are clinically-effective and cost-effective. It is about ensuring people get the right choice of medicines, at the right time, and are engaged in the process by their clinical team.
NICE Clinical Knowledge Summaries (CKS)
CKS provides primary care practitioners with a readily accessible summary of the current evidence base and practical guidance on best practice in respect of over 330 common and/or significant primary care presentations.
Electronic Medicines Compendium (eMC):
Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA)
The MHRA enhance and safeguard the health of the public by ensuring that medicines and medical devices work and are acceptably safe.
NHS Electronic Drug Tariff

Literature Searching

Internurse This link opens in a new window
Find full text articles from key UK nursing journals, including British Journal of Nursing.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is an excellent tool to help you carry out a comprehensive search for relevant references. Remember you will not have access to all articles as full text.

PsycINFO
An excellent psychology database containing peer-reviewed literature devoted to behavioural sciences and mental health.

Medline This link opens in a new window
Medline is an excellent tool to help you carry out a comprehensive search for relevant references. Remember you will not have access to all articles as full text.
British Nursing Database This link opens in a new window
An extensive and up to date nursing and midwifery database, covering over 200 UK journals and other English-language titles
Cochrane (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to the ‘Cochrane Reviews’, which bring together research on the effects of health care and are considered to be the ‘gold standard’ for determining the relative effectiveness of different health interventions).