A literature review sets the scene:
It should be critical, not just descriptive - being critical is particularly important for a systematic review.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform health-care decision making. It is the main resource for finding systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare interventions and also provides excellent examples of literature search methodology. It is worth remembering that Cochrane have teams of people who spend years on systematic reviews which is unrealistic in the real world. However the Cochrane Library will give you an idea of what they are like.
The Cochrane Library can be accessed via the link below.
Doing a Systematic Review: A student's guide 3rd edn.
by
Completing a systematic review and unsure where to start or what path to take? Set out on your journey confidently with this practical guide written by a team of experienced academics. With a friendly, accessible style, the book covers every step of the systematic review process, from planning to dissemination. This book will help you to: * Work with qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods data* Understand the how-to of systematic reviews with a range of real-life examples and case studies* Learn from students who have been in your shoes with FAQs taken from actual supervision meetings. This book will not only support you to overcome common challenges and pitfalls, it will give you the knowledge and skills to produce an excellent review and you might even enjoy the journey!Alongside updated examples and case studies, this edition also includes two new chapters to help you write and register your review protocol and understand and synthesise data from correlational and experimental studies. The book is accompanied by an online guide for teaching, including videos, example documents, further reading, software recommendations and weblinks.
Conducting Systematic Reviews in Sport, Exercise, and Physical Activity
by
An introduction to systematic reviews. 2nd ed
by
Focused on actively using systematic review as method, this book provides clear, step-by-step advice on the logic and processes of systematic reviewing. Stressing the importance of precision and accuracy, this new edition carefully balances a need for insightful theory with real-world pragmatism; it introduces a wide range of cutting-edge approaches to research synthesis including text mining, living reviews and new ideas in mixed methods reviews such as qualitative comparative analysis.
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
by
The revised edition of the Handbook offers the only guide on how to conduct, report and maintain a Cochrane Review 
 The second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions contains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions. This fully updated edition contains extensive new material on systematic review methods addressing a wide-range of topics including network meta-analysis, equity, complex interventions, narrative synthesis, and automation. Also new to this edition, integrated throughout the Handbook, is the set of standards Cochrane expects its reviews to meet. Written for review authors, editors, trainers and others with an interest in Cochrane Reviews, the second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions continues to offer an invaluable resource for understanding the role of systematic reviews, critically appraising health research studies and conducting reviews.