My Subject: Researchers: Other referencing software

Other reference management software

Only RefWorks is supported by Middlesex University, so if you haven't decided what to use, please look at RefWorks first. Alternatives are:

Endnote web via Web of Science Endnote is a well known alternative to RefWorks used at other universities. If you wish to have access you can use a free cut down version via Web of Science which is available via our Databases list at this link.
Mendeley Free reference manager and academic social network. Make your own fully-searchable library in seconds, cite as you write, and read and annotate your PDFs on any device.
Zotero Free Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. An online workshop on Zotero is available at: http://sites.google.com/site/zoteroworkshopsite/Home
Oxford University: Comparison of referencing software Oxford University have compiled this table of all the different reference management systems available, showing the key features and pluses and minuses of each system. If you are thinking about buying your own copy you will find this useful .

LaTex and BibTeX

If you are in Computer Science and using LaTex for writing, you can set export references from Library Search using the BibTeX button and from Google Scholar if in Settings you set Bibliography Manager to BibTeX.

In LaTex, if you are using the IEEE numerical referncing style, check the following to make sure this is set correctly:

To ensure you are using IEEE numerical reference style include the command to control your bibliography style before you include the bibliography. The bibliography style for number referencing is "plain". So the resulting text is as follows:

\bibliographystyle{plain}

\bibliography{path/filename}

where 'path' is the path of the file, and 'filename' is the filename of the '.bib' file.