My Subject: Police Degree Programmes: Disability, health and wellbeing support

Applying for disability support

Disability & Dyslexia Service
Click the link above to go to MyMDX, then Support, Wellbeing and Services > Disability

DDS provides information, advice and guidance on a wide range of conditions and access to support. If you have a disability, health condition or learning difference, contact the team to discuss how the University can support you through adjustments to your learning experience.

Disability and Dyslexia Service questionnaire
To give DDS information to speed up your request for support, please use this questionnaire. If you prefer you can email.

To contact our Disability and Dyslexia Service please complete the questionnaire above or email disability@mdx.ac.uk

Counselling, mental health and wellbeing

Counselling and Mental Health
Go to MyMDX, then Support, Wellbeing and Services > Counselling
more...less...
The Counselling & Mental Health team provide mental wellbeing support and a confidential individual counselling service to help you manage any challenges affecting you emotionally or psychologically that you might face while you study with us.
Counselling and Mental Health referral form The Triage appointment takes place on the phone and usually lasts up to 45 minutes. Please know that in order to access our individual services you must be an active enrolled student living in the UK and registered with GP/Doctor.
Counselling and Mental Health OneOff Appointments OneOff appointments are one-off individual consultations with a member of the team to help you address and manage a specific situation, emotional crisis, overwhelming problem-solving, and similar issues. Waiting time is usually 1-3 working days, these appointments are available online (telephone/Zoom) or in-person, according to your preference and availability of the staff. You must be registered to a UK GP in order to refer yourself.
Support and wellbeing for all students
Go to MyMDX, then click 'Support, Wellbeing and Services' for further information

Practical issues

Library Support for Disabled Students
Click the link above to go to MyMDX, then Library (in the Study tile) > Library Support for Disabled Students

Here you will find information about:

Physical access to Sheppard Library
Assistive TechnologyRead and Write Gold Mindview 5 SensusAccess Microsoft Ease of Access Centre on PCs Mac accessibilty features.
Software how to guidesVideo guides for Read and Write Gold Mindview Dragon Audio Notetaker Windows accessibillty features Mac accessibility features
Equipment in the LibraryHeight adjustable desks Laptops for loan Digital voice/audio recorder: 3 Ergonomic keyboards: High vis/Large print keyboards: 3 Ergonomic mice: Trackball mice: 3 Ergonomic chair 1 Writing slopes: 2 Document holders/bookrests: 1 Coloured overlays & reader ruler: 2 sets Magnifying sheets: 3 Daylight table lamps: 3 Wrist supports: 3 Laptop/ipad stands: 2
Extended LoansOnce you have registered with DDS your library account will be set up with extended loans e.g. 7 day loans extended to 14 days
Accessible copies of books and journals

RNIB Bookshare You will be set up as a member if you are assessed as needing access. RNIB Bookshare UK education collection provides textbooks and materials to support the UK curriculum. They offer a range of accessible formats that can be read electronically or adapted to suit the personal reading needs of learners.
Easy Reader app EasyReader for iOS, Android, Windows and Amazon are free and accessible reading apps, specifically designed for students with print impairments. Direct access to the most popular accessible textbook libraries including RNIB Bookshare (UK).
Car parking on campus
Go to MyMDX and search 'car parking' for how to apply for car parking for blue badge holders and others.
Ebook Central accessibility How to use the accessibility features in Ebook Central (from Proquest) library ebooks.
VLE ebooks accessibility How to use the accessibility features in VLE library ebooks.
Kortext personal etextbooks accessibility How to use the accessibility features in your Kortext Personal etextbooks.
Adobe, Read and Write Gold and computer accessibility Information on the accessibility features provided in Adobe Reader for reading PDFs from ebooks, using Read and Write Gold with ebooks and PC, Mac and Browser features which may also help.
DCS Advanced Student Reader Advice on how to use the Digital Content Store reader for digitised content on our reading lists.

External organisations and help

RNIB technology resource hub Technology for home assistance. Phones, apps, tablets and desktop computers. Entertainment, TV and talking books Braille, screen readers, magnifiers, smart glasses and head cameras.
ATbar ATbar is a free toolbar that enables the user to change the look and feel of web pages, increase and decrease font sizes, have text read aloud, use coloured overlays, enable readability and provide a dictionary to aid reading.
AbilityNet AbilityNet helps people of any age and with any disability to use technology by providing specialist advice services and free information resources.
AccessAble An Accessibility Guide. Find wheelchair friendly venues or check out disabled access and facilities.
Library Databases – accessibility tips The Open University regularly check all their journal and other databases collections for accessibility and provide helpful tips for users which they are sharing with us. Please note that only the list and accessibility tips are available for you to view. The actual resources are only available to OU students. For access to our databases, go to MyUniHub > My Study > My Library > Databases
Library ebooks – accessibility tips The Open University regularly check all their ebook collections for accessibility and provide helpful tips for users which they are sharing with us. Please note that only the list and accessibility tips are available for you to view. The actual resources are only available to OU students. For access to our ebooks, go to MyUniHub > My Study > My Library > Library Search

Report it to stop it

Report it to stop it advice pages
Go to MyMDX and search 'Report it to Stop it'

It's important we respond and stop discrimination, bullying, harassment, intimidation, violence or any other form of hate. These pages tell you what you can do.

Ebook user and accessibility guides

Kortext Student Help Centre
Kortext personal etextbooks accessibility How to use the accessibility features in your Kortext Personal etextbooks.
Ebook Central accessibility How to use the accessibility features in Ebook Central (from Proquest) library ebooks.
VLE ebooks accessibility How to use the accessibility features in VLE library ebooks.
Adobe, Read and Write Gold and computer accessibility Information on the accessibility features provided in Adobe Reader for reading PDFs from ebooks, using Read and Write Gold with ebooks and PC, Mac and Browser features which may also help.

Make documents accessible

RNIB Bookshare You will be set up as a member if you are assessed as needing access. RNIB Bookshare UK education collection provides textbooks and materials to support the UK curriculum. They offer a range of accessible formats that can be read electronically or adapted to suit the personal reading needs of learners.

Sensus Access - convert documents to accessible formats
Go to MyMDX and search 'Sensus Access'

SensusAccess is a system which allows you to convert files, images, webpages or text into an alternative, accessible format for personal use.

You can convert most types of files into an alternative format, including a PDF image file into an accessible PDF, and also combine several files into a single file.

Easy Reader app EasyReader for iOS, Android, Windows and Amazon are free and accessible reading apps, specifically designed for students with print impairments. Direct access to the most popular accessible textbook libraries including RNIB Bookshare (UK).
DCS Advanced Student Reader Advice on how to use the Digital Content Store reader for digitised content on our reading lists.

Your librarians

Your Liaison Librarians Your librarian who supports everyone studying your subject.
Ask a Librarian Not sure about something? Ask us and we'll help.