Use Boolean Operators to build your search and link your search terms
OR
OR = more
You can use OR to expand a search and combine terms.
This means that any of the terms you specify can appear in your results.
AND
AND = less
AND reduces a search by requiring all terms to appear in our results.
To add topics together use AND between the keywords
To ensure that words always appear together as a phrase, enclose with “quotation marks” e.g. “human computer interaction"
Some databases allow you to broaden your search by using the beginning of a word and an asterisk* to find different endings e.g. Comput* (this will find computers, computer, computing, computerisation, computation etc). This is called a "Wildcard" search. Check the help function of the database you are using to see if it is supported.
Using brackets allows you to perform quite sophisticated searches. This is especially relevant to internet searching. Using brackets allows you to combine a selection of Boolean Operators together.
The further you progress in your studies the more you will need to evaluate and critically examine your research.
In a healthy debate, there are different people with different ideas. When carrying out their own research, students are expected to seek out a range of perspectives, to read widely, that is. This is a bit like 'listening' to different participants in a debate.
It is important to 'listen' (or read) with a certain amount of doubt in mind. Do not simply accept what each person writes, instead ask questions in response such as where have the authors got their information, how have they backed it up? where is their proof or evidence? Answering these questions is an important early stage of critical analysis.
Being critical means identifying the advantages of ideas just as much as identifying the limitations.
Critical Thinking Skills for Your Nursing Degree by
Critical Thinking Skills for your Nursing Degree provides you with a sound knowledge and understanding of: the nature of critical thinking, and of its relevance and importance in HE how to adopt a critical approach to all aspects of your nursing study the importance of active, critical reading, and how it allows you an efficient, principled, effective assessment of the literature in your field the need to adopt a critical approach to writing, characterised by analytical and evaluative use of sources and the development of your own 'voice' If you are embarking on a university nursing or midwifery degree, the books in this series will help you acquire and develop the knowledge, skills and strategies you need to achieve your goals. They provide support in all areas important for university study, including institutional and disciplinary policy and practice, self-management, and research and communication. Tasks and activities are designed to foster aspects of learning which are valued in higher education, including learner autonomy and critical thinking, and to guide you towards reflective practice in your study and work life.
Critical Thinking for Psychology by
Critical thinking is taught at all universities, often put forward by lecturers as the key skill that can most dramatically improve a student's understanding of a course and transform their writing. It pervades research methods teaching, critical psychology, and a range of other core curriculum elements, in exactly the same way that critical thinking pervades any discipline, and indeed, life generally. But what is it, exactly, and how can we apply it specifically to the field of psychology? In his relaxed and accessible style, Mark Forshaw takes modern real-world examples from psychology and everyday life to lighten the learning of critical thinking, explaining what it entails, why it is important, and how it can be applied to this fascinating field of study.
Thanks to my colleague Linda Pearson for creating this video and the one on using keywords.
Before you start your literature search...
Use the worksheet below to plan your strategy
Planning your literature search in this way should help you work in a more systematic fashion and will provide you with a record of what you have done for when you write up your research methods
A literature search is a systematic and organised investigation across a range of sources for material relevant to your topic.
A literature search will enable you to find out what has already been written in your subject area and identify the main trends.
The information may be found in books, journal articles, reports, case studies, policy documents, conference proceedings etc.
