Why Are Study Skills So Important?
Effective study habits are not inherited; they are learned.
Study skills or strategies are important for a variety of reasons. Study skills are critical to your success at university. They:
Study skills and strategies use an array of methods to help tackle your process of organising and taking in new information, retaining information, or dealing with assessments (assignments, tests and exams). For more specific resources and information, review each specific tab related to study skills.
Developing work and study skills by 
The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook by 
The Literature Review by
Provides a step-by-step guide to conducting a literature search and literature review, using cases and examples throughout to demonstrate best practice. Ridley outlines practical strategies for conducting a systematic search of the available literature, reading and note taking and writing up your literature review as part of an undergraduate research project, Masters dissertation or PhD thesis.
Developing and applying study skills : writing assignments, dissertations and management reports by
This text is a practical guide to help students prepare for, work on and complete assignments, dissertations and management reports, how to gain these skills, and when and how to apply them. Suitable for students on any business, HRM or professional programme, including the CIPD qualification, the text takes a straightforward, hands-on approach which students can use as an ongoing tool to help their study and to support them when doing coursework. It also offers guidance on getting the best from lectures, tutorials, seminars, structured learning sessions and group work. Appropriate exercises, case studies and self-test questions are provided throughout the text to encourage students to increase their experience of tackling organisation-based problems, helping them to achieve success with their project.
The Student's Guide to Writing by
Aimed at students wishing to improve their writing skills, this guide deals with the key basics of grammar, punctuation and spelling while also showing students how to construct a sentence, how to build a paragraph and how to structure an essay. This third edition includes an expanded 'Spot the Mistake' section.
Read, Research and Write by
This book is for students who have learned English as a second (or third, or forth) language and are studying at an institution where English is the medium of instruction. Each of the book's 10 chapters focuses on a reproduced academic article on an aspect of English for academic purposes. Therefore, students can learn about language skills from the articles themselves, as well as develop those skills in the activities and tasks which follow.
How to Use Your Reading in Your Essays by
How can you use other people's work and still be original? How much of your essay should be about what you read? How do you make clear the difference between your own ideas and those that have come from your reading? What words and phrases should you use to introduce and comment on your sources? The fully updated and revised edition of this popular book answers these questions, and takes you through the complete process of using your reading in your writing. It also: uses real texts and examples of real student writing, gives you nearly 300 key words to use when integrating sources into your work and practice in using them accurately, looks at common mistakes students make to help you to improve your own correction skills and avoid making the same mistakes yourself How to Use your Reading in your Essays equips you with all the information, practice and confidence you need to use your reading effectively in your writing and to get the best marks possible for your work.
Writing at University by
Writing at University offers guidance on how to develop the writing you have to do at university along with a greater understanding of what is involved in this complex activity. Writing is seen as a tool for learning as well as a product to be assessed. The book looks at an array of writing projects, including essays, reports and dissertations, and analyzes what is expected of each form of assignment.
Write It Right by
Shows students how to make their writing effective and grammatically correct. Organised into mini units and easy to read, it deals with everyday tasks and problems. This second edition adds further guidance on common questions raised by students, for example 'When does one use italics and/or underlining?'
Essay Writing by
Essay Writing offers both staff and students a solid reference for one of the main methods used for assessing knowledge and understanding - the written essay. In contextualizing essay writing within the larger university experience - communication, the academic culture, different learning styles and approaches and learning and teaching at university, this book helps students to study more independently, learn more meaningfully and to write first-class essays.
Critical Reading and Writing by
Critical Reading and Writing in the Digital Ageis a fully introductory, interactive textbook that explores the power relations at work in and behind the texts we encounter in our everyday lives. Using examples from numerous genres - such as fiction, poetry, advertisements and newspapers - this textbook examines the language choices a writer must make in structuring texts, representing the world and positioning the reader.
Writing for Academic Success by
If you seek to manage your writing effectively, reduce stress, and improve your confidence and efficiency, this book is for you. The authors show you how to acquire communicative rigor in research essays, reports, book and article reviews, exam papers, research proposals, and literature reviews, through to thesis writing, posters and papers for presentation and publication. The authors provide insightful new material about how to work productively in different online contexts such as with blogs and wikis, setting up an e-portfolio, and raising an online profile. They also set out a focused guide to issues unique to digital communication, and working with and across different media and technologies. The book includes advice on common writing concerns, cross-cultural and inter-disciplinary practices, a list of helpful words and phrases, and subject-specific examples of writing ranging from economics to philosophy to medicine.
