Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Special Collections: Special Books

Updated: Access to the Materials Room

 

Image of bunch of keys

The Materials Room is now open from 11am to 3pm Monday to Friday for University staff and students. For safety, we are restricting numbers to not more than 10 in the room, and asking for masks to be worn where possible.

Please contact Marion (m.syratt-barnes@mdx.ac.uk) to make an appointment outside these hours, or for more information about the using the Special Collections.
Key image

Visionaire

Issue of Visionaire

Visionaire is an 'experiential agency' which collaborates with artists, designers and companies. It produces film, installations and a special fashion publication which is produced a few times a year. Each issue is designed, themed and created by a photographer, designer or art director and produced in a limited edition with no advertising.  Formats and styles vary enormously, so the collection offers rich inspiration in ideas, style and presentation. We have many of their issues in the Materials Room, starting from #20.

Visionaire has a website which gives an interactive view of the complete set of issues.

Visionaire is displayed in the Materials Room, which is located in the Basement of the Sheppard Library.

The Materials Room is open from 11am to 3pm Monday to Friday, during term-time when specialist help is usually available. 

Special Books Collection

This is a small collection of about 700 books, some of which were inherited by Hornsey College of Art.  The collection includes a variety of historical and contemporary books which for reasons of fragility, age, special format or rarity have been shelved separately. These are kept in the Materials Room and are listed on Library Search.

The collection includes artists' books and also the fashion subscription "Visionaire" which are on display in the Materials Room.

Artist's book

Artists' Books

Artist's book

We have an amazing collection of artists' books which are available as reference items in the Materials Room.  The artists' books show many different bindings, materials, ideas and interpretations of "the book"

The Materials Room is located in the Basement of the Sheppard Library, Hendon.

Zines!

Image of zines
Image: Jessie Lynn McMains

We have a new and exciting collection of zines available to browse through in the Materials Room. These range from some of the earliest punk titles like Sniffin' Glue to lots of new examples in many shapes and sizes. Click here for more information about our zines collection.