Scientific papers made easy : how to write with clarity and impact in the life sciences by 
Your Psychology Project Handbook by
Your Psychology Project Handbook is the complete guide to preparing, carrying out and writing up a psychology research project or dissertation. Designed to supportnbsp;you through every stage of the project process, this second edition has been updated to include new chapters on doing online research and employability. The text offers you advice and practical guidance on each aspect of the project including ethics, choosing a research question, working with a supervisor and more. Whether it#146;s qualitative or quantitative, the handbook providesnbsp;you with all the supportnbsp;you need to carry out your project with confidence.nbsp;
Doing Your Qualitative Psychology Project by
Thanks to this new book, psychology students now have a trustworthy and practical guide that takes them through all stages of qualitative research with rich examples and different paradigmatic perspectives.′ Svend Brinkmann, Aalborg University, Denmark ′A well thought-out, accessible and engaging guide to conducting qualitative research projects. This is a must-read for any student beginning the qualitative journey.′ Abigail Locke, University of Huddersfield, UK This book is for students who are embarking on a qualitative research project in psychology or a related discipline. While focusing mainly on undergraduate dissertations, this book will also be useful for postgraduate students. It takes you through planning a qualitative project, stage by stage, addressing key issues and concerns along the way. The focus throughout is on how to make your project excellent! Packed full of examples from student projects to help you to put theory into practice, the book guides you through: * designing your research * ethical considerations * collecting your data * analysing your data * writing your report or dissertation. ; In addition, the book will help you with time management and working with your supervisor, as well as providing guidance on how you can use your project as the basis for publication or further study.
The psychology project manual by 
The Literature Review by
The essential guide--updated, expanded, and easier to use than ever. Creating a successful literature review can be a daunting task, which is why so many researchers have relied on previous editions of this book to make the process more manageable. Using the six-step model, you'll work seamlessly to narrow your research topic, focus your literature search, negotiate the myriad of books, periodicals, and reports about your topic--and, of course, write the review. Updated, expanded, and reorganized to improve ease of use, the fourth edition of this bestselling handbook includes: New and improved graphics ideal for visualizing the process More explanations and tips, especially for writing in the early stages An expanded range of learning tools Additional reflection sections to direct metacognitive activities Four new reference supplements This pioneering book has provided countless graduate students and researchers with a road map to success. Its model takes you through the logical progression needed for producing a quality literature review--while taking the mystery out of the process.
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide by 
Research design : qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods approaches by 
Doing Qualitative Research by
Need practical advice on how to do your first qualitative research project? This book will guide you through each step of the research process: from brainstorming ideas and working with your supervisor to navigating the field to writing up your results. Driven by examples from other students' projects, the book features discussions on translating social problems into research topics, collecting data in the wake of a pandemic, and guidance from Qualitative Data Analysis Software expert Christian Schmieder to help you summarise, categorise, and review qualitative data. A new chapter on how much data you need answers the age-old question: 'how many interviews or case studies are enough?' It also includes: - Articles and websites to build your bibliography - Questions to test your knowledge - Videos from world-leading qualitative experts - Activities to dig deeper into key concepts and think critically about research - Lessons-learned discussions with other researchers - Exercises to help you choose the right path for your project. Key features: in addition to the online Silverman Workshops, the book includes top tips, end-of-chapter checklists to test your understanding, and annotated further reading so you can develop your knowledge further.
Introducing qualitative research in psychology by 
Understanding quantitative and qualitative research in psychology : a practical guide to methods, statistics, and analysis by 
Doing a Systematic Review: A student's guide 3rd edn. by
Completing a systematic review and unsure where to start or what path to take? Set out on your journey confidently with this practical guide written by a team of experienced academics. With a friendly, accessible style, the book covers every step of the systematic review process, from planning to dissemination. This book will help you to: * Work with qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods data* Understand the how-to of systematic reviews with a range of real-life examples and case studies* Learn from students who have been in your shoes with FAQs taken from actual supervision meetings. This book will not only support you to overcome common challenges and pitfalls, it will give you the knowledge and skills to produce an excellent review and you might even enjoy the journey!Alongside updated examples and case studies, this edition also includes two new chapters to help you write and register your review protocol and understand and synthesise data from correlational and experimental studies. The book is accompanied by an online guide for teaching, including videos, example documents, further reading, software recommendations and weblinks.
Doing a Systematic Review by
Written in a friendly, accessible style by an expert team of authors with years of experience in both conducting and supervising systematic reviews, this is the perfect guide to using systematic review methodology in a research project. It provides clear answers to all review-related questions, including: How do I formulate an appropriate review question? What's the best way to manage my review? How do I develop my search strategy? How do I get started with data extraction? How do I assess the quality of a study? How can I analyse and synthesize my data? How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis?
