Security Studies: An introduction 4th edn. by Paul D. Williams (Editor); Matt McDonald (Editor)Security Studies: An Introduction, 4th edition, is the most comprehensive textbook available on the subject, providing students with in-depth coverage of traditional and critical approaches and an essential grounding in the debates, frameworks, and issues of the contemporary security agenda. This new edition has been completely revised and updated, to cover major developments such as COVID-19, the rise of populism, climate change, China and Russia's place in the world, and the Trump administration. It also includes new chapters on great power rivalry, emerging technologies, and economic threats. Divided into four parts, the text provides students with a detailed, accessible overview of the major theoretical approaches, key themes, and most significant issues within security studies. Part 1 explores the main theoretical approaches from both traditional and critical standpoints Part 2 explains the central concepts underpinning contemporary debates Part 3 presents an overview of the institutional security architecture Part 4 examines some of the key contemporary challenges to global security Collecting these related strands into a single textbook creates a valuable teaching tool and a comprehensive, accessible learning resource for undergraduates and MA students.
The Security Risk Handbook by Charles SwansonThere is a gap in provision of official guidelines and standards for security professionals. This is the first book that provides harmonized guidance on security assessment, survey and audit. Packed full of practical tools and guides for implementation. The book can be used across a number of different and key sectors, including aviation, maritime, corporate security, retail security, critical national infrastructure security.
Publication Date: 2023
Software Security by Suhel Ahmad Khan; Rajeev Kumar; R. A. KhanSoftware Security: Concepts & Practices is designed as a textbook and explores fundamental security theories that govern common software security technical issues. It focuses on the practical programming materials that will teach readers how to implement security solutions using the most popular software packages. It's not limited to any specific cybersecurity subtopics and the chapters touch upon a wide range of cybersecurity domains, ranging from malware to biometrics and more. Features The book presents the implementation of a unique socio-technical solution for real-time cybersecurity awareness. It provides comprehensible knowledge about security, risk, protection, estimation, knowledge and governance. Various emerging standards, models, metrics, continuous updates and tools are described to understand security principals and mitigation mechanism for higher security. The book also explores common vulnerabilities plaguing today's web applications. The book is aimed primarily at advanced undergraduates and graduates studying computer science, artificial intelligence and information technology. Researchers and professionals will also find this book useful.
SPSS Statistics Workbook for Dummies by Jesus Salcedo; Keith McCormickPractice making sense of data with IBM's SPSS Statistics software SPSS Statistics Workbook For Dummies gives you the practice you need to navigate the leading statistical software suite. Data management and analysis, advanced analytics, business intelligence--SPSS is a powerhouse of a research platform, and this book helps you master the fundamentals and analyze data more effectively. You'll work through practice problems that help you understand the calculations you need to perform, complete predictive analyses, and produce informative graphs. This workbook gives you hands-on exercises to hone your statistical analysis skills with SPSS Statistics 28. Plus, explanations and insider tips help you navigate the software with ease. Practical and easy-to-understand, in classic Dummies style. Practice organizing, analyzing, and graphing data Learn to write, edit, and format SPSS syntax Explore the upgrades and features new to SPSS 28 Try your hand at advanced data analysis procedures For academics using SPSS for research, business analysts and market researchers looking to extract valuable insights from data, and anyone with a hankering for more stats practice.
The SAGE Handbook of Human-Machine Communication by Andrea L. Guzman (Editor); Rhonda McEwen (Editor); Steven Jones (Editor)The SAGE Handbook of Human-Machine Communication has been designed to serve as the touchstone text for researchers and scholars engaging in new research in this fast-developing field. Chapters provide a comprehensive grounding of the history, methods, debates and theories that contribute to the study of human-machine communication. Further to this, the Handbook provides a point of departure for theorizing interactions between people and technologies that are functioning in the role of communicators, and for considering the theoretical and methodological implications of machines performing traditionally 'human' roles. This makes the Handbook the first of its kind, and a valuable resource for students and scholars across areas such as communication, media and information studies, and computer science, as well as for practitioners, engineers and researchers interested in the foundational elements of this emerging field. Part 1: Histories and Trajectories Part 2: Approaches and Methods Part 3: Concepts and Contexts Part 4: Technologies and Applications