We have access to the Nursing Times website. This includes the journal articles and the wider website content. Follow the instructions on the page behind the link to login and set up an account using your Middlesex University email address.
Visible Body is an online anatomy & physiology learning package. Download the mobile apps over the MDXUNI wifi network. There is also a desktop version.
Excellent advice from the RCN Library on 10 key steps in Literature Searching
Why do I need to reference? Scroll to the bottom right on the video to see this full screen.
Read all the articles in the February 2020 issue of the BMJ. Make sure you are logged into MyUniHub first.
The RCN Digital Archive has an excellent range of photos from Nursing history. They can be used for educational use but don't forget to Reference using the advice for Visual Sources in Cite Them Right
Need some help with using our databases or with referencing? Get in contact with your subject Librarian to book a one-to-one online appointment. There's also lots of advice on these subject guides.
Our Referencing guide is full of essential information to help you get things right!
Borrow this very funny book about life in the NHS. You'll find it via Library Search.
Cite Them Right Online has examples for all your Referencing needs. Try the online help videos and tutorials to help you build up your skills.
Your Reading List has library resources chosen by your Module Leaders specifically to help you with your module. The books and articles on them will help you do your assignments.
BoB has BBC TV and radio Archive going back to 2007 plus material from the last 30 days from other broadcasters. It's great for news stories and documentaries on NHS and medical stories. Use your MDX email to sign in.
Have a look at the free training courses you can do via LinkedIn Learning - brush up your IT, web development, photography or job interview skills. There's lots there and it is all free for Middlesex students and staff.
Want to read something that isn't a text book or an academic article? Try this for a bit of excellent wider reading. Shelfmark: 610.73092 WAT or read this book online via Library Search.
The most important e-Book that you need to know about is your KORTEXT book. This is your personal e-Book, selected specifically for your Module. Find the link in your Module area.
For information about logging in to NHS ATHENS or questions about the modules to complete via NHS ATHENS, please read this document and follow the instructions.
Want to read something that isn't a text book or an academic article? Try this for a bit of excellent wider reading. Shelfmark: 610.73092 CAS
Follow Middlesex University Library on Facebook
Find out more about how to use Library Search. This guide includes some excellent step by step instructions.
If you need help with your Academic Writing there is a whole team to help you with that. Contact the LET team for advice and appointments.
What does the Nursing & Midwifery Council do? Watch this YouTube video to find out.
Need a break from your studies? The Wellcome Collection always has interesting Health-related exhibitions. Explore their website for some online inspiration.
This Cite Them Right page has a very useful example Reference List.
Managing your Library Account helps you to stay on top of your Loans and Reservations. This useful guide shows you the important things to know.
If you need something that isn't in our own collection we can arrange an Inter Library Loan for you.
Remember to log in to myUniHub before using our electronic resources. Logging in shows that you are a fully authenticated Middlesex student and gives you full access to everything we have online.
Global Newstream is a database of online newspapers. You can save searches and set up Alerts to keep up-to-date with stories that interest you.
Follow the MDX Library instagram account @mdxlibrary
Always sign in to Library Search. You'll be able to Pin selected items to a list for viewing later, save searches, request items and manage your library account.
Want to read something that isn't a text book or an academic article? Try this for a bit of excellent wider reading. Shelfmark: 618.20092 HAZ
A bit of nursing themed poetry to brighten your day.
These Subject Guides created by the Librarians at the RCN link to some excellent resources. The subjects are varied - such as Diabetes, Sepsis in children, LGBT & Health, Midwifery, End of Life Care, HCAs APs and TNAs key resources, History of Nursing and many more.
A quick intro to Literature Searching. Scroll to the bottom right on the video to view this full screen.
Searching for UK focused articles Scroll to the bottom right on the video to view this full screen.
Keep up with the latest Covid advice from the RCN.
This list is not comprehensive and you can browse the full list of Middlesex University ejournals via Library Search.
British Journal of Healthcare Assistants
British Journal of Nursing
Journal of Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing
Nursing Standard
Nursing TimesWelcome to your Library Guide. You'll find lots of useful advice, essential links and videos to help you with your studies. If you need any help please contact me. You can also use our Library Chat or Ask a Librarian service to speak to a Librarian.
For more information on Library Services please visit: https://unihub.mdx.ac.uk/study/library
Use Library Search to find your books, journal articles and other online resources.
A literature search is a systematic and comprehensive search for information. This information will inform, underpin and /or shape your research.
A literature search will help you to find out what has already been written in your subject area and identify the main trends.
The information could be found in books, journal articles, reports, guidelines, case studies, policy documents, conference proceedings etc.
To do a full literature search you will need to use the recommended nursing academic journal databases. Online tutorials and help sheets for using the individual databases are also available. You also might need to look at NICE guidelines, the RCN, RCM, WHO and other official and professional organisations.
Remember, you must always be logged into MyUniHub first. That is how the databases know that you are from Middlesex University and that you don't have to pay!
Google Scholar is useful for citation searching (using sources cited in articles to lead to other sources) as it includes hyperlinks directly to cited sources. However, start with the academic journal databases that we subscribe to as in most cases you will get straight into the full-text.
More information about citation searching can be found on the Open University website.
Watch our videos on the right about Literature Searching and why keywords are so important!
Below are some key resources recommended by your lecturers:
Use this link to see all available appointments: https://appointment-librarian.mdx.ac.uk/calendar?cid=8224&t=d&d=0000-00-00&cal=8224&inc=0
Book via the calendar below OR EMAIL ME to see if I am free to do one-to-ones at different times: L.pearson@mdx.ac.uk
It is important to properly reference your work. Cite Them Right will help you reference just about any source, using the Harvard referencing style.
Articles