An Introduction to Systematic Reviews by
Focused on actively using systematic review as method, An Introduction to Systematic Reviews provides clear, step-by-step advice on the logic and processes of systematic reviewing. Stressing the importance of precision and accuracy, this practical text carefully balances a need for insightful theory with real-world pragmatism. The Second Edition features a new chapter on statistical synthesis and introduces a wide range of cutting-edge approaches to research synthesis, including text mining, living reviews, and new ideas in mixed methods reviews, such as qualitative comparative analysis. Packed with examples from across the social sciences, this book helps students and researchers alike in turning systematic reviews into recommendations for policy and practice. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by
The revised edition of the Handbook offers the only guide on how to conduct, report and maintain a Cochrane Review 
 The second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions contains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions. This fully updated edition contains extensive new material on systematic review methods addressing a wide-range of topics including network meta-analysis, equity, complex interventions, narrative synthesis, and automation. Also new to this edition, integrated throughout the Handbook, is the set of standards Cochrane expects its reviews to meet. Written for review authors, editors, trainers and others with an interest in Cochrane Reviews, the second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions continues to offer an invaluable resource for understanding the role of systematic reviews, critically appraising health research studies and conducting reviews.
Introduction to Research Methods and Data Analysis in the Health Sciences by
Whilst the 'health sciences' are a broad and diverse area, and includes public health, primary care, health psychology, psychiatry and epidemiology, the research methods and data analysis skills required to analyse them are very similar. Moreover, the ability to appraise and conduct research is emphasised within the health sciences - and students are expected increasingly to do both. Introduction to Research Methods and Data Analysis in the Health Sciences presents a balanced blend of quantitative research methods, and the most widely used techniques for collecting and analysing data in the health sciences. Highly practical in nature, the book guides you, step-by-step, through the research process, and covers both the consumption and the production of research and data analysis. Divided into the three strands that run throughout quantitative health science research - critical numbers, critical appraisal of existing research, and conducting new research - this accessible textbook introduces: Descriptive statistics Measures of association for categorical and continuous outcomes Confounding, effect modification, mediation and causal inference Critical appraisal Searching the literature Randomised controlled trials Cohort studies Case-control studies Research ethics and data management Dissemination and publication Linear regression for continuous outcomes Logistic regression for categorical outcomes. A dedicated companion website offers additional teaching and learning resources for students and lecturers, including screenshots, R programming code, and extensive self-assessment material linked to the book's exercises and activities. Clear and accessible with a comprehensive coverage to equip the reader with an understanding of the research process and the practical skills they need to collect and analyse data, it is essential reading for all undergraduate and postgraduate students in the health and medical sciences.
Systematic Reviews:
SRs are used in evidence based medicine to ensure that practitioners have the best available evidence in order to decide how to treat patients. SRs are now applied to other disciplines.
Within the health discipline there may be lots of research being carried out, but not necessarily a summary of what has been done. There is a need to bring the research together to see if there is consensus of evidence from trials. Therefore a systematic approach is used to ensure that all research is found and evaluated.
•Clearly defined research question
•Aims for comprehensive, exhaustive searching
•Transparent methods – SR are explicit about how the search has been carried out i.e. transparent about method i.e. same filters, terms etc so that search can be replicated. e.g. only looks at research that looks at experimental trials in England etc.
•Pre-specified eligibility criteria to determine what’s included
•May include a meta-analysis – statistical analysis of the combined results of quantitative studies i.e. pool all the data from different studies to get an overall answer.
•Seeks to systematically search for, appraise and synthesise research evidence, often adhering to guidelines on how to conduct a review (e.g. PRISMA)
This is an updated version of the original PRISMA flow generator. Includes a downloadable PDF version.
Contains both PDF & Word versions. From PRISMA.
Critical Appraisal is the process of assessing and interpreting evidence by systematically considering its validity, results and relevance. The following resources provide a useful introduction to this process:
Critical appraisal is the process of evaluating and interpreting evidence by systematically considering its validity, results and relevance. The following resources should provide a useful introduction to this process:
Articles about critiquing research:
