Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online help with databases
Google Scholar Search Box
Did you know you can use Google Scholar to link to our electronic journals? On campus, you will see articles with a Full-text@Middlesex link on the right. Click these links to access the full text journal the Library pays for.
Off campus you will need to set this up the first time. Click on the Settings icon in the top right corner and select 'Library Links' from the menu on the left. Search for and select Middlesex University. Click Save. This will be remembered for future visits.
You may be asked to login to verify you are entitled to view the things you find. Your login is your usual Middlesex Username and Password, which you would use to login to a PC when on campus.
Barbour Index This link opens in a new window
Barbour offers full text documentation on legislation, regulations and standards for Environment, Health & Safety professionals.
British Standards Online
Database of more than 50,000 British and adopted European and international standards. Middlesex University has full-text access to a Custom Collection of up to 100 of these standards
Lexis Library This link opens in a new window Description: Database of full text law reports, legislation and many full text journals from the UK, Europe , the United States and many jurisdictions. Also includes commentary, notes ,current awareness and Halsbury's Laws of England.
Date Range: UK case law since 1865. Journal coverage varies depending on publishers. US case law(State and Federal)-dates vary. Large collection of full text US law reviews/journals-again dates vary.
Published by the American Mathematical Society, this is the main resource for searching the literature of mathematical sciences.
The world's premier database for biomedical literature (including sports medicine and psychology)
Local and national UK newspapers in full-text, from 1986 onwards.
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles found in PubMed Central or at publisher websites.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection provides access to over 1500 scientific, technical & medical peer-reviewed journals from Elsevier Science and other publishers. Search over 40 million abstracts from scientific articles. Link out to articles from over 80 other publishers.
Web of Science (inc. Science Citation Index)
Science Citation Index provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from approximately 5,900 of the world’s leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
Useful full-text resources
Searching for journal articles
Found a great article but we don't have access to it?
Don't worry...submit an Inter-Library Loan request and we will try and obtain it for you from another library for a small charge.