My Subject: Aviation Library Guide: Aviation Psychology

Just Culture

In this Second Edition, Dekker expands his view of just culture, additionally tackling the key issue of how justice is created inside organizations. Dekker also introduces new material on ethics and on caring

Aviation Psychology and Human Factors

This book covers the application of psychological principles and techniques to situations and problems of aviation. It offers an overview of the role psychology plays in aviation, system design, selection and training of pilots, characteristics of pilots, safety, and passenger behavior. It covers concepts of psychological research and data analysis and shows how these tools are used in the development of new psychological knowledge.

Aviation Psychology: Practice and Research

In the well-established aviation system, the importance of sound human factors practice, based on good aviation psychology research, is obvious from those incidents and accidents resulting from its neglect. This carefully structured book presents an up-to-date review of the main areas in the field of Aviation Psychology. It contains current thinking mainly from Europe, but with input from Australia and North America, from specialists involved in research, training and operational practice.

Practical Human Factors for Pilots

Practical Human Factors for Pilots bridges the divide between human factors research and one of the key industries that this research is meant to benefit--civil aviation. Human factors are now recognized as being at the core of aviation safety and the training syllabus that flight crew trainees have to follow reflects that. This book will help student pilots pass exams in human performance and limitations, successfully undergo multi-crew cooperation training and crew resource management (CRM) training, and prepare them for assessment in non-technical skills during operator and license proficiency checks in the simulator, and during line checks when operating flights.

Human Factors in Aviation

Human Factors in Aviation is the first comprehensive review of contemporary applications of human factors research to aviation. A "must" for aviation professionals, equipment and systems designers, pilots, and managers--with emphasis on definition and solution of specific problems. General areas of human cognition and perception, systems theory, and safety are approached through specific topics in aviation--behavioral analysis of pilot performance, cockpit automation, advancing display and control technology, and training methods.

A Human Error Approach to Aviation Accident Analysis

Appropriate for all levels of expertise, the book provides the knowledge and tools required to conduct a human error analysis of accidents, regardless of operational setting (i.e. military, commercial, or general aviation). The book contains a complete description of the Human Factors Analysis and Classification System (HFACS), which incorporates James Reason's model of latent and active failures as a foundation. Widely disseminated among military and civilian organizations, HFACS encompasses all aspects of human error, including the conditions of operators and elements of supervisory and organizational failure. It attracts a very broad readership.

The Limits of Expertise

The Limits of Expertise reports a study of the 19 major U.S. airline accidents from 1991-2000 in which the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) found crew error to be a causal factor. Each accident is reported in a separate chapter that examines events and crew actions and explores the cognitive processes in play at each step.

The Human Contribution

This book explores the human contribution to the reliability and resilience of complex, well-defended systems. The book draws its illustrative material from a wide variety of hazardous domains, with the emphasis on healthcare reflecting the author's focus on patient safety over the last decade. All students of human factors - however seasoned - will also find it an invaluable and thought-provoking read.

Crew Resource Management

The new edition of Crew Resource Management reflects advancements made in the conceptual foundation as well as the methods and approaches of applying CRM in the aviation industry. Each contributor examines techniques and presents cases that best illustrate CRM concepts and training. This book discusses the history and research foundation of CRM and also stresses the importance of making adaptive changes and advancements.

Safety Cultures, Safety Models

The objective of this book is to help at-risk organizations to decipher the "safety cloud", and to position themselves in terms of operational decisions and improvement strategies in safety, considering the path already travelled, their context, objectives and constraints.

Black Box Thinking

Using case studies, interviews and practical takeaways, Matthew Syed - the award-winning journalist and best-selling author of Bounce - explains how to turn failure into success, and shows us how we can all become better Black Box Thinkers.

Just Culture

In this Second Edition, Dekker expands his view of just culture, additionally tackling the key issue of how justice is created inside organizations. Dekker also introduces new material on ethics and on caring

Aviation Psychology and Human Factors

This book covers the application of psychological principles and techniques to situations and problems of aviation. It offers an overview of the role psychology plays in aviation, system design, selection and training of pilots, characteristics of pilots, safety, and passenger behavior. It covers concepts of psychological research and data analysis and shows how these tools are used in the development of new psychological knowledge.

