My Subject: Trainee Nursing Associates: Your Library Resources

A very brief intro to Literature Searching

A very brief video about Keywords

Literature Searching -there's lots of advice on this page.

Have a look at the videos and the information on this page. Planning a good approach to your Literature Searching will lead to better results and give you a stronger foundation for success in your assignments.

Literature Searching -teach yourself the basics via our guide

Searching for UK focused articles

Finding UK articles

CINAHL: focusing on UK content

Finding UK articles

Help Sheets

Helpsheets and worksheets from literature searching sessions

CINAHL helpsheet
Primary or Secondary? This Word document has some advice on how to identify a primary research article
Planning your literature search
Using PICO & PEO: developing your research question and search strategy
Getting started with your extended essay question
Blank template - Developing your extended essay question
Example filled in template - extended essay

Recommended resources

These resources are very useful for finding journal articles:

Internurse This link opens in a new window Find full text articles from key UK nursing journals, including British Journal of Nursing.
British Nursing Database This link opens in a new window An extensive and up to date nursing and midwifery database, covering over 200 UK journals and other English-language titles

Library Search
Library Search finds books but also searches within the nursing journal databases and finds you full-text articles. It is an excellent option for searching for nursing articles.

Primary or Secondary? This Word document has some advice on how to identify a Primary research article.
Finding UK articles

Nursing Times website
We have a subscription to the Nursing Times website. This includes searching across the journal and their other resources. Please follow the instructions on the page behind the link to login.
Literature Searching - teach yourself the basics via our guide

Useful resources for year two

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is your main resource to help you carry out a comprehensive search for relevant references.
Cochrane (Open Access Resource) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is the main resource for systematic reviews.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Good for finding articles from the whole range of medical literature. Covers more than 4800 journals.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window

CINAHL Basic Search

Doing a basic search in CINAHL

CINAHL Advanced Search

Advanced search in CINAHL

Visible Body - interactive apps for Anatomy & Physiology

Visible Body Suite This link opens in a new window
Visible Body Suite is an anatomy & physiology learning package containing interactive 3D models and animations. Available as a web resource and free mobile apps for iOS and Android.

Follow the link above, click ‘Sign Up’ and create an account using your university email address. You can then access the Visible Body web suite and download the apps.

Clinical Observations : Vital Signs

Clinical observations 1/6: assessing body temperature
British Journal of Healthcare Assistants 6(5) : 215 - 219 (May 2012)
Clinical observations 2/6: assessing the pulse rate
British Journal of Healthcare Assistants 6(6) : 274 - 278 (Jun 2012)
Clinical observations 3/6: Taking ECG’s
British Journal of Healthcare Assistants 6(7) : 328 - 333 (Jul 2012)
Clinical observations 4/6: assessing blood pressure
British Journal of Healthcare Assistants 6(8) : 382 - 387 (Aug 2012)
Clinical observations 5/6: breathing/respiratory rate
British Journal of Healthcare Assistants 6(9) : 438 - 441 (Sep 2012)
Clinical Observations 6/6: nutritional assessment
British Journal of Healthcare Assistants 6(10) : 488 - 492 (Oct 2012)