Hi
Welcome to the sports and exercise science library guide. This guide is full of helpful information about the library, its resources, and study skills. If you have any questions please email me. Enjoy your time at Middlesex University
Susannah
For current library services and information please visit this link
If you are having issues logging in to resources please check this library guide https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/accessingelectronicresources/access
Paula Bernaschina
Paula is the Academic Writing and Language Lecturer for the Faculty of Science and Technology.
Part of Learning Enhancement, she can help you excel in your academic work.
Academic Writing and Language (AWL)
Join our MyLearning community for further opportunities to develop your writing and language skills alongside other students or through one-to-one development plans with our AWL lecturers.
Please find all the information you need on Home Page - MyMDX under 'Learning'.
If you have any questions, please contact awl@mdx.ac.uk
Exercise Physiology : For Health and Sports Performance 2nd ed by 
Exercise prescription for special populations chronic diseases, unique populations, and challenging diagnoses
Physical Activity and Function in the Elderly by
The cornerstone of this book is the physical activity and mobility in the elderly as an essential aspect of life. The ageing population due to the current demographic developments is associated with the necessity of maintaining physical function for avoiding the loss of independence and autonomy but also to keep a good health state. Physical function is the capacity of an individual to perform the physical activities of everyday life, and it reflects motor function and control, physical fitness, and habitual physical activity. Many changes may involve physical function during ageing or may be the result of hospitalisation or the comorbidity. The multidimensional evaluation of geriatrics of these functions may represent the first step for an adequate rehabilitation plan even in more common conditions of an elderly palliative context. Also, in this last setting, the feasibility of preserving physical activity has shown some significant benefits. In this book, particular attention has found the assessment of physical function through the use of specific tools and scales. Some tools may be used as a screening. In the chapter about falls in the elderly, for example, some tools are necessary for the evaluating of risks. This approach helps to prevent falls and their consequences on physical activity and mobility. The readers can find the analysis of the physical activity in many geriatric patterns such as falls, sarcopenia, chronic diseases, ICU acquired weakness and more prevalent fractures in the elderly. The concluding recommendations refer to the proposals to use in daily practice derived from many current guidelines and world health organisation.
Professional Practice in Sport Performance Analysis by
The use of performance analysis as an evaluative tool in the coaching process is now strongly embedded. This book aims to explore a range of contemporary topics relating to current and future working practices of practitioners in the discipline. Professional Practice in Sport Performance Analysis delivers practically centred insights into the reality of working in the industry, including the technological, theoretical and personal competencies required. This new book delves into the realities of working as an analyst within the evolving and complex coaching process which practitioners need to navigate in order to successfully deliver their job role. It uncovers the practical realities, underpinning knowledge, challenges and constraints of working as an applied performance analyst whilst providing a practical guide for those practitioners who are currently, or seeking, to work as an applied performance analyst. Grounded in practice and experience, Professional Practice in Sport Performance Analysis helps educate and encapsulate the working realities of the modern-day performance analyst and will be critical reading for students of performance analysis, coaching, skill acquisition and development.
Foundations of physical education, exercise science, and sport by 
Sport and Exercise Medicine by
The complete guide for all candidates studying and working in the field of sport and exercise medicine, including higher specialist training and post graduate examinations. This revision guide covers all key elements of the UK National Curriculum in Sport and Exercise Medicine. Key features to facilitate learning include: A pictorial summary at the start of each chapter 'Clinical consideration' sections that show how knowledge can be applied to working clinical practice MCQ questions for each chapter, including answers MFSEM examination candidates, MSc students in sport and exercise medicine, sport and exercise medicine specialist trainee doctors, physiotherapists and general practitioners with an extended role in musculoskeletal or sport and exercise medicine will all benefit from this new text.
Williams' nutrition for health, fitness & sport 13th ed. by 
Reflective Practice in the Sport and Exercise Sciences Critical Perspectives, Pedagogy, and Applied Case Studies by 
Sport Policy Across the United Kingdom by
This book provides a comparative analysis of sport and physical activity policies, processes, and practices across the home nations (England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland) of the United Kingdom. Drawing upon in-depth analysis by internationally recognised experts within the sport policy and management field, and applying a novel analytical framework, this book offers the first comprehensive intra-country comparison of the most significant features of the sporting infrastructure across the home nations. With chapters focusing on each of the four nations in detail, followed by a comparative chapter that traces the evolution of sport policy across the UK, the book examines the differences and similarities across elite, community, and school sport policy. It provides important insight into how sport policy interacts with national and devolved political structures and with socio-cultural factors to drive both elite sporting success and community sport development. The book is essential reading for any student, researcher, policy-maker or sport practitioner with an interest in sport policy, sport development, sport management, public policy, or politics.
