There are two Ephemera Collections:
This consists of historical and contemporary (mostly) paper ephemera; greeting cards, private view cards, maps, cigarette cards, travel guides, club flers. It also includes matchbooks, mail-order catalogues such as Argos, Littlewoods, boxes and carrier bags.
This collection consists of corporate and student publications produced by the art and design courses at the Hornsey College of Art, Middlesex Polytechnic and more recently Middlesex University. Items iclude prospectuses, diaries, posters, architectural plans for Cat Hill, exhibition catalogues and private view cards.
The Ephemera Collection contains a fascinating array of historical and contemporary (mostly) paper items which would normally be thrown away, such as greeting cards, maps, flyers, private view cards. It also has matchbooks, mail order catalogues, carrier bags and many other items.
Due to the on-going Covid 19 situation, the Materials Room is currently closed for individual and group visits. We are working towards opening later in the autumn, but will keep you informed here about any changes to access.
Please contact Marion (email@example.com) or Sherene (firstname.lastname@example.org) (Mondays/Tuesdays) for more information or your questions about the using the Special Collections.
The Ephemera Collections are stored in boxes and kept in the Materials Room which is located in the Basement of the Sheppard Library, Hendon. The Materials Room is open from 11am to 4pm Monday to Friday during term-time.
This is a list of the categories in the Ephemera Collection
Catalogues - Argos
Catalogues – Children
Catalogues – Gift
Catalogues – Toys
Matchbooks + Cigarettes
Postcards + Cigarette Cards
Private View Cards