Academic writing course : study skills in English by
Specially designed for students starting a tertiary level course in higher education, this book addresses all aspects of academic writing, from the details of accurate grammatical construction, pronunciation and spelling to appropriate style choices. Ten appendices form a bank of useful material, cross-referenced from the main units. A glossary of examination and essay terms and an extensive key are also included.
Dissertations and Project Reports by
Stella Cottrell, takes you step-by-step through the key stages of planning, developing, researching and writing up your dissertation or project report. Whether you are an undergraduate or a postgraduate, this guide: offers comprehensive coverage of the major components essential to producing strong dissertations and project reports, gives unique emphasis to the importance of project management skills, gets you involved through interactive activities, checklists and engaging student examples. Most importantly, it offers the support you need at every stage and will help ensure that the creation of your academic masterpiece is an enjoyable and rewarding experience.
How to Write Better Essays by
Addressing each landmark stage of the essay writing process, How to Write Better Essays teaches you how to... * analyse the question and break down difficult terms and concepts * brainstorm effectively and generate your own ideas * evaluate and criticise arguments * express your thoughts coherently and develop your own style of writing * plan and structure your essay from introduction to conclusion ... and along the way, practical techniques show how to analyse, criticise, discuss and evaluate material, improve your style, revise your final draft and avoid plagiarism. The third edition of this bestselling book includes new chapters on critical thinking, tackling reflective writing assignments, and how to create and analyse concepts. It also features a new companion website providing annotated essays to illustrate the successful outcome of the methods you learn in the book, exercises to develop critical thinking skills, and additional examples of how to analyse concepts. For every student who needs to write essays, from whatever discipline, this book is a constant source of the help and inspiration you need to tackle your essays with confidence.
Writing by
Writing gives you the skills and strategies you need to write well-structured essays, reports and case studies and achieve academic success at university
How to Write a Lot by
All academics need to write, but many struggle to finish their dissertations, articles, books, or grant proposals. Writing is hard work and can be difficult to wedge into a frenetic academic schedule. How can we write it all while still having a life? In this second edition of his popular guidebook, Paul Silvia offers fresh advice to help you overcome barriers to writing and use your time more productively. After addressing some common excuses and bad habits, he provides practical strategies to motivate students, professors, researchers, and other academics to become better and more prolific writers. Silvia draws from his own experience in psychology to explain how to write, submit, and revise academic work, from journal articles to books, all without sacrificing evenings, weekends, and vacations. The tips and strategies in this second edition have been updated to apply to academic writing in most disciplines. Also new to this edition is a chapter on writing grant and fellowship proposals.
Good Essay Writing by
Writing good essays is one of the most challenging aspects of studying in the social sciences. This simple guide provides you with proven approaches and techniques to help turn you into a well-oiled, essay writing machine. Good Essay Writing demonstrates how to think critically and formulate your argument as well as offering water-tight structuring tips, referencing advice, and a word on those all too familiar common worries-all brought to life through real student examples from a range of subjects. Now in its Fifth Edition, this fresh update contains: New essay examples are analysed and discussed, so you have a clear understanding of what makes a good essay A new chapter on essay writing skills and other forms of social science writing, helping you transfer the skills you learn to different types of written assessments A new Companion Website providing additional exercises and examples, helping you practice and apply the skills This practical guide is an absolute must for everybody wanting-or needing-to brush up on their essay writing skills and boost their grades. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
Cite Them Right by
All assignments need to include correct references: this book shows you how. Cite them right is the renowned guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism. It is an essential resource for every student and author, providing clear and comprehensive coverage of a crucial part of academic study.
Harvard referencing : student style guide by 
The complete guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism / by 
Online Database
How to Improve Your Critical Thinking and Reflective Skills by
New to the highly successful Smarter Study Skills series comes this essential guide to thinking and writing critically. This easy-to-use guide identifies and addresses the key areas where most students need help in developing and enhancing the critical thinking and writing skills that are crucial to successful academic study, and provides practical tips and solutions.
Critical Thinking Skills by
The second edition of this leading guide helps students to develop reflective thinking skills, improve their critical analysis and construct arguments more effectively. Written by Stella Cottrell, leader in the field with over one million book sales to date, this text breaks down a complex subject into easily understood blocks, providing easy-to-follow, step-by-step explanations and practice activities to develop understanding and practise your skills at each stage. Essential for students who are mystified by tutor comments such as 'more critical analysis needed', this is an invaluable tool for anyone wishing to develop advanced skills in this area and learn to apply them to tasks such as reading, writing and note-taking.
