Looking for Psychological tests?
We now have access to APA PsycTests which is a database you can search directly for Psychological tests.
Please note not all tests are available as full text in APA PsycTests but it is worth checking first as it’s a lot quicker than literature searching for research studies and then picking through the articles and methodologies to find tests or names of tests that you then have to source from somewhere else.
You access APA PsycTests in the same way you access the other databases.
The search is by author if you know them from studies you’ve seen OR by topic area for example ‘creativity’ ‘IQ OR intelligence’ etc.
The American Psychological Association has an FAQ section on Finding information about psychological tests (both published and unpublished)
Published V. Unpublished Tests
It is important to be aware of the difference between published and unpublished tests when trying to track down a test or measure.
Published tests are standardised tests available for purchase usually directly from the publisher. These are not available on the PscyTESTS databases or journal articles.
Unpublished tests are generally not for sale, but instead are often available via articles, collections of unpublished tests (e.g. PsycTESTS) or directly from the author.
Using PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES
For articles indexed on PsycINFO, you can search to see if the test is included within an article using the word appended in combination with the test name in the advanced search.
There is an APA video which explains how to search for tests on PscyINFO and includes a demo of the appended search function:
https://youtu.be/0NshjwhoHSs
If you don’t find what you need on APA PsycTests then please see the information on Using the Psychology Department Test Library
The department also has a Psychological test library, this is quite small, and is not online but hard copy photocopies are kept in departmental offices.
You can access an index of the tests in the library online by:
logging into MyUniHub > My learning > PSY subject area > Test Library
Here is a link to the Psychology Department page on Unihub https://mdx.mrooms.net/course/view.php?id=1128
Tests are tagged with subject areas/topics so you can search the document by author or subject area.
The Psychology Department holds a number of test resources for use by Psychology staff and students. Please use the form included in this folder to request tests which appear in the test library catalogue. Unfortunately not all tests which appear in the catalogue are available and you will be informed if this is the case. Some items are also available in electronic format and if this is the case the electronic version will be sent to you.
STUDENTS: Please send your form requests (either hard copy or electronically) through your supervisor to Dr Nicky Brunswick - n.brunswick@mdx.ac.uk
Please note this is a departmental collection and is nothing to do with the Sheppard library.
The Rouge Test observation CDs are no longer available in the Library.
You can access these materials in Hatchcroft, on any computer in HG01, HG02, HG07 and cubicles on 1st floor. To use the cubicles, you need to make a booking with the technicians: email (h.moallin@mdx.ac.uk or l.miraziz@mdx.ac.uk ), call ext 15405 or visit them in their office (HG09).
Psychological testing and assessment : an introduction to tests and measurement. by 
Psychological Testing by
PSYCHOLOGICAL TESTING: PRINCIPLES, APPLICATIONS, AND ISSUES, Ninth Edition explains the fundamentals of psychological testing, their important applications, and the controversies that emerge from those applications in clinical, education, industrial, and legal settings. Kaplan and Saccuzzo's engaging and thorough text demonstrates how psychological tests are constructed and used, both in a professional setting and in everyday lives. Part I focuses on the core concepts that affect the evaluation of all tests. Part II discusses the major types of psychological tests, while Part III looks at present-day issues affecting testing such as stereotype threat, bias, laws, and ethics. A multitude of test profiles and sample items illustrate how psychological testing is used and reported. Real-life case studies demonstrate the uses and misuses of psychological testing, while "Technical Example" boxes help you understand complex statistical concepts.
The Handbook of Psychological Testing by
Since publication in its first edition the Handbook of Psychological Testinghas become the standard text for organisational and educational psychologists. It offers the only comprehensicve, modern and clear account of the whole of the field of psychometrics. It covers psychometric theory, the different kinds of psychological test, applied psychological testing, and the evaluation of the best published psychological tests. It is outstanding for its detailed and complete coverage of the field, its clarity (even for the non-mathematical) and its emphasis on the practical application of psychometric theory in psychology and education, as well as in vocational, occupational and clinical fields. For this second edition the Handbookhas been extensively revised and updated to include the latest research and thinking in the field. Unlike other work in this area, it challenges the scientific rigour of conventional psychometrics and identifies groundbreaking new ways forward.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by
Organized according to the sequence mental health professionals follow when conducting an assessment, Groth-Marnat's Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Sixth Edition covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Written in a practical, skills-based manner, the Sixth Edition provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, interpreting assessment data, how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways to write effective, client-oriented psychological reports. This text provides through coverage of the most commonly used assessment instruments including the Wechsler Intelligence Scales, Wechsler Memory Scales, Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory, Personality Assessment Inventory, Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory, NEO Personality, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, and brief assessment instruments for treatment planning, monitoring, and outcome assessment.
A Handbook of Test Construction (Psychology Revivals) by
Psychological tests provide reliable and objective standards by which individuals can be evaluated in education and employment. Therefore accurate judgements must depend on the reliability and quality of the tests themselves. Originally published in 1986, this handbook by an internationally acknowledged expert provided an introductory and comprehensive treatment of the business of constructing good tests. Paul Kline shows how to construct a test and then to check that it is working well. Covering most kinds of tests, including computer presented tests of the time, Rasch scaling and tailored testing, this title offers: a clear introduction to this complex field; a glossary of specialist terms; an explanation of the objective of reliability; step-by-step guidance through the statistical procedures; a description of the techniques used in constructing and standardizing tests; guidelines with examples for writing the test items; computer programs for many of the techniques. Although the computer testing will inevitably have moved on, students on courses in occupational, educational and clinical psychology, as well as in psychological testing itself, would still find this a valuable source of information, guidance and clear explanation.
An Introduction to Psychological Assessment and Psychometrics by