It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Product Design and Design Engineering: Specialist Databases
The library subscribes to a range of databases which can be accessed from Mylibrary.
These resources allow access to a varied range of information and services including:
Subject specific journal databases i.e. collections of journals, but often including other types of information such as book chapters, conference papers and research papers in a particular subject area e.g. IEEE Xplore (computing and engineering)
Specialist/Themed information e.g. WGSN Lifestyle and Interiors (trends, forecasting, news, inspiration) and Mintel (business, industry and marketing information)
Specific information types such as British Standards Online (Standards), Global Newsstream (newspapers) and Box of Broadcasts (TV and radio programmes)
Individual resources such as Britannica Online (encyclopedia)
Training/skills/alert services such as LinkedIn Learning (video tutorials - business, technology and creative skills) and Cite Them Right Online (referencing).
See below for guidance on how to access these specialist databases.
Specialist databases relevant to your programme are listed to the right.
Journal databases enable access to journal articles and may also contain conference proceedings, research papers, newspapers, TV programmes and Standards.
Journal databases can usually be searched by subject and more specifically by author, type of material, article title, publisher, year, language or organisation.
Many databases provide full-text articles i.e. the articles can be read online.
Databases which are useful for product design and design engineering programmes include:
ACM Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Database of papers published and marketed by the ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) including journal and newsletter articles, and conference proceedings; plus citations/abstracts to material from other publishers.
Subject Scope: All areas of computing science.
Date Range: 60 years of ACM archives
Full Text: Yes for ACM publications
ARTbibliographies ModernThis link opens in a new windowDescription: ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Full coverage begins in 1974 when the first volume was digitised, but entries date back to the late 1960s.
Art Full TextThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Also includes Art Abstracts and contains bibliographic references and abstracts of articles from 280 periodicals - journals, yearbooks and museum bulletins. Subject coverage spans all aspects of art, from visual to performing arts, and ranges from Archaeology to Television and Video. Art Abstracts currently has 400,000 records and is updated monthly. It indexes periodicals from 1984, and includes abstracts from 1994 onwards.
Bloomsbury Design LibraryThis link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide from 1500BC to the present day. It offers authoritative access to books and reference material, and includes a rich selection of museum object images.
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Business Source Complete is our most comprehensive business database with content from peer reviewed (scholarly) journal and magazine articles. Most articles are full text. Business reports with industry, company and country profiles are also included.
Computer SourceThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Searchable database of c750 publications (mostly journals), providing access to the latest information and current trends in high technology including topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.
Subject Scope: All areas of computing and information science.
Date Range: Various dates, but full text information dates as far back as 1985.
Full Text: Full-text access to c300 publications. Citation/abstract only for c450 publications.
Design and Applied Arts IndexThis link opens in a new windowDescription: DAAI is an international index to the contents of design and crafts journals since 1973, and is the only database devoted to this subject area. Subjects covered include advertising, jewellery, metalsmithing, packaging, graphic design, fashion, textiles, design management etc. In addition DAAI also includes other searchable databases: international directories of associations, journals, educational establishments, archives and special collections.
GreenFILEThis link opens in a new windowDescription: GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
Subject Scope: A unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment, drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
IEEE Xplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL))This link opens in a new windowDescription: Access to quality technical literature from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines and conference proceedings, IET journals and conference proceedings, and IEEE published standards.
Subject Scope: Electrical engineering, computing science and electronics.
Date Range: Mainly from 1988 onwards, with some select content published since 1893.
Full Text: Yes
Science DirectThis link opens in a new windowDescription: A leading full-text scientific database providing access to journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Includes:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Social Science and Humanities
Social Sciences Citation Index
Science Citation Index
(See individual databases for more information)
Subject Scope: Arts, Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences
Date Range: Varied
Full Text: No
COBRAThis link opens in a new windowPractical information for starting up a small business in the UK. This is especially useful for smaller and niche sectors and for market information in specific areas of the UK.
IBISWorldThis link opens in a new windowAn excellent collection of industry research reports
MintelThis link opens in a new windowMintel contains marketing intelligence reports, trend analysis and market size information for a wide range of industries and across several countries. It is particularly strong for sector information in European and American countries.
PassportThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Passport provides key business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. It will be useful to students studying a wide range of areas including international business and marketing, economics, social science, travel and tourism, international hospitality management, international relations & environmental health.
WARCThis link opens in a new windowDescription: World Advertising Research Centre (WARC) combines current new thinking and trends with best practice, featuring access to over 6,000 award-winning case studies, in-depth trend analysis, and research reports.
Established in 1985, WARC combines its own content with that of respected industry partners worldwide and provides detailed solutions to real marketing challenges.
WGSN InteriorsThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Worth Global Style Network Interiors is an online trend forecasting and product design tool for the industrial design, home and interiors market across 16 product categories, including furniture, lighting, textiles, interiors, garden design
BoB (Box of Broadcasts)This link opens in a new windowThe first time you use this you will have to sign in with your Middlesex email address.
Description: BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service we subscribe to. BoB enables all staff and students to choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels from the last 30 days plus access to BBC TV and radio Archive going back to 2007.
British Standards Online (BSOL)This link opens in a new windowMiddlesex University has access to a Custom Collection of up to 150 British Standards. Please contact Vanessa Hill (firstname.lastname@example.org) to request full-text access to Standards not currently in our subscription.
Global NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowFeatures full-text global news content from the present time to 1980s, from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
KanopyThis link opens in a new windowFilms online via the Kanopy streaming service. Content includes: Popular documentaries, Oscar winners and nominees, classic films, short films and independent films.
UK Data ServiceThis link opens in a new windowDescription: UK Data Service is a comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC which provides a unified point of access to the extensive range of high quality economic and social data, including valuable census data.
Britannica (Encyclopedia)This link opens in a new windowDescription: 100,000 professionally edited and researched articles on just about every subject, thesaurus & dictionary of quotations, links to 800,000 full-text journal and magazine articles plus full text E-books and primary sources, World Data Analyst (current and past statistics and interactive World Atlas) and automatic citations at the end of articles.
DETAIL inspiration DatabankThis link opens in a new windowThe DETAIL inspiration online databank gives users access to more than 5,500 DETAIL project documentations. By using professional search functions and filter options to find key terms such as building type, material, construction year or the topic of an issue, DETAIL inspiration supports architects both in their quest for solutions and in their daily work. The projects can be organized and saved as needed in personal watchlists.
Cite Them Right OnlineThis link opens in a new windowDescription: Cite them right online covers a comprehensive range of source types, alongside detailed advice on referencing and its importance in academic work
Subject Scope: For use by students in Business, Criminology and Sociology, Health and Education, Science and Technology and Work Based Learning. Art and Design, Law and 3rd year H&E should follow the links in the Referencing Library Subject guide. http://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/plagiarismreferencing
LinkedIn LearningThis link opens in a new windowMainland China access ended14th December 2021: We are very sorry that from 14.12.21 access to LinkedIn Learning is no longer be possible from mainland China. This includes access via VPN. Access for partners in Hong Kong will continue.
Make the most of free access to LinkedIn Learning and your time at Middlesex University, activate your LinkedIn Learning account and connect it to your LinkedIn profile page to:
• retain a permanent record of your learning history
• grow your network of like-minded people
• increase your employment prospects after graduation
To find out more, visit the LinkedIn Learning Subject Guide here (https://libguides.mdx.ac.uk/linkedinlearning)
Warning: if you do not save your learning history on your LinkedIn profile page it cannot be retrieved after graduation.