My Subject: Games Design: Support for students with a disability or a health condition

Applying for disability support

Disability & Dyslexia Service
DDS provides information, advice and guidance on a wide range of conditions and access to support. If you have a disability, health condition or learning difference, contact the team to discuss how the University can support you through adjustments to your learning experience.
Disability and Dyslexia Service questionnaire
To give DDS information to speed up your request for support, please use this questionnaire. If you prefer you can email.

To contact our Disability and Dyslexia Service please complete the questionnaire above or email disability@mdx.ac.uk

Counselling, mental health and wellbeing

Counselling and Mental Health The Counselling & Mental Health team provide mental wellbeing support and a confidential individual counselling service to help you manage any challenges affecting you emotionally or psychologically that you might face while you study with us.
Counselling and Mental Health referral form During these times of remote work, our operations might be delayed, but someone from our team will get back in touch with you within approximately 7-15 days. Please expect an email in that time window to the email address you have indicated as your preference.
more...less...
However, remember that you have other resources available for your wellbeing and mental health during this time:

• If you haven't already, make sure you download the Fika app and make use of Togetherall - your online wellbeing platforms. These can help you understand better what you might be going through, and prepare you even better for any journey of wellness like therapy or counselling support. They also give you the opportunity to relate and interact anonymously with other students that can be going through similar situation and get peer support.

• Bliss: Bliss is an 8 session interactive online therapy program for depression that you complete on your own. The program is based on psychotherapy treatment called cognitive behavioural therapy. The program is designed to teach you techniques that have been shown to be effective in improving your mood and mental health. You can sign up for free here: https://cimhs.com/login/signup.php.

• The Help Hub: A helpful online therapy service which offers free short sessions, you can find it at https://www.thehelphub.co.uk/

• GoodThinking London: An interactive portal with free guidance and support if you’re feeling depressed, anxious, stressed, with trouble sleeping or low mood. You’ll find wellbeing information sources, guides to improving mental health, free courses online, mobile apps and other therapeutic exercises and tips. Take a look here: https://www.good-thinking.uk/

• StudentSpace offers free, confidential support from 4pm to 11pm every day calling 0808 189 5260
If you prefer texting, you can text ‘STUDENT’ to 85258 from anywhere in the UK, 24 hours a day
You can also chat to an advisor from 4pm to 11pm for free here: https://studentspace.org.uk/support-services/webchat-support

• The Samaritans also offer a confidential, listening service 24/7: Call 116 123 or email jo@samaritans.org.uk

Please check our website on UniHub for additional alternatives of support, 24/7 platforms, contacts, and our Call Back service, offered regularly within office hours by our team, to have a one-off virtual consultation to help you address and manage a specific pressing issue.

Remember that you can always reach out to your GP for guidance on best resources and support on your health, and that includes your mental health as well. If you haven’t registered with a GP in London yet, take a look at The UniDoctor at https://www.theunidoctor.com, it’s free and super quick.

Please note that the Mental Health and Wellbeing Services at Middlesex University are not emergency services. If you feel that you are in a crisis, and that you are thinking of seriously harming yourself or ending your life, please speak to your GP immediately or ring the NHS helpline 111 or call the Samaritans on 116 123.

If you are in crisis and you cannot keep yourself safe - please call 999 or go to A&E (if you are not isolating). Additional information on 24 hour support services and local NHS crisis teams can be found here: https://unihub.mdx.ac.uk/support/counselling-and-mental-health/crisis-and-emergency-help
Counselling and Mental Health call back form Our Call Back service offers you the chance for a one-time virtual consultation to help you address and manage a specific situation, emotional crisis, overwhelming problem-solving, and similar issues. At this time we're expecting getting back to you within 1-3 business days.
more...less...
Please be mindful that our Call Back appointments still operates during working hours and does not count as an entry to the regular Counselling and Mental Health ongoing sessions from our support team. If that sounds like something that would suits you better, please fill out the Referral Form you find on the Counselling & Mental Health page here on your UniHub https://unihelp.mdx.ac.uk/counsellingandmentalhealth, to be put on the waiting list for an assessment and counselling sessions with us. You will also find on our website several additional alternatives of support, 24/7 platforms, contacts, and more.

Please note that the Mental Health and Wellbeing Services at Middlesex University, including Call Back appointments, are not emergency services. If you feel that you are in an immediate crisis, and that you are thinking of seriously harming yourself or ending your life, please speak to your GP immediately or ring the NHS helpline 111 or call the Samaritans on 116 123. - Thank you
Thrive Our Wellbring Library Guide
Support and wellbeing for all students Our wellbeing and support pages for all students.

