This resource offers searchable access to over 170 eBooks on a broad range of visual arts subjects including fashion and textiles, design and illustration, photography, film and animation, architecture and interiors, marketing and advertising. Providing visual inspiration and ideas, practical advice and techniques.
This is a key digital resource to support moving image studies, providing a broad range of content including e-books, screenplays, overview articles and learning resources covering film history, theory and practice. Collections included are: BFI Film Classics, BFI Film Studies, Bloomsbury & Faber Screenplays & Criticism, Filmmaking.
Use Library Search to find and access quality academic resources.
The first time you use this you will have to sign in with your Middlesex email address.
Description: BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service we subscribe to. BoB enables all staff and students to choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels from the last 30 days plus access to BBC TV and radio Archive going back to 2007.
Films online via the Kanopy streaming service. Content includes: Popular documentaries, Oscar winners and nominees, classic films, short films and independent films.
To find a reading list of recommended books, articles and websites for each of your modules, go to the link below and type your module code (e.g. CRM1273) into the search box:
It is important to use good quality images in your work. This means not only high resolution but good provenance. This refers to the source of the image. Is there accurate, authoritative information about the object? For example:
Instagram and Pinterest have lots of images, but information about the pictures is often very sketchy. Try to use good quality books, museums, galleries and archives or their websites.
These are links to some good quality sources of images:
1. Check Kanopy - they have thousands of films. It's like Netflix, but free for you to use with your university username & password.
2. Check BoB - if the film has been shown on a major TV channel, it may have been recorded and uploaded on their database.
3. Check Library Search - type in the name of the film, then using the filters on the left-hand side, refine by resource type: DVDs. You will be left with online results from Kanopy, as well as physical DVDs on the library shelves.
3. Check BFI Player - they have a 'free tier' with a limited number of films to watch for free.
4. Ask your librarian - we may be able to buy it or suggest another resource for you.
Image from the National Portrait Gallery, London
Image from the V&A Explore the Collections
Did you know that you can watch DVDs on the library's PCs if you don't have a player at home?
Just launch VLC Player via Apps Anywhere and insert the DVD into the drive on the right-hand side of the screen.
Remember to use headphones to avoid disturbing others.
The world’s leading museum of art and design
Art gallery in London that houses a collection of portraits of historically important and famous British people
Tate is an institution that houses, in a network of four art galleries, the United Kingdom's national collection of British art, and international modern and contemporary art.
Art gallery within the Southbank Centre
London’s leading space for contemporary culture
National art museum in Trafalgar Square
Art institution based in Burlington House on Piccadilly in London
London-based contemporary art gallery representing around fifty established and emerging international artists.
The London Transport Museum (LTM) is a transport museum based in Covent Garden, London. The museum predominantly hosts exhibits relating to the heritage of London's transport, as well as conserving and explaining the history of it.
Public art gallery in Whitechapel in the London Borough of Tower Hamlets
One of the world's leading contemporary art galleries, White Cube has spaces in London, Hong Kong, Paris, New York and West Palm Beach
Free contemporary art gallery in London's Kensington gardens