Hi
Welcome to the psychology library guide. This guide is full of helpful information about the library, its resources, psychology and study skills. If you have any questions please email me. Enjoy your time at Middlesex University
Susannah
For current library services and information please visit this link
If you are having issues logging in to resources please check this library guide https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/accessingelectronicresources/access
Use Library Search to find and access quality academic resources.
Middlesex Psychology department now has a blog - follow!
Paula Bernaschina is the Academic Writing Lecturer for the School of Science and Technology.
Part of Learning Enhancement she can help you excel in your academic communication, whether this is in written assignments or oral presentations, as well as using information effectively and ethically in your work.
Contact p.bernaschina@mdx.ac.uk
Academic Writing and Language (AWL)
Join our MyLearning community for further opportunities to develop your writing and language skills alongside other students or through one-to-one development plans with our AWL lecturers.
Please find all the information you need on Home Page - MyMDX under 'Learning'.
If you have any questions, please contact awl@mdx.ac.uk
If we don't have a journal paper you need then we get it from the British Library, free for Research and Academic Staff. They also lend books. See our Inter library loans guide.
If you think we should buy a book for the library, tell us via the Suggest a book form for your campus.
If you want us to subscribe to a new journal (which can be expensive) please ask your Liaison Librarian.
Decolonial Psychology : Toward Anticolonial Theories, Research, Training, and Practice by
This book offers an expert synthesis of the scholarly literature on approaches to decolonial psychology, its historical foundations, education and training, and psychological practice. From its inception, psychological science and practice in the United States has been framed predominantly by Eurocentric epistemologies. As a result, oppressed people have internalized the belief that their culture and values are inferior to those of dominant groups. Infusing a decolonial lens into psychology is one way for the field to become more inclusive and relevant to the numerical majority worldwide.
SPSS for Psychologists by
Students can find statistical analysis a challenging and complex task and, in order to master the techniques and complete their assignments and projects successfully, they need to have a sound understanding of IBM SPSS and its functions. Updated to be compatible with IBM SPSS 25, with handy screen-shots throughout, the seventh edition of this trusted and practical textbook will take students on a step-by-step journey towards carrying out a range of essential tasks with confidence: from performing an analysis to interpreting outputs and reporting the results. This book is an unbeatable, must-have guide to IBM SPSS that will allow undergraduate psychology students to master this powerful software tool.
Building Experiments in PsychoPy by
PsychoPy is an open-source software package for creating rich, dynamic experiments in psychology, neuroscience and linguistics. Written by its creator, this book walks you through the steps of building experiments in PsychoPy, from using images to discovering lesser-known features, and from analysing data to debugging your experiment. Divided into three parts and with unique extension exercises to guide you at whatever level you are at, this textbook is the perfect tool for teaching practical undergraduate classes on research methods, as well as acting as a comprehensive reference text for the professional scientist. Essential reading for anyone using PsychoPy software, the second edition has been fully updated and includes multiple new chapters about features included in recent versions of PsychoPy, including running studies online and collecting survey data. Part I teaches you all the basic skills you need (and some more advanced tips along the way) to design experiments in behavioral sciences. Each chapter introduces anew concept but will offer a series of working experiments that you can build on. Part II presents more details important for professional scientists intending to use PsychoPy for published research. This part is recommended reading for science professionals in any discipline. Part III covers a range of specialist topics, such as those doing fMRI research, or those studying visual perception. "This book fills an incredibly important gap in the field. Many users of PsychoPy will be excited to learn that there is now a highly accessible and well-designed written guide to refine their skills." - Susanne Quadflieg, University of Bristol
Scientific papers made easy how to write with clarity and impact in the life sciences by 
A Student's Dictionary of Psychology and Neuroscience by
An essential reference work for any student studying psychology for the first time, A Student's Dictionary of Psychology and Neuroscience (Seventh Edition) provides over 2,500 definitions of complex concepts in clear and accessible language alongside helpful diagrams. The dictionary offers comprehensive coverage of the main contemporary terms in psychology and neuroscience. This new edition features updated references which will be particularly relevant to the key areas of neuroscience and neuropsychology and also to recent concepts of psychological significance, such as expanded coverage of research methods, internet psychology, cognitive psychology and social psychology. The dictionary also features end material with useful notes for constructing student essays as well as key references and a list of common abbreviations. Extensive cross-referencing allows students to follow up and identify further details of a given topic, and mini-biographies of key psychologists help to provide relevant context. A Student's Dictionary of Psychology and Neuroscience is the perfect accompaniment for any student newly encountering this fascinating subject, those taking related disciplines in the health or social sciences, or professionals wanting to familiarise themselves with key terms and ideas.
Music Therapy in Mental Health for Illness Management and Recovery by 
The Muslim state and mind: psychology in times of Islamaphobia by 
The psychology project manual by 