Implementing Sport Policy Organisational Perspectives on the UK Sport System by 
Restoring Trust in Sport by
In this solutions-focused collection of sport corruption case studies, leading researchers consider how to re-establish trust both within sports organisations and in the wider sporting public. Inspired by the idea of 'moral repair', the book examines significant corruption cases and the measures taken to reduce further harm or risk of recurrence. The book has an international scope, including case study material from Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia and New Zealand, and covers important contemporary issues including whistleblowing, bribery, match-fixing, gambling, bidding for major events, and good governance. It examines the loss of trust at both national and international levels. Drawing on cutting-edge research, the book includes both on-field and off-field examples, from Olympic, non-Olympic, professional and amateur sports, as well as diverse academic and practitioner perspectives. Offering an important contribution to current debates and a source of reflection on best professional practice, Restoring Trust in Sport helps us to better understand why corruption happens in sport and how it can and should be addressed. This is invaluable reading for all advanced students, researchers, managers and policy makers with an interest in integrity in sport, sport ethics, sport management, sport governance, sports law, and a useful reference for anybody working in criminology, business and management, law, sociology or political science.
Applying Cognitive Behavioural Therapeutic Approaches in Sport by
Cognitive-behavioural therapies (CBTs) are foundational to sport psychology. The majority of the psychological techniques employed by sport psychologists in their work with athletes stem from CBTs. However, there is a knowledge gap concerning what CBTs are and how the different types of CBTs can be applied in sport. This knowledge gap is important to fill, because CBTs are highly effective and are easily integrated into the sport setting, and thus practitioners should be aware of, if not trained in, such approaches. Applying Cognitive Behavioural Therapeutic Approaches in Sport is the first dedicated volume to bring together the dominant cognitive-behavioural approaches to sport psychology. This book includes state-of-the-art evidence regarding the theory and practice of CBTs in sport, produced by academic and applied leaders in the area. Chapters include key historical and theoretical information about the CBTs and intricate details as to how a range of CBTs are applied in the real world of sport. Also, in each chapter, authors will cover historical and contemporary literature, and offer a hypothetical applied case study that details how the approach is applied in sport. Practitioners (sport psychologists; psychotherapists), trainees, and students (undergraduate, and post-graduate) will for the first time receive an in-depth and sport-specific resource that includes a range of CBTs, making this book one of a kind.
Navigating Applied Sport and Exercise Psychology : Reflections and Insights from Emerging Practitioners by 
Researching Disability Sport by
Marking a new direction for disability sport scholarship, this book explores cutting-edge issues and engages creatively with contemporary approaches to research in this important emerging discipline. Featuring contributions from leading and up-and-coming scholars around the world, the book's wide-ranging chapters offer novel perspectives on the relationship between theory, method, and empiricism in disability sport research and highlight how researchers can be both innovative and informed when entering the field. It also explores methodological considerations when conducting disability sport research, including social, cultural, and political reflections of the research process from disabled and non-disabled academics. This much-needed resource supports disability sport scholars in developing a conceptual grounding in the subject and establishes a space for intersectional accounts of sport and physical activity which challenge homogenous understandings of disability. This book is essential reading for any student or researcher working in disability sport, adapted physical activity, or adapted physical education, and a valuable reference for anybody with an interest in the sociology of sport, disability studies, cultural studies, the body, or research methodology.
Drugs in Sport by
Drugs in Sport is the most comprehensive and accurate text on the emotive, complex and critical subject of performance enhancement and doping within sport. Thoroughly updated in light of the latest World Anti-Doping Code and taking into account the latest regulations, procedures and landmark cases, this 8th edition explores the science behind drug use in sport, as well as its ethical, social, political and administrative context. Introducing an increased focus on athletes with specific needs and on corrupt doping practices, the book covers key topics including: - an evaluation of the prevalence of doping in sport; - the latest doping control regulations stipulated by the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA); - the science and side effects of each major class of drug used in sport; - cutting-edge issues such as drug use by transgender athletes; - medical and anti-doping considerations for athletes with an impairment; - governance and corruption in sport including institutionalised doping; - issues surrounding sport nutrition and supplement use in sport; - medical and pharmaceutical services at major sporting events. Accessibly written, and supported throughout with illustrative case studies and data, Drugs in Sport provides a crucial and objective resource for students and researchers, athletes, sports scientists, coaches and athlete-support staff, journalists, sports administrators and policymakers, alike.
