The internet can be a great place for research. Google is quick and easy to use, links to vast amounts of free and current information, includes government sites, many research organisation, and specialist blogs.
The downside to Google is it does not discriminate and won't give the best results for academic information. Unlike the the Library's resources that are chosen for quality, you'll have to evaluate all information that you find on the Internet before you use it in your assignments.
When evaluating think about:
Google Search Engine Tools
Searches scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines from journal articles, eBooks to conference papers. Items are ranks by citations. Recent and popular items are often restricted behind Publishers' pay-walls.
Student can use citations found in Google Scholar to search Library Search and access the full text if available.
Provides a sophisticated search interface to retrieve more specific results similar to the functionality of the library databases. You can use search operators (AND, OR, NOT) and other punctuation to get limited resulted rather than the million plus, typical of Google.
You can search within specific domains e.g. .ac.uk or websites: www.gov.uk.
ACHUKA - Website dedicated to children’s books, particularly in the UK, and the go-to place for children’s books news and features about authors.s.
British Association of Counselling and Psychotherapy - ACP’s primary purpose is to support counsellors and help them better serve their clients.
Barnardo's - A charity for children. Their purpose is to transform the lives of the UK’s most vulnerable children.
BBC - Learning: online learning resources - BBC Learning website has been archived. Containn curriculaium resources from school to university study.
BBC News - Education & Family - Current education news from the BBC.
BELBIN - The home of Belbin Team Roles. Belbin have identified nine different behaviours (or contributions) that individuals display in the work place. We call these the nine Belbin Team Roles. The website provides links to Belbin resources.
The British Educational Research Association (BERA) - Ethical Guidelines for educational research. The British Educational Research Association (BERA) is the home of educational research in the United Kingdom. A membership association committed to advancing knowledge of education by sustaining a strong and high quality educational research community.
Books for Keeps - Books for Keeps is an online independent magazine about children’s books.
British Library (Children's literature links) - The British Library selective list of websites in the field of children's literature. There are many other pages on the British Library website which will also be of interest, including the Learning pages for teachers and students, and Aspects of the Victorian Book, an online exhibition which contains illustrations from Victorian children's books.
Cambridge Primary Review Trust - The Trust exists to extend and build upon the work of the Cambridge Primary Review and advance the cause of high quality primary education for all children in accordance with CPR’s core aims, principles and evidence.
Center on the Developing Child at Harvard University - The Center on the Developing Child’s diverse activities align around building an R&D (research and development) platform for science-based innovation, and transforming the policy and practice landscape that supports and even demands change.
Chartered Institute of Professional Development - The professional body for HR and people development.
Chartered Management Institute - Chartered Management Institute's services help hundreds of organisations across public, private and the third sector tackle key HR issues such as talent management, employee engagement and managing change.
Child Education - Scholastic - Scholastic Resource Bank contains, lesson ideas and classroom resources.
Child Protection Research Centre - The Centre is an innovative partnership preventing child abuse and neglect through providing research, education and dialogue to address entrenched problems in child protection.
Childhood Wellbeing Research Centre - The Childhood Wellbeing Research Centre is an independent research centre with funding from the Department for Education to provide high quality research, analysis and expert advice on the issues that promote or inhibit childhood wellbeing.
Children Act 1989 - An Act to reform the law relating to children; to provide for local authority services for children in need and others; to amend the law with respect to children’s homes, community homes, voluntary homes and voluntary organisations.
Children and Young People (Policies) - UK government policies that relate to children and young people.
Children in Europe - For the last 10 years Children in Europe magazine has proved indispensable for keeping up-to-date with European policies, research and good practice.
Children in Scotland - Children in Scotland is the collective voice for children, young people and families in Scotland, and organisations and businesses that have a significant positive impact on children’s lives.
