Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding journal articles in databases
- Databases are collections of publications such as journal articles. They are current and contain the latest research on a topic.
- Full-text databases provide direct access to the complete article.
- Library Search searches all the databases we subscribe to at Middlesex University.
- You can search the databases separately if you wish, details of relevant resources for games design are below:
ACM Digital Library Description: Database of papers published and marketed by the ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) including journal and newsletter articles, and conference proceedings; plus citations/abstracts to material from other publishers.
Subject Scope: All areas of computing science.
Date Range: 60 years of ACM archives
Full Text: Yes for ACM publications
Art Full Text Description: Also includes Art Abstracts and contains bibliographic references and abstracts of articles from 280 periodicals - journals, yearbooks and museum bulletins. Subject coverage spans all aspects of art, from visual to performing arts, and ranges from Archaeology to Television and Video. Art Abstracts currently has 400,000 records and is updated monthly. It indexes periodicals from 1984, and includes abstracts from 1994 onwards.
Business Source Complete Description: Business Source Complete is our most comprehensive business database with content from peer reviewed (scholarly) journal and magazine articles. Most articles are full text. Business reports with industry, company and country profiles are also included.
Computer Source Description: Searchable database of c750 publications (mostly journals), providing access to the latest information and current trends in high technology including topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.
Subject Scope: All areas of computing and information science.
Date Range: Various dates, but full text information dates as far back as 1985.
Full Text: Full-text access to c300 publications. Citation/abstract only for c450 publications.
Global Newsstream Features full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
IEEE Xplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)) Description: Access to quality technical literature from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines and conference proceedings, IET journals and conference proceedings, and IEEE published standards.
Subject Scope: Electrical engineering, computing science and electronics.
Date Range: Mainly from 1988 onwards, with some select content published since 1893.
Full Text: Yes
JSTOR Description: Archive of journals
Subject Scope: Language and literature, mathematics, statistics, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture.
Please note: Middlesex University Library does not subscribe to the whole of JSTOR but only to the "Arts & Sciences III" and "Mathematics and Statistics" collections.
Accessing E Resources
To access the online / electronic resources (e-books, e-journals, databases etc) suggested in this guide, you first need to sign into myUniHub
Follow these steps:
UniHub > myUniHub > My Study > My Library
Keeping up to date: Journal content alerts
The British Library's current awareness service, Zetoc Alert, automatically sends you emails listing the table of contents from particular journals, you can also be sent alerts on articles that match searches for authors names or keywords from article titles. This is particularly useful if you are doing MA and PhD research.
Problems accessing our electronic resources
Sometimes you may experience problems accessing our electronic resources.
Have a look at our troubleshooting guide for help.