The Illustrated Book Collection
This contains a wide range of historical and contemporary illustrated books, for children and adults. It is a reference collection which on open access in the Basement, Sheppard Library and is arranged in an alphabetical sequence by illustrator. The books can be searched for on the library catalogue. Click here for more information on the Illustrated Book Collection.
MoDA holds wallpaper and textile samples, designs, books, journals and ephemera. You can browse the collections from their website at www.moda.mdx.ac.uk or ring 020 8411 5445 to arrange a study room appointment. MoDA is part of Middlesex University and is located a short walk from the Hendon campus at:
9 Boulevard Drive
A printable map is available online
Download the free Middlesex app on your android/ iphone and select "Library Locator" for the MoDA location map.
This home page gives an overview of the special collections available in the Sheppard Library and at MoDA (Museum of Domestic Design & Architecture). You can click on the tabs above or links below to get more information.
The collections included are:
Hornsey College of Art Archive
Illustrated Books Collection
John Lansdown Archive
Library of Historic Advertising
Middlesex Ephemera Collection
MoDA: Museum of Domestic Design & Architecture
Special Books Collection
The Special Books Collection is a small library of books which for reasons of age, rarity, fragility or special format are kept separately. The titles include many artists' books and the fashion publication Visionaire. Click here for more information about the Special Books Collection.
The Materials Room (Sheppard Library, Basement) is usually open from 11am to 4pm (Monday to Friday) during term-time. For access during vacations contact firstname.lastname@example.org or telephone 020 8411 5044.
The Sheppard Library holds an amazing collection of vintage and contemporary comics, showing a wide range of graphic styles. There are children's, underground publications sci-fi and manga, and many others. This collection is available in the Materials Room which is in the Basement of the Sheppard Library. The comics are a real inspiration for designers, illustrators and animators. The Materials Room is open from 10am to 4pm Monday to Friday during term-time).
Click here for more information about the Comics Collection.
This is a broad ranging collection of manufacturers' product samples.
Items include fabrics, glass, plastics, wire mesh, marble, paper, paint and laminates. The information is arranged in categories and items may be borrowed from this collection for two weeks.
Click here for more information about the Samples Collection.
The Fashion Collection is a collection of clothes, accessories, fabrics and haberdashery items from Victorian times to the 1970s. There is a basic catalogue to provide access to this collection, arranged in simple categories, "hats", "coats" or "1920s-1930s".
The Fashion Collection is held in the Materials Room (Sheppard Library, Basement). The Materials Room is usually open from 11am-4pm Monday to Friday during term-time. If you are unable to visit the room between these hours it may be possible to book an appointment by contacting email@example.com. Click here for more information about the Fashion Collection.