Critical Thinking by
We are frequently confronted with arguments. Arguments are attempts to persuade us - to influence our beliefs and actions - by giving us reasons to believe this or that. Critical Thinking: A Concise Guidewill equip students with the concepts and techniques used in the identification, analysis and assessment of arguments. Through precise and accessible discussion, this book provides the tools to become a successful critical thinker, one who can act and believe in accordance with good reasons, and who can articulate and make explicit those reasons.
Critical Reasoning by
We all engage in the process of reasoning, but we don't always pay attention to whether we are doing it well. This book offers the opportunity to practise reasoning in a clear-headed and critical way, with the aims of developing an awareness of the importance of reasoning well and of improving the reader's skill in analyzing and evaluating arguments.
P.O.W.E.R. learning : strategies for success in college and life by
The only first-year experience text with a unifying system for critical thinking and problem solving, "P.O.W.E.R. Learning" maximizes students' potential for success in college and in life. Using the simple, class-tested principles of the P.O.W.E.R (Prepare, Organize, Work, Evaluate, and Rethink) system, students gain a sense of mastery and achievement as they move through the text, and with the growth of their confidence comes the increased intellectual enthusiasm and personal discipline needed for them to excel.
Critical Thinking for Students by
Revised and updated for the third edition, this practical guide covers critical thinking skills for students.
The Exam Skills Handbook by
Provides an easy-to-follow set of strategies and techniques that build to a plan for achieving your best possible exam performance. It gives practical step-by-step guidance in long-term planning for optimal performance through to last minute revision strategies.
Exam Success by
Doing well in exams at university is crucial to gaining a good degree. This new guide will equip students with all the tools they need to optimise their performance in exams. Packed with examples and practical exercises, the book explains key strategies for learning and revision.
Passing Exams by
There is much more to exam success than just knowing the course material. Students need to know how to revise correctly, how to manage their time during the exam itself, and how to deal with the inevitable nerves and stress.The book is packed full of techniques that should help students to: understand what examiners are really looking for; use their revision time more effectively; improve their memory; make the most of their allotted time in an exam; write better essays; learn how to eliminate exam stress; and improve diet and lifestyle to boost energy levels.
Sail Through Exams! by
This lively, concise and to-the-point guide offers hints and practical suggestions to help you develop good exam-preparation skills and build your confidence, so that you can get results that do justice to the work you've put in.
Researching Online by
This book offers a clear and comprehensive introduction to the use of internet technology in research. It provides full accounts of the different ways in which online resources can help with research projects in any area of the social sciences or humanities along with useful hints and tips as to how you can make the internet work for you.
How to Find Information by
How do I find relevant information for my thesis, dissertation or report? How do I evaluate the relevance and quality of the information I find? How do I find the most up to date information in my subject area? Anyone setting out to research a topic, whether at undergraduate or postgraduate level, needs to find information to inform their work and support their arguments. This book enables researchers to become expert in finding, accessing and evaluating information for dissertations, projects or reports. The book works systematically through the information-seeking process, from planning the search to evaluating and managing the end results. It suggests how to do this efficiently and effectively whilst using a range of sources including online bibliographic databases and the internet.
Study Skills for Speakers of English As a Second Language by
Starting at any university is a major step in life. Students who speak English as a second language, studying in a new country, are taking an even bigger step. Based on interviews with international students and their teachers, this book offers straightforward advice on academic topics such as language use, as well as social topics and the culture of Western universities. It also contains a helpful mini-dictionary of university words, and so will be an ideal guide for any international student studying in an English-speaking university.
The International Student's Guide by
This book is intended for students from all language backgrounds other than English, attending or preparing to attend a university where the medium of instruction is English, particularly in the UK. The International Student's Guide helps you succeed at university, by sharing the experiences of many international students who have already attended a university in the UK. Every student is unique, with different abilities and needs. With this in mind, the authors provide you with practical information and help on a range of aspects of study. They focus on both spoken and written forms of communication, and deal with the approaches to thinking and learning which you will meet in higher education in the UK system.
A Student's Guide to Presentations by
This book gives readers a detailed guide to the preparation and delivery of both individual and group presentations. It will take them through all the practical stages necessary to complete a presentation and obtain excellent marks. The books includes: real life examples illustrating effective presentation techniques; helpful tips and illustrations throughout; a 10-step guide to preparing your presentation; tips on using PowerPoint; and a companion web site complete with a student resource center.
Presentation Skills for Students by
Presentation Skills for Studentsis a practical, accessible guide for all students in further or higher education. It discusses speaking effectively in seminars, tutorials and formal presentations and helps with career research including a practical step-by-step guide to a successful job interview. Regular checklists and the friendly down-to-earth style make this an ideal reference tool.
