Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ONLINE BOOKS FOR CHILDREN - THE BOOKTRUST
The children's poetry collection is shelved in the Teaching Resources Room. It contains a wide variety of poetry for all ages. The collection includes classics from Spike Milligan to Edward Lear, through to modern poets such as Helen Dunmore and Roger Stevens.
Dual Language Fiction
Dual language books are kept in the Teaching Resources Room. They are arranged by language and then alphabetically by author.
There are many book titles which come in a range of languages, e.g. The Hungry Caterpillar can be read in Somail, Arabic, Chines, Gujarti, Urdu, Vietnamese, Bengali ...
Teaching Resource Collection
The Teaching Resources room is currently closed and will re-open in September. Books can still be accessed but you will need to request them. Please see the documents below for details of the books available and then search and request via Library Search.
The Teaching Resource Collection at the Sheppard Library, Hendon, contains a wealth of resources for you to use in your teaching practice. There are five main sections:
- DVDs (now in the main Library collection on the first floor wing)
This type of material is identified with a green classmark label prefixed with a 'JF' or a 'T'. Those students studying for a PGCE, or a BA in Primary Education can borrow up to 50 teaching resource items.
Junior fiction books are shelved in the Teaching Resources Room. They are not arranged by Dewey sequence, but by the key stage at which they are aimed, and then alphabetically by author. For example:
- This Tree Counts by Alison Formento has the shelfmark: JF FS FOR
- Rave Master by Hiro Mashima has the shelfmark: JF KS2 MAS
- Junk by Melvin Burgess has the shelfmark: JF KS4 BUR
Examples of Reading Schemes
What is a reading scheme?
"A reading scheme is a series of books that have been carefully written to support the process of learning to read and to help children make progress as readers. What educational researchers know about how children learn to read – and how best to motivate them to learn – is changing and improving all the time. The best reading schemes reflect this research and help teachers to deliver the best teaching in order to improve outcomes for children."(from Oxford Owl Blog)
Oxford Reading Tree
"...Oxford Reading Tree has helped millions of children from all over the world learn to read ... and love to read. Rooted in reading for pleasure and with synthetic phonics at its heart, Oxford Reading Tree's well-loved characters, breadth (over 800 books!) and varied writing styles give children everything they need to become confident readers." (Oxford Owl webpage)
Reading Steady Read
"Ready, Steady, Read makes reading fun and builds the confidence of young readers! Perfect for Key Stage 1 each book includes activities based on the story to help comprehension, reward stickers and handy reading notes for parents and teachers." (from the Little Tiger website)
Oxford Project X
"Raising boys achievement" in reading.
Read Write Inc.
"Read Write Inc. Phonics teaches children to read accurately and fluently with good comprehension..." (OUP)
Story Books dealing with deafness
Max and the Millions by
Shelved at: : JF KS2 MON
Publication Date: 2018
Max is used to spending time alone - it's difficult to make friends in a big, chaotic school when you're deaf. He prefers to give his attention to the little things in life... like making awesome, detailed replica models.
Then Mr Darrow, the school caretaker and fellow modeller, goes missing. Max must follow his parting instruction: 'Go to my room. You'll know what to do...(taken from Amazon)
Freddie and the Fairy by
Shelved at: : JF FS DRA
Publication Date: 2012
"Freddie found a fairy Tangled in a tree. Freddie is desperate for a pet, so when he rescues Bessie-Belle and she offers to grant his wishes he knows just what to ask for. The only problem is that Bessie-Belle can't hear very well, and Freddie tends to mumble. Whatever can they do? Luckily the Fairy Queen is on hand to explain... "