Practical issues

Physical access to Sheppard Library Information on car parking, doors, lifts and toilets in the Sheppard Library
Assistive Technology Read and Write Gold Mindview 5 SensusAccesss Microsoft Ease of Access Centre on PCs Mac accessibilty features.
Software how to guides Video guides for Read and Write Gold Mindview Dragon Audio Notetaker Windows accessibillty features Mac accessibility features
Equipment in the Library Height adjustible desks Laptops for loan in College Building Digital voice/audio recorder: 3 Ergonomic keyboards: High vis/Large print keyboards: 3 Ergonomic mice: Trackball mice: 3 Ergonomic chair 1 Writing slopes: 2 Document holders/bookrests: 1 Coloured overlays & reader ruler: 2 sets Magnifying sheets: 3 Daylight table lamps: 3 Wrist supports: 3 Laptop/ipad stands: 2
Extended Loans Once you have registered with DDS your library account will be set up with the appropriate privileges within 48 hours. e.g. 7 day loans extended to 14 days
Accessible copies If our assistive technology does not help sufficiently, and an eBook of the text is not available or accessible, students who have been assessed and referred by the Disability and Dyslexia Service may request for texts to be supplied in an alternative format, either via RNIB Bookshare or direct from the publisher.
RNIB Bookshare You will be set up as a member if you are assessed as needing access. RNIB Bookshare UK education collection provides textbooks and materials to support the UK curriculum. They offer a range of accessible formats that can be read electronically or adapted to suit the personal reading needs of learners.
Easy Reader app EasyReader for iOS, Android, Windows and Amazon are free and accessible reading apps, specifically designed for students with print impairments. Direct access to the most popular accessible textbook libraries including RNIB Bookshare (UK).
Car parking on campus How to apply for car parking for blue badge holders and others.
Ebook Central accessibility How to use the accessibility features in Ebook Central (from Proquest) library ebooks.
VLE ebooks accessibility How to use the accessibility features in VLE library ebooks.
Kortext personal etextbooks accessibility How to use the accessibility features in your Kortext Personal etextbooks.
Adobe, Read and Write Gold and computer accessibility Information on the accessibility features provided in Adobe Reader for reading PDFs from ebooks, using Read and Write Gold with ebooks and PC, Mac and Browser features which may also help.
DCS Advanced Student Reader Advice on how to use the Digital Content Store reader for digitised content on our reading lists.

External organisations and help

RNIB technology resource hub Technology for home assistance. Phones, apps, tablets and desktop computers. Entertainment, TV and talking books Braille, screen readers, magnifiers, smart glasses and head cameras.
ATbar ATbar is a free toolbar that enables the user to change the look and feel of web pages, increase and decrease font sizes, have text read aloud, use coloured overlays, enable readability and provide a dictionary to aid reading.
AbilityNet AbilityNet helps people of any age and with any disability to use technology by providing specialist advice services and free information resources.
AccessAble An Accessibility Guide. Find wheelchair friendly venues or check out disabled access and facilities.
Library Databases – accessibility tips The Open University regularly check all their journal and other databases collections for accessibility and provide helpful tips for users which they are sharing with us. Please note that only the list and accessibility tips are available for you to view. The actual resources are only available to OU students. For access to our databases, go to MyUniHub > My Study > My Library > Databases
Library ebooks – accessibility tips The Open University regularly check all their ebook collections for accessibility and provide helpful tips for users which they are sharing with us. Please note that only the list and accessibility tips are available for you to view. The actual resources are only available to OU students. For access to our ebooks, go to MyUniHub > My Study > My Library > Library Search

Report it to stop it

Report it to stop it advice pages It's important we respond and stop discrimination, bullying, harassment, intimidation, violence or any other form of hate. These pages tell you what you can do.

Ebook user and accessibility guides

Kortext Student Help Centre
Kortext personal etextbooks accessibility How to use the accessibility features in your Kortext Personal etextbooks.
Ebook Central accessibility How to use the accessibility features in Ebook Central (from Proquest) library ebooks.
VLE ebooks accessibility How to use the accessibility features in VLE library ebooks.
Adobe, Read and Write Gold and computer accessibility Information on the accessibility features provided in Adobe Reader for reading PDFs from ebooks, using Read and Write Gold with ebooks and PC, Mac and Browser features which may also help.

Make documents accessible

RNIB Bookshare You will be set up as a member if you are assessed as needing access. RNIB Bookshare UK education collection provides textbooks and materials to support the UK curriculum. They offer a range of accessible formats that can be read electronically or adapted to suit the personal reading needs of learners.

Convert docs to accessible formats SensusAccess is a self-service, cloud-based system which allows you to convert files, images, webpages or free text, into an alternative, accessible format for personal use. You can convert most types of files into an alternative format, including a PDF image file into an accessible PDF, and also combine several files into a single file.

Easy Reader app EasyReader for iOS, Android, Windows and Amazon are free and accessible reading apps, specifically designed for students with print impairments. Direct access to the most popular accessible textbook libraries including RNIB Bookshare (UK).
DCS Advanced Student Reader Advice on how to use the Digital Content Store reader for digitised content on our reading lists.

Your librarians

Your Liaison Librarians Your librarian who supports everyone studying your subject.
Ask a Librarian Not sure about something? Ask us and we'll help.