My Subject: Media: Audio visual resources

Image Resources

It is important to use good quality images in your work. This means not only high resolution but good provenance. This refers to the source of the image. Is there accurate, authoritative information about the object? For example:

Who is the creator?
When was it made?
Where can it be found?
What is it made of?

Instagram and Pinterest have lots of images, but information about the pictures is often very sketchy. Try to use good quality books, museums, galleries and archives or their websites.

These are links to some good quality sources of images:

ARTSTOR A digital library of high-resolution images and related data in the visual arts, architecture, and the humanities.
Artcyclopedia Artcyclopedia is a basic database that can be searched by artist name, title of work, or museum name. Results include links to museums and art image galleries, image archives, other web sites, and articles.
Europeana Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.
Google Arts & Culture Google Arts & Culture features content from over 2000 leading museums and archives who have partnered with the Google Cultural Institute.
The Guardian in pictures Photographic features and essays from The Guardian newspaper.
Getty Images American visual media company and supplier of stock images, editorial photography, video, and music for business and consumers, with a library of over 477 million assets. It targets three markets—creative professionals, the media, and corporate.

History of Advertising Trust HAT was founded in 1976 as an archive to the advertising industry and has since grown to embrace all forms of brand communication. It holds an impressive range of material – from industry collections such as Ogilvy & Mather, JWT, The Advertising Association and the Institute of Practitioners in Advertising, through to iconic British brand archives such as Butlin’s, Hovis, Heinz and McVities.

Imperial War Museum: photographs Photographs documenting the causes and consequences of war from IWM.
Kyoto Costume Institute KCI has a digital archive searchable by date
Look & Learn History Picture Archive Register to use over 800,000 free historical pictures and photos. Many also available to purchase.
Marks & Spencer Archive
The Met The Met has thousands of quality images of its collection online
The Museum at FIT The Fashion Institute of Technology also has searchable collections
Museum of Domestic Design & Architecture MoDA is part of Middlesex University and its website contains a wealth of images from collections including textiles, wallpapers, magazines and other domestic objects.
National Portrait Gallery: photographs Photographic collection from the National Portrait Gallery.

SubCulture Archives An educational & cultural research resource of primary sources exploring 100 years of youth culture through the scenes, styles, and sounds that forged them. From Rave, Punk, Rockabilly to Grime. Click “Log in via your University or Institution”,Scroll to “Middlesex University” and click the Select button,This displays the Middlesex University Sign In page where users sign in with their IT User ID and password.

Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Images RIBApix is owned by the Royal Institute of British Architects and is its image library for items from the RIBA Collections. All of the images are available to view, buy and download.
V& A Collections Search the V&A's amazing collections of fashion, textiles and accessories.
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) The online resource for visual arts - VADS is free for educational use and contains over 140,000 images.
Westminster Menswear Archive University of Westminster has an amazing archive which you can search online and also varrange to visit.
Yorkshire Fashion Archive

BBC Sound Effects

BBC Sound Effects
The BBC Sound Effects Archive is available for personal, educational or research purposes. There are over 33,000 clips from across the world from the past 100 years. These include clips made by the BBC Radiophonic workshop, recordings from the Blitz in London, special effects made for BBC TV and Radio productions, as well as 15,000 recordings from the Natural History Unit archive. You can explore sounds from every continent - from the college bells ringing in Oxford to a Patagonian waterfall - or listen to a submarine klaxon or the sound of a 1969 Ford Cortina door slamming shut.
As well as browsing and searching through this treasure trove of sounds, you can also make and share your own mixes and soundscapes using the ‘mixer mode’ function. Use the mixer to layer, edit and re-order clips from the archive to create your own sounds.