Skip to main content
Middlesex University LogoMy Subject

Special Collections: Home

Illustrated Books

The Illustrated Book Collection

This has a wide range of historical and contemporary illustrated books, for children and adults. It is available in the Basement of the Sheppard Library and is arranged by illustrator. The books can be searched for on the library catalogue. Click here for more information.

Museum of Design & Domestic Architecture (MoDA)

MoDA holds wallpaper and textile samples, designs, books, journals and ephemera.  You can browse the collections from their website at www.moda.mdx.ac.uk or ring 020 8411 5445 to arrange a study room appointment. MoDA is part of Middlesex University and is located a short walk from the Hendon campus at:

9 Boulevard Drive
Beaufort Park
Colindale
London
NW9 5HF

A printable map is available online

Comics Collection

The Sheppard Library holds an amazing collection of vintage and contemporary comics, showing a wide range of graphic styles.  There are children's, underground publications sci-fi and manga, and many others.  This collection is available in the Materials Room which is in the Basement of the Sheppard Library. 

Click here for more information about the Comics Collection.

Special Collections

This home page gives an overview of the special collections available in the Sheppard Library and at MoDA (Museum of Domestic Design & Architecture).  You can click on the tabs above or links below to get more information.

The collections included are:

Comics Collection
Fashion Collection
Ephemera Collection
Hornsey College of Art Archive
Illustrated Books Collection
John Lansdown Archive
Library of Historic Advertising
Middlesex Ephemera Collection
MoDA: Museum of Domestic Design & Architecture
Samples Collection
Special Books Collection

Special Books Collection

The Special Books Collection is a small library of books which for reasons of age, rarity, fragility or special format are kept separately.  The titles include many artists' books and the fashion publication Visionaire. Click here for more information about the Special Books Collection.

John Lansdown Archive

Professor John Lansdown (1929-1999) was a pioneer in the field of computer art and computer-aided design, particularly in the 1960s and 1970s. Middlesex University now holds Professor Lansdown's archive, click here for further information.


Image credit

 

Samples Collection

This is a broad ranging collection of manufacturers' product samples.

Items include fabrics, glass, plastics, wire mesh, marble, paper, paint and laminates. The information is arranged in categories and items may be borrowed from this collection for two weeks.

Click here for more information about the Samples Collection.

Access to the Materials Room

The Materials Room (Sheppard Library, Basement) is usually open from 11am to 4pm (Monday to Friday) during term-time.  For access during vacations contact m.syratt-barnes@mdx.ac.uk or telephone 020 8411 5044.
Key image

Fashion Collection

The Fashion Collection is a collection of clothes, accessories, fabrics and haberdashery items from Victorian times to the present day.

The Collection is kept in the Materials Room  (Sheppard Library, Basement) and is usually open from 11am-4pm Monday to Friday during term-time.  If you can't visit the room between these hours you may be able to book an appointment by contacting m.syratt-barnes@mdx.ac.uk. Click here for more information about the Fashion Collection.