Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases allow you to search for material including articles, conference proceedings and books. Some, but not all, databases provide links to the full text of articles, where the university has a subscription to that title.
CIAO A wide range of scholarship including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Date Range: 1991 to present
Heinonline - Law Journal Library Description: Database of law and law-related issues including articles, comments, notes,book reviews,cases and decisions. Covers more than 90 subject areas published in 29 countries. Also an image-based database providing exact page images as they originally appear in hardcopy
Subject Scope: Legal journals and pre 1865 case reports(The English Reports)
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences IBSS includes over 2 million references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters for the social sciences dating from 1951 onwards. Links to full text where available.
Global Newsstream Proquest Newsstand allows the user to search and retrieve full text articles from a number of UK newspapers. 1986 onwards.
JustisOne Description: JustCite is an online legal research platform that helps you find leading authorities and establish the current status of the law. It helps you identify the leading case, marks up the specific effects of cases, so you know whether those cases are still "good law", shows you how legislation has been amended and applied in court and provides seamless links through to the full-text material in other systems, including Lexis Library and Westlaw.
Lexis Library Formally known as Lexis Nexis. Contains full text law reports and legislation. Date Range: UK case law since 1865. Journal coverage varies depending on publishers. US case law(State and Federal)-dates vary. Large collection of full text US law reviews/journals-again dates vary.
APA PsycINFO PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations.
Full breadth of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Date Range: 1806 to present
Sage Journals Online A database of full text articles published by Sage in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Full text availability to their criminology collection from volume 1. Full text for other titles from 1999 onwards.
Social Care Online (Open Access Resource) Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) free database of social care information. Includes research briefings, reports, government documents, journal articles, and websites. Focus is on social work but relevant to related subject areas, such as research into youths and gangs.
Web of Science Web of Science fully indexes the core journals in its subject area including cited references, making it possible to search for cited authors or works. Coverage extends back to 1981 and it is updated weekly.
Westlaw Database of full text law reports, legislation and many full text journals from the UK, Europe , the United States and many jurisdictions.
Date Range: UK cases begin with 1865 and EU cases 1954. UK case law Official Transcripts begin with 1955. Commentary is the current edition.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
Literature search planning worksheet
Before you start your literature search use the worksheet below to plan your search strategy. A 'completed' version is included to show how the worksheet is used.
Planning your literature search in this way should help you work in a more systematic way and will provide you with a record of what you have done for when you write up your research methods.
A simplified version (Keywords: Improving your search) can be used to help you come up with search terms.