Develop Your Presentation Skills by
Going beyond handling nerves and presenting PowerPoint slides, Develop Your Presentation Skills, 2nd edition, provides you with a practical toolkit for developing a belting presentation and improving your confidence along the way. Step-by-step advice includes practical help with unpicking the original brief, understanding just what the audience wants and constructing compelling content that will keep your audience rapt with attention. Complete with anecdotes and expert input to help you avoid disaster, this new edition includes two brand new chapters, helping you to deliver a presentation 'stripped bare' and how to use new media to engage with your audience. Develop Your Presentation Skills, 2nd edition, will help you find your voice and use it with style; to inform, to persuade, to impress.
The Short Road to Great Presentations by
A practical, readable guide to delivering superior presentations Speakers bear the responsibility for communicating effectively with their audience: presenting a clear message, supporting it with well-structured explanations and examples, and delivering it with ease, grace, and good visuals. Unfortunately, this rarely happens, as anyone who has endured a substandard presentation knows only too well. The key for developing sound presentation skills need not, however, remain hidden. The Short Road to Great Presentations demystifies the art of public speaking as it shows you how to master the critical principles to make this skill an invaluable asset of your life and career. Drawing on twenty years of experience in helping engineers, scientists, and business people develop powerful communication skills, PERC Communications founders Peter and Cheryl Reimold present an easy-to-follow program for crafting winning presentations.
Presenting by
Teaches the skills necessary to plan, prepare, and deliver successful presentations at college Students who use this guide will learn to feel confident and relaxed when presenting in seminars or tutorials.
Presentation Skills by
Offering practical and constructive advice for students giving presentations, this book presents a detailed explanation of how to conduct a successful presentation and how to feel at ease with public speaking. The book includes: Real-life examples illustrating how to achieve an effective presentation Explains the importance of body language, voice control and the relationship with your audience Demonstrates an awareness of cross-cultural communication a thoroughly up-to-date analysis of new technologies as a medium through which to communicate. Written from a practical perspective, this text will be essential reading for both undergraduate and postgraduate students and researchers, together with students on professional and vocational courses. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Managing Information for Research by
This is a very engaging book on research that, unusually, covers the neglected but strategically important information and knowledge aspects of the research process, including writing, designing and dissemination. This book is fresh, interesting, fills a real gap in the research literature and the authors' passion for quality research is there for everyone to see.
How to Research by
How to Research is a practical book that reassures the first time researcher by leading them systematically through the whole research process; from the initial meetings with a supervisor to critically evaluating their ideas, doing the research and finally writing up the project. The book includes vignettes to help readers relate to research examples and provides both methodological and process information.
The good research guide : for small scale research projects by 
Twitter by
Social media have formed part and parcel of our everyday life. Defined by many as a public sphere, Twitter has indeed enabled social and political conversations, empowering diverse voices from networked societies that hold government accountable and encourage activities that promises several benefits in business, politics, education, health, and commerce among others.This collection of essays takes a difference approach to describing the functions and roles of Twitter in almost all human affairs. In examining the various ideas and opinions about Twitter and its diverse and complex userbase, this volume not only describes the uses and perspectives but also introduces cutting-edge scientific research techniques for studying Twitter. The uses of Twitter in some professional and academic disciplines such as journalism, teaching and learning, creative writing, campaigning, sports, and business are carefully explained.This volumes international authorship includes experts, professionals, and emerging scholars from many various disciplines, and they apply different methods and approaches to studying Twitter as a strong and vibrant platform of social media. This book will be very helpful as a handbook to students, scholars, and professionals in communication, journalism, education, politics, linguistics, and social media studies.
A Guide to Research Methodology by
Research Methodology is meant to provide a broad guideline to facilitate and steer the whole of a research activity in any discipline. With the ambit and amount of research increasing by the day, the need for Research Methodology is being widely appreciated. Against this backdrop, we notice the dearth of well-written books on the subject. A Guide to Research Methodology attempts a balance between the generic approach to research in any domain and the wide array of research methods which are to be used in carrying out different tasks in any research. Discussions on these research methods appropriate in various disciplines have focused on the research tasks, keeping in mind the fact that a single such task like a comparison among alternatives may involve several methods from seemingly distinct areas. Unique features of this volume, as will be evident to a discerning reader, include: A detailed discussion on problem areas for research in several domains An illustrative and ampliated list of research problems drawn from different disciplines which can be pursued by interested research workers A comprehensive delineation of Research Design supported by illustrations An elaborate engagement with models with a note on model uncertainty Focus on recent and emerging models, methods and techniques A novel treatment of data analysis where the nature of data and the objective(s) of analysis justify drawing upon a variety of techniques for analysis This book will serve the purpose of a pre-PhD or a Master-level course-work for students of any discipline with a basic knowledge of quantitative analysis. In fact, anyone aspiring to take up meaningful research work will find the content useful and interesting.
