My Subject: Criminology: Useful Databases

Useful Databases

These databases allow you to search for material including articles, conference proceedings and books. Some, but not all, databases provide links to the full text of articles, where the university has a subscription to that title.

CIAO This link opens in a new window A wide range of scholarship including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. Date Range: 1991 to present Full Text
ESO (European Sources Online) This link opens in a new window Description: Information on institutions, policies and activities relating to the European Union. Provides commentaries, analysis ,summaries, news of interest to students, researchers, NGO's, corporate and professional organisations. Subject Scope: Law, Politics, International Development, Business Date Range: Current Full Text: Yes
Heinonline - Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window Description: Database of law and law-related issues including articles, comments, notes,book reviews,cases and decisions. Covers more than 90 subject areas published in 29 countries. Also an image-based database providing exact page images as they originally appear in hardcopy Subject Scope: Legal journals and pre 1865 case reports(The English Reports)
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window IBSS includes over 2 million references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters for the social sciences dating from 1951 onwards. Links to full text where available.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Proquest Newsstand allows the user to search and retrieve full text articles from a number of UK newspapers. 1986 onwards.
JustisOne, now vLexJustis This link opens in a new window JustisOne has changed to vLexJustis from 1st June 2021. If you still wish to use JustisOne, you can use this link: http://ezproxy.mdx.ac.uk/login?url=https://app.justis.com/ This access will be withdrawn soon, given the move to the new product. Please update your links.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window Formally known as Lexis Nexis. Contains full text law reports and legislation. Date Range: UK case law since 1865. Journal coverage varies depending on publishers. US case law(State and Federal)-dates vary. Large collection of full text US law reviews/journals-again dates vary.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. Full breadth of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Date Range: 1806 to present
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window A database of full text articles published by Sage in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Full text availability to their criminology collection from volume 1. Full text for other titles from 1999 onwards.
Social Care Online (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) free database of social care information. Includes research briefings, reports, government documents, journal articles, and websites. Focus is on social work but relevant to related subject areas, such as research into youths and gangs.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window Description: Searches the articles within 2,474 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines. Subject Scope: Sociology, Criminology, Substance Abuse, Urban Studies, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public Health, Social Policy, Social Work, Women's Studies, Anthropology, History, Industrial Relations, Law, Philosophy. Date Range: 1970 onwards
Statista This link opens in a new window An extensive collection of statistics, reports and insights.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science fully indexes the core journals in its subject area including cited references, making it possible to search for cited authors or works. Coverage extends back to 1981 and it is updated weekly.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window Database of full text law reports, legislation and many full text journals from the UK, Europe , the United States and many jurisdictions. Date Range: UK cases begin with 1865 and EU cases 1954. UK case law Official Transcripts begin with 1955. Commentary is the current edition.

News Databases

Use these databases to search for print or broadcast media. May be useful for assignments and dissertations using content analysis

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Features full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Lexis+ UK Newspapers This link opens in a new window
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) This link opens in a new window
The first time you use this you will have to sign in with your Middlesex email address.

Description: BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service we subscribe to. BoB enables all staff and students to choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels from the last 30 days plus access to BBC TV and radio Archive going back to 2007.

News Sources

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online If you need a quick summary of a topic or a definition please use Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology online, making sure you have logged in first.

Library Search: Finding journal articles

Images

Use these sites to search for copyright free or creative commons licensed images you can use in presentations

Open Access Search Engines

BASE This link opens in a new window Description: BASE searches university repositories worldwide and currently covers some 64,000,000 papers. It is useful for searching for Open Access copies of papers which we do not subscribe to. Subject Scope: Covering all academic subject areas Date Range: N/A Full Text: Yes
CORE (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window Open Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. CORE (COnnecting REpositories) aims to facilitate free access to scholarly publications distributed across many systems. CORE gives you access to millions of scholarly articles aggregated from many Open Access repositories.
Google Scholar (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window Open Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses and books, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.