Children's Books (BookTrust) - BookTrust transforms lives by getting children and families reading. BookTrust is the UK's largest children's reading charity. Each year they reach 2.5 million children across the UK with books, resources and support to help develop a love of reading, because reading can transform lives
Children's Rights - Children’s Rights uses the law to hold governments accountable and defend thousands of kids when the American foster care systems fail.
Class Size Research Project - The web pages for the Class Size Research projects.
Curriculum and Qualifications - Information about UK curriculum and qualifications.
Data protection Act - The Data Protection Act controls how your personal information is used by organisations, businesses or the government.
Department for Education - The Department for Education is responsible for children’s services and education, including higher and further education policy, apprenticeships and wider skills in England.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development - The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.
Institute of Education (UCL) - UCL Institute of Education (IOE) is a world-leading centre for research and teaching in education and social science.
EUROPA - European Union website - Official website of the European Union.
Foundation Years (From pregnancy to children aged 5) - The broad range of information accessible on this site is developed by government, professionals and the voluntary and community sector and is continually updated with the latest news, information and resources.
Geoff Petty - Teaching Today - The Institute of Psychoanalysis Library grants access to Psychoanalysis students at Mdidlesex to use their library free of charge. Access is reference only and you will not receive a remote login or Athens password for the Institute. You can howeveer use Pepweb on their library site. Pepweb has digitised versions of Freud and Jung's complete/collected works. Please contact your librarian Viv v.eades@mdx.ac.uk to get access to the IOPA.
The Joseph Rowntree Foundation - The Joseph Rowntree Foundation is an independent organisation working to inspire social change through research, policy and practice.
National Centre of Excellence in the Teaching of Maths - The NRICH Project aims to enrich the mathematical experiences of all learners. To support this aim, members of the NRICH team work in a wide range of capacities, including providing professional development for teachers wishing to embed rich mathematical tasks into everyday classroom practice.
Ofsted - Ofsted is the Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills. They inspect and regulate services that care for children and young people, and services providing education and skills for learners of all ages.
Poverty and Social Exclusion - This website is part of the Poverty and Social Exclusion in the United Kingdom research project funded by the Economic and Social Research Council.
Radical Statistics Group - RadStats is an independent organisation that uses statistics to support progressive social change. Members are committed to help build a more free, democratic and egalitarian society. Members of Radstats are concerned at the extent to which official statistics reflect governmental rather than social purposes.
Save the Children UK - Save the Children UK aim to inspire breakthroughs in the way the world treats children, and to achieve immediate and lasting change in their lives.
Self-efficacy - General Information on Self-Efficacy and materials at this site.
Simply Psychology - Site contains articles on Cognitive Psychology, Developmental Psychology and Abnormal Psychology.
Special Educational Needs (SEN) Code of Practice and regulations - This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy - The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
The Association for Science Education - The Association for Science Education (ASE) is the largest subject association in the UK. It is an active professional learning community that has been supporting all those involved in science education from pre-school to higher education for over 100 years.
The TES - Educational materials, jobs, news and courses from and for community of teachers and school leaders.
Times Higher Education - Education news and university jobs. THE is the data provider underpinning university excellence in every continent across the world. As the company behind the world’s most influential university ranking, and with almost five decades of experience as a source of analysis and insight on higher education, we have unparalleled expertise on the trends underpinning university performance globally.
UK Data Service - Provides users with seamless and flexible access to a wide range of data resources to facilitate high quality social and economic research and education.
UKLA : The UK Literacy Association - UKLA is committed to promoting good practice nationally and internationally in literacy and language teaching and research. The Association was founded in 1963 as the United Kingdom Reading Association.
UNICEF (Convention on the Rights of the Child) - UNICEF works in 190 countries and territories to protect the rights of every child. Defending children's rights throughout their lives requires a global presence, aiming to produce results and understand their effects.
Writing and keeping journals - A guide for educators and social practitioners. Educators are often encouraged to write journals – especially when they are training – but what does journal writing entail, what benefits can it bring, and how can we go about writing one?