My Subject: Nursing: Physical assessment, minor injuries and minor illness for the Nurse Practitioner

Useful journals

British Journal of Nursing
Full text available 1995 to present
Emergency nurse
Full text available 2011 to present
International journal of nursing studies
Full text available from 2001 to the present.
Journal of Advanced Nursing
Full text available 1997 to present
Journal of emergency nursing
Full text available from 2001 to the present.
Journal of trauma nursing: the official journal of the Society of Trauma Nurses.
Full text available from 2000 to the present.
Nursing Standard
Full text available 1996 to present
Nursing Times
Full text available 2005 to present
BMJ Open
Full text available 2011 to present
Practice nurse: the journal for nurses in general practice
Full text available from 2003 to present.
The Nurse practitioner
Available full text from 2001 to present.

Finding Books and Journal Articles

Use Library Search to find your books, journal articles and other online resources.

Library Search (Hendon) This link opens in a new window Use Library Search to find and access quality academic resources.

Library Search help

Key Resources

Below are some key resources recommended by your lecturers:

NICE Clinical Knowledge Summaries
The NICE CKS service is a reliable source of evidence-based information and practical 'know how' about the common conditions managed in primary care. It is aimed at healthcare professionals working in primary and first-contact care.
Eye Casualty
This site presents the most common ocular problems in order of urgency with a brief discussion of each condition.
The Code for nurses and midwives
NHS Knowledge and Library Hub Search NHS knowledge and evidence resources and register for an NHS OpenAthens account if you are eligible.

Quick Full Text Searches

Internurse This link opens in a new window
Search key nursing journals such as the British Journal of Community Nursing, British Journal of Nursing, Nurse Prescribing, Practice Nurse amongst others. All articles available as full text
OVID Full Text Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 200 journals covering nursing and other health professions.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Large collection of science journals including nursing, health professions and public health

Starting Your Literature Search

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is an excellent tool to help you carry out a comprehensive search for relevant references. Remember you will not have access to all articles as full text.
British Nursing Database This link opens in a new window
An extensive and up to date nursing and midwifery database, covering over 200 UK journals and other English-language titles.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Medline is an excellent tool to help you carry out a comprehensive search for relevant references. Remember you will not have access to all articles as full text.
Internurse This link opens in a new window
Find full text articles from key UK nursing journals, including British Journal of Nursing.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Reviews are the gold standard of systematic reviews. They bring together research and make recommendations for interventions and care based on the available evidence.
NICE - The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
For guidelines, the British National Formulary and Clinical Knowledge Summaries.
Intensive Care Society
The Intensive Care Society is the representative body in the United Kingdom for intensive care professionals and patients and the oldest society for critical care medicine in the world.

Liaison Librarian

Jodie Ward

Subjects: Health and Social Work

Referencing your work

Cite them right will help you to reference just about any source, and understand how to avoid plagiarism. Make sure you have logged into Unihub before accessing.

CINAHL Basic Search

Doing a basic search in CINAHL

CINAHL Advanced Search

Advanced search in CINAHL

Nursing: Physical assessment, minor injuries and minor illness for the Nurse Practitioner

Welcome