My Subject: Institute of Health &amp; Social Care Studies, Guernsey (Franchise): Middlesex University resources

Your reading lists

Reading Lists

Visible Body - interactive apps for Anatomy & Physiology

Visible Body Suite This link opens in a new window
Visible Body Suite is an anatomy & physiology learning package containing interactive 3D models and animations. Available as a web resource and free mobile apps for iOS and Android.

Follow the link above, click ‘Sign Up’ and create an account using your university email address. You can then access the Visible Body web suite and download the apps.

Useful journals - Education

British Educational Research Journal
Online access 1997 to present
British Journal of Educational Studies
Online access 1997 to present
Journal of Education for Teaching
Online Access 1997 to present
Education 3-13
Online Access 1997 to present
Educational Studies
Online Access 1997-present

Finding books and journals

These resources are very useful for finding online books and full text online journal articles:

British Nursing Database This link opens in a new window An extensive and up to date nursing and midwifery database, covering over 200 UK journals and other English-language titles
Education Journals Collection (Taylor and Francis) This link opens in a new window Offers full text journal articles and abstracts from Taylor & Francis, covering aspect of Education
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Features full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Internurse This link opens in a new window Find full text articles from key UK nursing journals, including British Journal of Nursing.
Kortext eBooks – Library Collection This link opens in a new window A great place to search across a wide range of eBooks
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Make the most of free access to LinkedIn Learning and your time at Middlesex University, activate your LinkedIn Learning account and connect it to your LinkedIn profile page to:
• retain a permanent record of your learning history
• grow your network of like-minded people
• increase your employment prospects after graduation
To find out more, visit the LinkedIn Learning Subject Guide here (https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/linkedinlearning)

Warning: if you do not save your learning history on your LinkedIn profile page it cannot be retrieved after graduation.
OVID Full Text Journals This link opens in a new window Description: Over 200 journals in nursing, psychology, clinical medicine, allied health and biomedical sciences. To search these journals, choose 'Ovid Full Text journals' from the 'Select Resources' page. Subject Scope: Nursing, psychology, clinical medicine, allied health, biomedical sciences. Date Range: Varies depending on individual journal Full Text: Yes
Proquest eBooks Central This link opens in a new window A collection of library licenced eBooks
Science Direct This link opens in a new window Description: A leading full-text scientific database providing access to journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Statista This link opens in a new window An extensive collection of statistics, reports and insights.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Searches articles within journals published by Wiley, covering a range of subjects including Business, Social Sciences and Health Sciences. Full text availability to over 150 journals published by Wiley.

Resources for your Quality Improvement Initiative Proposal (QiiP)

This link will take you to the 3rd year nursing subject guide page

Further Resources

BMC Nursing
BMC Nursing is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of nursing research, training, education and practice.

Cochrane (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
Open Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. The Cochrane Library (UK access) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is the main resource for finding Systematic Reviews of the effects of healthcare interventions.

NICE: National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
NICE provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care.

Referencing your work

It is important to properly reference your work. Cite Them Right will help you reference just about any source, using the Harvard referencing style.

Cite Them Right Online This link opens in a new window Description: Cite them right online covers a comprehensive range of source types, alongside detailed advice on referencing and its importance in academic work Subject Scope: For use by students in Business, Criminology and Sociology, Health and Education, Science and Technology and Work Based Learning. Art and Design, Law and 3rd year H&E should follow the links in the Referencing Library Subject guide. https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/plagiarismreferencing

Referencing and plagiarism guide

Referencing Rex... follow our examples for health students.

Useful journals - Nursing

British Journal of Nursing
Online Access 1992 to present
Journal of Advanced Nursing
Full text available 1997 to present
Journal of Clinical Nursing
Online access 1992 to present
Nursing Standard
Online Access 1996 to present
Nursing Times
Online Access 2005 to present
The first time you access this, please register with your MDX email address (e.g. AB123@live.mdx.ac.uk) to create a username and password.

Institute of Health & Social Care Studies, Guernsey (Franchise): Middlesex University resources

Welcome to Middlesex University Resources page