Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Obtaining good quality information
Once you have graduated from Middlesex University, you will still need to be able to access good quality information for personal, social, and professional reasons. There are a number of ways that you can do this.
Also remember that by taking out membership of a professional organisation it is often possible to obtain partial access to key information sources, as well as professional support and development.
Accessing Middlesex University Resources
You can continue to use some of our resources once you have left the University (see links below). This means that you can keep up-to-date with literature in your subject area.
However because you are no longer a student you will not be able to borrow material from the library or access the content of full-text electronic resources such as ebooks and ejournals.
Most material on our Research Repository will be available to you as this is an open access resource.
Library Search (Hendon) This link opens in a new window
Use Library Search to find and access quality academic resources.
It replaces Summon and the Library Catalogue.
Library Subject Guides
You can still access our Library Subject Guides even after you have left the University. They are a good way of finding the most relevant and useful resources in your subject area, although you will not be able to access the full-text of any of our electronic books and journals.
Middlesex University Research Repository
Open access repository of research by Middlesex academic staff and alumni.
Access to resources for Alumni
Middlesex University offers a range of benefits for its Alumni including reference use of the library.
Business Source Alumni via myAlumniHub
Middlesex University Alumni Association provides graduates with free access to Business Source Alumni.
To use Business Source Alumni you must be registered with the Alumni Association and use it via myAlumniHub, link below. Once logged in, follow the Research Resource link.
You will be asked to registration once and then you can access Business Source Alumni on the Research Resource page.
This contains full text journals and company reports and is ideal for anyone working on job applications or preparing for interviews.
Keeping up-to-date with your subject
A number of free online alert services exist to help you keep up-to-date with your area of interest and industry news in journals and on the Internet:
Google Alerts are email updates of the latest relevant Google results (web, news, etc.), based on your queries. Simply enter a subject that you wish to monitor and you will be sent regular updates.
TicTocs: journal tables of contents service
Search for 1000s of journal table of contents (TOCs) RSS feeds by title, subject or publisher, export citations or link to full text, and then save TOCs in your ticTocs account.
Zetoc Alert is a current awareness service provided by the British Library. It provides access to the BLs Electronic Table of Contents of c 20.000 current journals and c 16,000 conference proceedings published every year. The database covers from 1993 to the present, and is updated on a daily basis. It includes current awareness services, so that subscribers can receive notification of relevant new material either from particular journals, authors or on particular subjects.
Events, conferences and workshops
Attending events, conferences and workshops is a good way to find out the latest information, make contacts and network with your peers.
Use the links below to discover what's on.
MDXworks Employability Support
Emma Adeleye is the MDXworks Employability Advisor for the Psychology Department.
Based in the College building (CG07) MDXworks can offer support throughout your programme and in taking your next steps after you leave the university. You can book an appointment by going to MDXworks.com
Support available at MDXworks includes:
LinkedIn Learning is part of the LinkedIn network. It is a website packed full of videos, tutorials and fully-curated courses taught by recognised industry experts. As a Middlesex University student or member of staff, you have free access to this valuable resource, with which you can learn new business, technology and creative skills to achieve your personal and professional goals. Use your subscription to this website to develop, supplement and enhance your learning and/or professional career at Middlesex University.
Membership of Professional Organisations
By taking out membership of a professional organisation it is often possible to obtain partial access to key information sources, as well as professional support and development.
British Psychological Society
The British Psychological Society is a registered charity which acts as the representative body for psychology and psychologists in the UK, and is responsible for the promotion of excellence and ethical practice in the science, education, and application of the discipline.
Royal College of Psychiatrists
The professional medical body responsible for supporting psychiatrists throughout their careers from training through to retirement, and in setting and raising standards of psychiatry in the United Kingdom.
UK Council for Psychotherapy
Organisation for the education, training, accreditation and regulation of psychotherapists and psychotherapeutic counsellors in the UK.
Association for Business Psychology
The Association for Business Psychology was established in 2000, with the sole purpose championing business psychology.
Association of Clinical Psychologists
ACP-UK is for all clinical psychologists and clinical trainees. ACP-UK also includes experts by experience and representation from diverse groups appointed to its Citizens’ Assembly. Other applied psychologists, psychology graduates and interested members of the public are welcomed as associate members.