Skip to Main Content
Searching the Internet effectively
Gateways and Collections
Archives Hub
The Archives Hub provides a gateway to thousands of the UK’s richest archives. Representing over 220 institutions across the country, the Archives Hub is an effective way to discover unique and often little-known sources to support your research.
Cogprints: Cognitive Sciemce Electronic Archive
CogPrints is an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Scienceincluding artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks.
CORR: Computing Research Repository
CoRR aims to enhance the rapid dissemination of research results, and provide a permanent repository for computing research papers. It was established in 1998 through a partnership of ACM, the Los Alamos e-Print archive, and NCSTRL (Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library).
HCI Bibliography
A free-access bibliography on Human-Computer Interaction.
IEEE TV
IEEE.tv Public Access is free to the general public, and made possible by IEEE members and select industry-sponsors.
OAlster
OAIster is a union catalog of digital resources. Digital resources include items such as: digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies and datasets.
Open Directory Project
The Open Directory Project is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited free directory of the Web. It is constructed and maintained by a vast, global community of volunteer editors.
ProjectSmart
The website provides free high-quality, ethical content in an accessible form, while encouraging an open discussion. Website content and functionality is constantly improving, providing access to the latest project management thinking from a large group of subject matter experts.
Organisations and Associations
ACM Special Interest Groups
Representing virtually every major area of computing, ACM's Special Interest Groups offer a wealth of conferences, publications, and activities on the local-to-global scale, providing unlimited opportunities for sharing technical expertise and first-hand knowledge of the latest development trends.
Association for Computer Machinery (ACM)
ACM, the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession. ACM provides the computing field's premier Digital Library and serves its members and the computing profession with leading-edge publications, conferences, and career resources.
British Computer Society
BCS is the leading professional body for those working in IT. We have over 68,000 members in more than 100 countries and are the qualifying body for Chartered IT Professionals (CITP). We are also an international awarding body for a wide range of qualifications for both users of IT and IT specialists.
CIO
CIO provides technology and business leaders with insight and analysis on information technology trends and a keen understanding of IT's role in achieving business goals.
IET
The IET aims to inform and influence the global engineering community. UK organisation.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
IEEE is the world's largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through IEEE's highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities.
The Society for Computers and Law
The Society for Computers and Law is the leading UK organisation for legal professionals advising and practising within the IT sector. SCL is the community for lawyers who understand IT and the related legal and business practice issues and provides thought leadership, best practice, education and standards in these areas.
