Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Psychology: Other Libraries

Using other Libraries

If your research is very specialised you may wish to use additional libraries. On this page you will find details of how to do this and some of the resources available through other libraries.

Just to confirm that the SCONUL Summer vacation access scheme is in place and you can find details here: https://www.sconul.ac.uk/page/summer-vacation-access.

SCONUL Access Scheme: A quick guide for the post-pandemic reopening. Not all libraries are open to user from other institutions. Libraries NOT currently available through SCONUL:-

Dublin City University, Imperial College, London, London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, Royal Horticultural Society, St Mary's University College, Belfast University of Limerick, University of Suffolk.

This list of previously participating members which are not able to participate at this point is correct as of 24 January 2022, please use the SCONUL website (institution search) as an added reference point.

NSPC and Metanoia Joint students should apply for SCONUL access via their Middlesex University email as their respective institutions are not part of the SCONUL community but Middlesex University is. Students on Validated courses are not eligible for this service only Joint or Franchised students.

How to Use Other Libraries

You may need to use other libraries if your research is very specialised. Academic staff and all students except full time undergraduates can have borrowing rights at virtually every other academic library in the UK through SCONUL Access.

  • To find library resources in London and south east England, use Search25.
  • Always check the webpages of the library you intend to visit to ensure they will be open.

Search all University libraries in London

Search 25 allows you to search all HE libraries within and around the M25 so is very useful for students in Hendon trying to locate books elsewhere, or find study space nearer to home.

http://www.search25.ac.uk/
If you wish to visit one of these libraries you will then need to check their library catalogue for details of whether the item you are looking for is available, and where and when.

You will also need a SCONUL card. The SCONUL Access scheme provides access to a number of Higher Education Institution Libraries in the UK. Information on the scheme is available at http://www.sconul.ac.uk/sconul-access

University Libraries in London you can use

University Libraries in London you can use to study via Sconul Access include:

  • Arts London (Camberwell, Chelsea, Elephant and Castle, Kings Cross, Wimbledon)
  • Bedfordshire (Luton)
  • Birkbeck University of London (Bloomsbury)
  • Brunel (Uxbridge)
  • City (Northampton Square, Bunhill Row)
  • East London (Stratford, Docklands)
  • Goldsmiths (New Cross)
  • Greenwich
  • Hertfordshire (Hatfield)
  • Kingston
  • London Metropolitan (Holloway)
  • London School of Economics (Aldwych)
  • Queen Mary (Mile End)
  • Roehampton
  • St Mary's (Twickenham)
  • South Bank (Elephant and Castle)
  • West London (Ealing)
  • Westminster (Marylebone and Harrow on the Hill)

For most students this is reference and study access, but you may also be able to borrow books.  Please follow the instructions in the other box to check your membership entitlements.

Save on travel: Use other university libraries

Sconul Access is a FREE scheme where you can use other university libraries in London to study and (depending on your level of study) borrow books.  You can also use Eduroam to use their wifi to access our e-resources.

Theses From Other Institutions

Ethos logo

The British Library provides access to their collection of doctoral theses via their Electronic Theses Online Service: EThOS.

Institute of Psychoanalysis Library

Institute of Psychoanalysis Library

The British Psychoanalytical Society (incorporating the Institute of Psychoanalysis)

Opening Times

1 pm - 8 pm on Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays; 10:30 am - 5:30 pm on Wednesdays; 10:30 am - 5 pm on Fridays

Access Policy

Only members of the British Psychoanalytical Society, candidates for membership, and participants in the new entry scheme may borrow books. Other academics and students may visit and use the Library for reference purposes by prior arrangement with the Library staff.

British Psychotherapy Foundation

British Psychotherapy Foundation Library is at 37 Mapesbury Road, London NW2 4HJ
Near Kilburn HIgh Rd, and Brondesbury Overground.

e-mail: librarian@bpf-psychotherapy.org.uk 
Tel: 020 8452 823

Data access and repositories

Figshare
Figshare is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citableshareable and discoverable manner
MDX Figshare  https://mdx.figshare.com/

Middlesex University Research Repository: Research work by Middlesex University staff and alumni https://eprints.mdx.ac.uk/

Datacite
Datacite  DataCite is a leading global non-profit organisation that provides persistent identifiers (DOIs) for research data and other research outputs. Organizations within the research community join DataCite as members to be able to assign DOIs to all their research outputs. This way, their outputs become discoverable and associated metadata is made available to the community.

UK Data Service: https://ukdataservice.ac.uk  Trusted access and training to use the UK's largest collection of economic, social and population data for research and teaching. Funded by UK Research and Innovation (UKRI), the Service integrates and builds on investments the Economic and Social Research Council has made in UK research infrastructure for decades, including the UK Data Archive, Economic and Social Data Service, the Secure Data Service, Census Programme and Survey Question Bank
https://ukdataservice.ac.uk/about/key-data-owners-and-collections/

UK Data Archive (for restricted/sensitive social science research): https://data-archive.ac.uk
The University of Essex has been home to the UK Data Archive since 1967 when it began life as the Social Science Research Council Data Bank. The Government Statistical Service began to deposit government surveys with us in the 1970s. In 2005, we became a place of deposit for public records for the National Archive, and in 2012, the lead partner in the UK Data Service.

British Library

Image of the outside of the British Library at St Pancras London

British Library Reading Rooms

You may apply for a reading pass to access the reading rooms at the British Library at St Pancras. Prior to your visit you must conduct a literature search and have investigated other methods of accessing items.

Application forms are available from The British Library website.

The British Library Public Catalogue is at http://catalogue.bl.uk/

PLEASE BE AWARE much of the British Library material is not held at the main British Library but at warehouses off site so make sure you search the website before visiting!

Senate House: British Psychological Society Library

Image of inside Senate House library

  • BPS chartered and BPS graduate members can join the Library free of charge for reference-only access for one calendar year. If you wish to borrow up to 10 books at a time, you can join the Library for 3 months or 1 year.  
  • BPS student members are only eligible to join the Library with borrowing rights for 3 months or 1 year. This membership includes a 10 book borrowing allowance.
Duration Cost
3 months   £70
1 year        £210

 

Please note: a valid BPS membership card is required as evidence of status along with photo ID and proof of address. Library membership is renewable providing BPS membership remains current.

BPS members registered for the Society’s Qualifications are eligible to join the Library with borrowing rights at no additional cost when they enrol for their qualification under a special arrangement between BPS and SHL; membership of the Library is renewed on an annual basis for the duration of the course. Contact the BPS Qualification Office (Opens in new window) for any questions regarding joining.