Critical Appraisal is the process of assessing and interpreting evidence by systematically considering its validity, results and relevance.
The following resources provide a useful introduction to this process:
University of British Columbia Science Writing (2013) Sources.
Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0207D87De7I
(Accessed: 18 November 2021).
This video uses Caldwell's Framework (2005, 2011) to demonstrate how to use a critiquing framework. This is suitable for undergraduate dissertations and the steps are the same if you chose to apply another framework.
Parsons, R. (2023) How to critically appraise an article: applying a framework. 14 April. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mloPEthQVto (Accessed 5 November 2024).
This video explains the concepts of inclusion and exclusion criteria which should be used to develop your literature review.
Parsons, R. (2023) Inclusion and exclusion criteria. 16 October. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jn79Sm7sqfA (Accessed 5 November 2024).
Research Methods for Sports Studies
by
Complete introduction to research methods for any sport or exercise-related degree course Covers qualitative and quantitative methods Explores the full research process, from choosing a research question to writing a research report Includes international sport and exercise related cases and examples in every chapter Straightforward and engaging but not simplistic; substantial enough for any graduate level course Fully revised fourth edition includes expanded coverage of key and emering topics including online research, data visualisation, image analysis, source evaluation, and mixed methods For the first time, the book is full colour throughout Diversity is a key theme in the new edition, including feminist and indigenous methodologies, and a wider range of international and cultural examples, cases and researcher profiles New feature showcases leading researchers briefly discussing their own research projects, showing how effective research takes place in practice Companion website includes additional teaching and learning materials for students and lecturers
Doing a Research Project in Sport Performance Analysis
by
The research project or dissertation is a core component of any degree programme in the rapidly developing discipline of sport performance analysis. This highly practical and accessible book provides a complete step-by-step guide to doing a research project. Showcasing the very latest research methods, it covers the whole research process, from identifying a research question and system development to data collection, data analysis and writing up the results. Introducing the fundamentals of project planning and management, this book highlights the importance of research ethics and explains the differences between successful undergraduate and postgraduate projects. Full of expert advice and original insights that can be applied to theoretical and empirical research projects, it covers all the key aspects of conducting a degree-level research project, including: selecting a research topic and writing a research proposal working with a supervisor understanding research ethics implementing best practices for project management collecting, interpreting and presenting results. Doing a Research Project in Sport Performance Analysis is an indispensable guide for any student, lecturer or practitioner working in sport performance analysis.
How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation
by
This innovative nursing textbook provides a clear guide to writing a winning dissertation. It contains advice and guidance for overcoming many of the difficulties students face in this process. Written by experts in the field, each chapter provides scenarios with effective solutions and clear principles to follow to answer the issues raised. The book guides you through the stages of finding and assessing literature to answer a clear dissertation question, and the practical skills of writing and structuring a successful dissertation. Chapters include: - Starting your dissertation journey - Developing a successful dissertation question - Sourcing and accessing key literature - Essential research principles and processes - Critically appraising research articles - Implementing evidence-based health care in practice - Taking your dissertation further, including publications and conferences. Accompanied by a website featuring a range of resources including an unabridged example of a completed dissertation, How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation is essential reading not just for nursing and healthcare students completing dissertations, but all students who need to develop their critical appraisal and assignment writing skills.
How to Write Your Undergraduate Dissertation
by
Writing a dissertation is like running a marathon: a successful one takes months of careful planning and preparation. This practical guide takes undergraduate students step-by-step through the process of completing a dissertation, from the initial stages of generating original ideas and planning the project through to writing their first draft and critically reviewing their own work. It shows students how to choose the most appropriate methods for collecting and analysing their data and how to then integrate this research into their dissertation. Students will learn how to develop consistent and persuasive arguments and write up their research in a clear and concise style. This book is an essential resource for undergraduates of all disciplines who are required to write a dissertation as part of their degree.
Writing Your Doctoral Dissertation or Thesis Faster
by
Any new journey requires a map to guide you through potential pitfalls, explain interesting landmarks, and offer time-saving tips. Given that a thesis or dissertation is arguably the most important journey students will embark upon in their professional career, smart travellers will want Writing Your Doctoral Dissertation or Thesis Faster close at hand. This guide helps you determine their research topic, choose appropriate methods, turn a hypothesis into a study, complete a literature review, write and defend a proposal, collect and analyze data, write up the study, and ultimately defend your dissertation. Building on years of experience with their own doctoral students, the authors have developed an extremely comprehensive, yet easy-to-use tool, which includes unique features like encouraging student reflection, student stories, hints and tips, end-of-chapter checklists, and ideas for incorporating social media. When used in a classroom setting, ancillary content assist instructors in supporting students throughout the process. Use the proven techniques and guidance of this indispensible tool to finish faster!
The dissertation journey a practical and comprehensive guide to planning, writing, and defending your dissertation
by