Aviation Psychology: Practice and Research

In the well-established aviation system, the importance of sound human factors practice, based on good aviation psychology research, is obvious from those incidents and accidents resulting from its neglect. This carefully structured book presents an up-to-date review of the main areas in the field of Aviation Psychology. It contains current thinking mainly from Europe, but with input from Australia and North America, from specialists involved in research, training and operational practice.

Practical Human Factors for Pilots

Practical Human Factors for Pilots bridges the divide between human factors research and one of the key industries that this research is meant to benefit--civil aviation. Human factors are now recognized as being at the core of aviation safety and the training syllabus that flight crew trainees have to follow reflects that. This book will help student pilots pass exams in human performance and limitations, successfully undergo multi-crew cooperation training and crew resource management (CRM) training, and prepare them for assessment in non-technical skills during operator and license proficiency checks in the simulator, and during line checks when operating flights.

Human Factors in Aviation

Human Factors in Aviation is the first comprehensive review of contemporary applications of human factors research to aviation. A "must" for aviation professionals, equipment and systems designers, pilots, and managers--with emphasis on definition and solution of specific problems. General areas of human cognition and perception, systems theory, and safety are approached through specific topics in aviation--behavioral analysis of pilot performance, cockpit automation, advancing display and control technology, and training methods.

A Human Error Approach to Aviation Accident Analysis

Appropriate for all levels of expertise, the book provides the knowledge and tools required to conduct a human error analysis of accidents, regardless of operational setting (i.e. military, commercial, or general aviation). The book contains a complete description of the Human Factors Analysis and Classification System (HFACS), which incorporates James Reason's model of latent and active failures as a foundation. Widely disseminated among military and civilian organizations, HFACS encompasses all aspects of human error, including the conditions of operators and elements of supervisory and organizational failure. It attracts a very broad readership.

The Limits of Expertise

The Limits of Expertise reports a study of the 19 major U.S. airline accidents from 1991-2000 in which the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) found crew error to be a causal factor. Each accident is reported in a separate chapter that examines events and crew actions and explores the cognitive processes in play at each step.

The Human Contribution

This book explores the human contribution to the reliability and resilience of complex, well-defended systems. The book draws its illustrative material from a wide variety of hazardous domains, with the emphasis on healthcare reflecting the author's focus on patient safety over the last decade. All students of human factors - however seasoned - will also find it an invaluable and thought-provoking read.

Crew Resource Management

The new edition of Crew Resource Management reflects advancements made in the conceptual foundation as well as the methods and approaches of applying CRM in the aviation industry. Each contributor examines techniques and presents cases that best illustrate CRM concepts and training. This book discusses the history and research foundation of CRM and also stresses the importance of making adaptive changes and advancements.

Safety Cultures, Safety Models

The objective of this book is to help at-risk organizations to decipher the "safety cloud", and to position themselves in terms of operational decisions and improvement strategies in safety, considering the path already travelled, their context, objectives and constraints.

Black Box Thinking

Using case studies, interviews and practical takeaways, Matthew Syed - the award-winning journalist and best-selling author of Bounce - explains how to turn failure into success, and shows us how we can all become better Black Box Thinkers.

Just Culture

In this Second Edition, Dekker expands his view of just culture, additionally tackling the key issue of how justice is created inside organizations. Dekker also introduces new material on ethics and on caring

Aviation Library Guide: Aviation Psychology

Trouble-shooting Issues

Academic Textbooks

Just Culture

Aviation Psychology and Human Factors

Aviation Psychology: Practice and Research

Practical Human Factors for Pilots

Human Factors in Aviation

A Human Error Approach to Aviation Accident Analysis

The Limits of Expertise

The Human Contribution

Crew Resource Management

Safety Cultures, Safety Models

Black Box Thinking

Just Culture

Aviation Psychology and Human Factors

Aviation Psychology: Practice and Research

Practical Human Factors for Pilots

Human Factors in Aviation

A Human Error Approach to Aviation Accident Analysis

The Limits of Expertise

The Human Contribution

Crew Resource Management

Safety Cultures, Safety Models

Black Box Thinking

Just Culture

Academic Journals

Useful Websites