The internet can be a great place for research. Google is quick and easy to use, links to vast amounts of free and current information, includes government sites, many research organisation, and specialist blogs.
The downside to Google is it does not discriminate and won't give the best results for academic information. Unlike the the Library's resources that are chosen for quality, you'll have to evaluate all information that you find on the Internet before you use it in your assignments.
When evaluating think about:
​Google Search Engine Tools
Searches scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines from journal articles, eBooks to conference papers. Items are ranks by citations. Recent and popular items are often restricted behind Publishers' pay-walls.
Student can use citations found in Google Scholar to search Library Search and access the full text if available.
Provides a sophisticated search interface to retrieve more specific results similar to the functionality of the library databases. You can use search operators (AND, OR, NOT) and other punctuation to get limited resulted rather than the million plus, typical of Google.
You can search within specific domains e.g. .ac.uk or websites: www.gov.uk.
Ad Age - Online version of Advertising Age, the global media brand publishing analysis, news and data on marketing and media.
American Marketing Association - AMA leads an unparalleled discussion on marketing excellence. the AMA offers differentiated content that focuses on the tension between Best Versus Next Practices™.
Audio Branding Academy - The Audio Branding Academy is a think tank that promoting smart, innovative and useful sound concepts and sound solutions. It possesses a strong, global network of experts and is constantly developing excellent competency clusters.
Bloomnerg Business Week - Website with news on Financial Markets, Technology, Politics, and opinion.
Bookboon - With over 75 million downloads of textbooks and business e-books every year, Bookboon is the largest publisher of e-books in the world.
British Independent Retailers Association - For the past 118 years have been in the corner of independent retailers across all kinds of industries.
Entrepreneur Middle East Magazine - Entrepreneur Middle East (ME) is a regional business magazine based in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. It is the guide for the region's entrepreneurs and future business leaders.
Market Research Society - The Market Research Society (MRS) is the UK professional body for research, insight and analytics.
Marketing Week - Online magazine with up to date news.
Skoll Foundation - The Skoll Foundation drives large-scale change by investing in, connecting, and celebrating social entrepreneurs and the innovators who help them solve the world’s most pressing problems.
Strategy-business.com - An award-winning management magazine for decision makers in businesses and organizations around the world.
Student Guide to Social Media - This resource explores some of the more common social media tools, and gives you advice on how you can use these tools to find information, work with others, keep up to date, network and develop your online presence. This resource was developed by University of Manchester, University of Leeds and the University of York Library.
The Chartered Institute of Marketing (CIM) - The Chartered Institute of Marketing (CIM) is the largest professional body for marketing practitioners worldwide. The site gives details of the institute's activities covering the following areas: events, membership, marketing and sales qualifications, training, marketing information and consultancy, as well as career support and continuing professional development.
The Economist - The Economist online offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology.
The Institue of Direct and Digital Marketing - The IDM exists to support, encourage and improve marketing performance with development programmes to help you be the best you can be.
Basic Business Research Methods - Basic business research methods from Free Management Library. The Library provides free, easy-to-access, online articles to develop yourself, other individuals, groups and organizations (whether the organization is for-profit or nonprofit).
BBC Business news - Up-to-date Business news from the BBC.
Belbin Resources - Belbin Team Roles is the language of teams, enabling individuals to be able to project and talk about their behavioural strengths in a productive, safe and non-confrontational way..
Bloomberg - Business, Financial, Economic News, and Stock Quotes from Bloomberg.
Business Ethics - The Magazine of Corporate Responsibility.
Business Balls - A free ethical learning and development resource for people and organizations.
Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD) - The professional body for experts in people at work. Setting professional standards for HR and people development, as well as driving positive change in the world of work.
Great Idea Finder - Celebrating the Spirit of Innovation.
Investopedia - Educating the world about finance.
Khan Academy - Provides a free, world-class education to anyone, anywhere. Resource that can help with basic Maths, Economics, Statistics, and Probability.
Mind Mapping - Tony Buzan - A Mind Map is a powerful graphic technique which provides a universal key to unlock the potential of the brain. It harnesses the full range of cortical skills – word, image, number, logic, rhythm, colour and spatial awareness – in a single, uniquely powerful manner.
Open Data Insitute, The - The Open Data Institute works with companies and governments to build an open, trustworthy data ecosystem, where people can make better decisions using data and manage its harmful impacts.
Stats Make Me Cry - Stats Make Me Cry is a place to get help and find answers. The blog and video tutorials (SPSS and R) strive to provide easy-to-understand answers to your stats questions.
Sustainable Business - Sustainability news, networking and jobs for green business.
TED - TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks. TED is a global community, welcoming people from every discipline and culture who seek a deeper understanding of the world.
UK Data Service - Provides users with seamless and flexible access to a wide range of data resources to facilitate high quality social and economic research and education
The World Bank DataBank - An analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
World Trade Organisation - The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations.