My Subject: Sports and Exercise Science: Searching For Journal Articles

What are journal databases?

Journal databases enable access to journal articles and may also contain conference proceedings, research papers, newspapers, TV programmes and Standards.

The Library subscribes to a large selection of journal databases

Others are freely available on the Internet e.g. PEDro and Trip.

Many databases provide full-text articles i.e. the articles can be read online. Others provide a reference to an article which will need to be obtained from an alternative source.

Searching Journal Databases

Using 'Search operators' in bibliographic databases Compiled by Shrewsbury and Telford Health Libraries, this guide outlines which search operators (e.g. truncation, phrase searching, proximity searching) can be carried out with different databases. Not all of these databases can be accessed via Middlesex University.

Database help

Library Search: Finding a journal article

Journal Databases: Sport and Exercise Science

The following databases can be used to make a comprehensive search of sport and exercise science journal literature:

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Description: PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Description: PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. Over 80,000 references are added annually through weekly updates. Subject Scope: Full breadth of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Date Range: 1806 to present
Medline This link opens in a new window Good for finding articles from the whole range of medical literature. Covers more than 4800 journals.
PubMed (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window Open Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. References to articles from bio medical journals – this covers the same content as Medline, plus some additional life sciences journals and articles which have not yet been included in Medline, books and documents. References may include links to the full text article in PubMed Central (Open Access) where available.
Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window Description: Provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts and cited references from over 6,650 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. The database is part of Web of Science. Subject Scope: All science disciplines - including biosciences, computer science, medicine, pharmacology, psychiatry and veterinary science. Date Range: 1970 - present
Science Direct This link opens in a new window Description: A leading full-text scientific database providing access to journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Sport Discus This link opens in a new window Description: The most comprehensive bibliographic database covering all aspects of sport, fitness and exercise science and medicine. It includes over 1.7 million records covering journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters and conference proceedings. Over 22,000 dissertations and theses are also included. Part of EBSCO Health Databases so can be cross-searched with other databases such as Medline. Subject Scope: Sport, fitness and exercise.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Description: Includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science and Humanities Social Sciences Citation Index Science Citation Index (See individual databases for more information) Subject Scope: Arts, Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences Date Range: Varied Full Text: No

Journal Databases: Social Science and Education

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Offers full text journal articles and abstracts covering aspect of Education
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window Description: Searches over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Subject Scope: Anthropology, Economics, Politics, Sociology, Development Studies, Gender and Sexuality, Human Geography and Environment, Development Studies, Business and Management, Social Policy, Health, Education, International relations, Media and communication, Psychology, History, Law and Philosophy.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window Description: Searches the articles within 2,474 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines. Subject Scope: Sociology, Criminology, Substance Abuse, Urban Studies, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public Health, Social Policy, Social Work, Women's Studies, Anthropology, History, Industrial Relations, Law, Philosophy. Date Range: 1970 onwards
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window Description: Searches articles within over 630 journals published by Sage. Subject Scope: Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology and Medicine. Date Range: Full Text: Full text availability to a large number of Sage journals.

Open access journal articles, research papers, systematic reviews etc

BASE: Academic open access search engine BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

Cochrane (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window Open Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. The Cochrane Library (UK access) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is the main resource for finding Systematic Reviews of the effects of healthcare interventions.

CORE (open access research papers) The world's largest collection of open access research papers..

PEDro (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window A useful database for physiotherapy literature. This online resource is freely available to everyone. Bibliographic details and abstracts of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy, randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews.
Trip (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window This online resource is freely available to everyone. Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and /or care and answer clinical questions.

Useful resources for a general search

Use Library Search to find and access books, journals and other quality academic resources.

Google Scholar is a version of Google search which searches scholarly literature.

Not everything on Google Scholar is full text, but you can link it to MDX's online resources by changing the settings:

Go to the 'three horizontal lines' icon at the top right left of screen
Select 'Settings'
Select 'Library Links'
Search for Middlesex University
Save
Log On to myUniHub before searching Google Scholar

Inter-Library Loans

Found a great article but we don't have access to it?

Don't worry...submit an Inter-Library Loan request via the link below and we will try and obtain it for you from another library. This service is currently free of charge.

Inter-Library Loans