Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library subscribes to a range of databases which can be accessed from Mylibrary.
These resources allow access to a varied range of information and services including:
- Subject specific journal databases i.e. collections of journals, but often including other types of information such as book chapters, conference papers and research papers in a particular subject area e.g. SPORTDiscus (sports and exercise science)
- Specialist/Themed information e.g. Visible Body (anatomy and physiology)
- Specific information types such as Global Newsstream (newspapers) and Box of Broadcasts (TV and radio programmes)
- Individual resources such as Britannica Online (encyclopedia)
- Training/skills/alert services such as LinkedIn Learning (video tutorials - business, technology and creative skills), Cite Them Right Online (referencing) and Zetoc Alert (current awareness).
See below for guidance on how to access these specialist databases.
Specialist databases relevant to your programme are listed to the right.
Accessing Specialist Databases
Subject Specific Journal Databases
Journal databases enable access to journal articles and may also contain conference proceedings, research papers, newspapers, TV programmes and Standards.
Journal databases can usually be searched by subject and more specifically by author, type of material, article title, publisher, year, language or organisation.
Many databases provide full-text articles i.e. the articles can be read online.
Databases which are useful for sport and exercise programmes are listed below:
Find out more about searching for journal articles here.
APA PsycArticles Description: PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
APA PsycINFO Description: PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. Over 80,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.
Subject Scope: Full breadth of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Date Range: 1806 to present
Education Research Complete Offers full text journal articles and abstracts covering aspect of Education
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences Description: Searches over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters.
Subject Scope: Anthropology, Economics, Politics, Sociology, Development Studies, Gender and Sexuality, Human Geography and Environment, Development Studies, Business and Management, Social Policy, Health, Education, International relations, Media and communication, Psychology, History, Law and Philosophy.
Medline Good for finding articles from the whole range of medical literature. Covers more than 4800 journals.
PubMed (Open Access Resource) Open Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. References to articles from bio medical journals – this covers the same content as Medline, plus some additional life sciences journals and articles which have not yet been included in Medline, books and documents.
References may include links to the full text article in PubMed Central (Open Access) where available.
Sage Journals Online Description: Searches articles within over 630 journals published by Sage.
Subject Scope: Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology and Medicine.
Full Text: Full text availability to a large number of Sage journals.
Science Citation Index Description: Provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts and cited references from over 6,650 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. The database is part of Web of Science.
Subject Scope: All science disciplines - including biosciences, computer science, medicine, pharmacology, psychiatry and veterinary science.
Date Range: 1970 - present
Science Direct Description: A leading full-text scientific database providing access to journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Social Sciences Citation Index Description: Searches the articles within 2,474 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines.
Subject Scope: Sociology, Criminology, Substance Abuse, Urban Studies, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public Health, Social Policy, Social Work, Women's Studies, Anthropology, History, Industrial Relations, Law, Philosophy.
Date Range: 1970 onwards
Sport Discus Description: The most comprehensive bibliographic database covering all aspects of sport, fitness and exercise science and medicine. It includes over 1.7 million records covering journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters and conference proceedings. Over 22,000 dissertations and theses are also included. Part of EBSCO Health Databases so can be cross-searched with other databases such as Medline.
Subject Scope: Sport, fitness and exercise.
Web of Science Description: Includes:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science and Humanities
Social Sciences Citation Index
Science Citation Index
(See individual databases for more information)
Subject Scope: Arts, Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences
Date Range: Varied
Full Text: No
Visible Body - desktop version Visible Body is an online anatomy & physiology learning package containing interactive 3D models and animations. It includes four resources - Human Anatomy Atlas 2021, Physiology & Pathology, Muscle Premium and Anatomy & Physiology.
Available as a desktop resource and free mobile apps. To download the apps, follow the 'Visible Body - mobile apps' link below.
Find out more about 'Visible Body' and other anatomy resources here.
Specific Information Types
APA PsycTests Description: PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
Subject scope: International in scope covering psychology and related fields, such as psychiatry, education, medicine, business, social work and more.
Date range: 1910-present
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) The first time you use this you will have to sign in with your Middlesex email address.
Description: BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service we subscribe to. BoB enables all staff and students to choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels from the last 30 days plus access to BBC TV and radio Archive going back to 2007.
Cochrane (Open Access Resource) Open Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. The Cochrane Library (UK access) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is the main resource for finding Systematic Reviews of the effects of healthcare interventions.
Global Newsstream Features full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Britannica (Encyclopedia) Description: 100,000 professionally edited and researched articles on just about every subject, thesaurus & dictionary of quotations, links to 800,000 full-text journal and magazine articles plus full text E-books and primary sources, World Data Analyst (current and past statistics and interactive World Atlas) and automatic citations at the end of articles.
Cite Them Right Online Description: Cite them right online covers a comprehensive range of source types, alongside detailed advice on referencing and its importance in academic work
Subject Scope: For use by students in Business, Criminology and Sociology, Health and Education, Science and Technology and Work Based Learning. Art and Design, Law and 3rd year H&E should follow the links in the Referencing Library Subject guide. http://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/plagiarismreferencing
LinkedIn Learning Make the most of free access to LinkedIn Learning and your time at Middlesex University, activate your LinkedIn Learning account and connect it to your LinkedIn profile page to:
• retain a permanent record of your learning history
• grow your network of like-minded people
• increase your employment prospects after graduation
To find out more, visit the LinkedIn Learning Subject Guide here (https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/linkedinlearning)
Warning: if you do not save your learning history on your LinkedIn profile page it cannot be retrieved after graduation.
Zetoc Description: Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of around 20,000 current journals and around 16,000 conference proceedings. It includes an email alerting service, to enable you to keep up-to-date with relevant new articles and papers.
Subject Scope: Covers all subject areas.
Date Range: From 1993 onwards