How to Read Journal Articles in the Social Sciences by
This superb guide teaches you how to read critically. Its no-nonsense, practical approach uses a specially developed reading code to help you read articles for your research project; this simple code enables you to decipher journal articles structurally, mechanically and grammatically.
Buzan's Study Skills by
The amazing mind mapping, speed reading and memory techniques developed by Tony Buzan, on the brain and learning, will revolutionize your studies and maximize your success in exams; whatever your subject or academic level. Improve your concentration and comprehension to levels you never thought possible. Memorize information and recall it with ease; even in high pressure situations, like exams; Take effective, usable and reliable notes while in lectures and when reading. Read at an amazing speed and remember exactly what you read.
Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates by
Reading critically, and writing using critical techniques, are crucial skills you need to apply to your academic work. Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates is bursting with tools for analysing texts and structuring critical reviews, helping you to gradually build your skills beyond undergraduate level and gain confidence in your ability to critically read and write.
Study Reading by
Study Reading is a course for learners of intermediate level or above who need to advance their reading skills for study purposes. Study Reading: adopts a learner centred approach suitable for classroom as well as self-study use, has clearly labelled sections which allow users to select and focus on the skills areas most appropriate to their needs, includes authentic texts from textbooks, journals, reference works and study guides currently used in universities, colleges, and other institutions of higher learning, encourages students to refine their reading strategies through a variety of task-based and problem-solving activities, gives direct advice on how to improve reading efficiency.
Focus on Vocabulary by
Focus on Vocabulary: Mastering the Academic Word List, by Diane Schmitt and Norbert Schmitt, is a research-based vocabulary textbook that gives high-intermediate to advanced students the advantage they need to succeed in academic environments. Through excerpts from college texts and well-crafted exercises, English learners study the Academic Word List -- the most frequently used words in academic texts. To help students reach a fuller understanding of the new vocabulary, each chapter provides a series of exercises on word meaning and word families. In addition, collocations exercises develop students' ability to form natural partnerships between the target vocabulary and other words. Features *Seven units focus on a variety of subject areas, such as social change, consumer behavior, natural resources, and music. *Each chapter carefully recycles the target vocabulary four times in reading passages and vocabulary-building exercises. *The collocation exercises -- based on the 179-million-word New Longman Corpus -- reflect how academic words are actually used in real contexts.*Strategy Practice chapters offer tips for dictionary usage, information about word roots and affixes, and methods for expanding students' word knowledge. *An Expansion section at the end of each chapter provides additional reading, discussion, and writing activities that broaden students' understanding of vocabulary.
Upgrade Your Life by
Whether you're a Mac or Windows user, there are tricks here for you in this helpful resource. You'll feast on this buffet of new shortcuts to make technology your ally instead of your adversary, so you can spend more time getting things done and less time fiddling with your computer. You'll learn valuable ways to upgrade your life so that you can work and live more efficiently, such as: empty your e-mail inbox, search the Web in three keystrokes, securely save Web site passwords, automatically back up your files, and many more.
Student Procrastination by
Provides research based advice and practical suggestions to help students beat procrastination and perform better at university or college. With a combination of theory, practice, and case study stories and tips from other students, this book will help students seize the date and get more work done.
Time Management from the Inside Out by
A thoroughly updated and expanded edition of the definitive guide to managing and freeing up time Applying the groundbreaking from-the-inside-out approach that madeOrganizing from the Inside Out aNew York Times bestseller, Julie Morgenstern set a new standard for the time- management category. Her system has helped countless readers uncover their psychological stumbling blocks and strengths, and develop a time-management system that suits their individual needs. By applying her proven three-step program-Analyze, Strategize, Attack-and following her effective guidelines, readers will find more time for work, family, self-improvement, or whatever is most important to them. Time management is a learnable skill, and in this completely revised edition, Morgenstern provides the ultimate tools to combine, delegate, and eliminate unnecessary tasks; put technology to work; and stop procrastinating once and for all. This revised edition ofTime Management from the Inside Out delivers - a new chapter about the WADE formula for getting started - new time maps for people with irregular schedules - new four-, eight-, and twelve-week program guides for improving time-management skills - a fully updated resource guide
Getting things done : how to achieve stress-free productivity by 
Eat that frog! : get more of the important things done - today! by 
