This resource offers searchable access to over 170 eBooks on a broad range of visual arts subjects including fashion and textiles, design and illustration, photography, film and animation, architecture and interiors, marketing and advertising. Providing visual inspiration and ideas, practical advice and techniques.
Open Access: This online resource is freely available to everyone. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses and books, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
An educational & cultural research resource of primary sources exploring 100 years of youth culture through the scenes, styles, and sounds that forged them. From Rave, Punk, Rockabilly to Grime. Click “Log in via your University or Institution”,
Scroll to “Middlesex University” and click the Select button,
This displays the Middlesex University Sign In page where users sign in with their IT User ID and password.
Description: Also includes Art Abstracts and contains bibliographic references and abstracts of articles from 280 periodicals - journals, yearbooks and museum bulletins. Subject coverage spans all aspects of art, from visual to performing arts, and ranges from Archaeology to Television and Video. Art Abstracts currently has 400,000 records and is updated monthly. It indexes periodicals from 1984, and includes abstracts from 1994 onwards.
Description: DAAI is an international index to the contents of design and crafts journals since 1973, and is the only database devoted to this subject area. Subjects covered include advertising, jewellery, metalsmithing, packaging, graphic design, fashion, textiles, design management etc. In addition DAAI also includes other searchable databases: international directories of associations, journals, educational establishments, archives and special collections.
Description: Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Description: ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Full coverage begins in 1974 when the first volume was digitised, but entries date back to the late 1960s.
Quick links to useful pages and resources.
The world’s leading museum of art and design
Art gallery in London that houses a collection of portraits of historically important and famous British people
Tate is an institution that houses, in a network of four art galleries, the United Kingdom's national collection of British art, and international modern and contemporary art.
Art gallery within the Southbank Centre
London’s leading space for contemporary culture
National art museum in Trafalgar Square
Art institution based in Burlington House on Piccadilly in London
London-based contemporary art gallery representing around fifty established and emerging international artists.
The London Transport Museum (LTM) is a transport museum based in Covent Garden, London. The museum predominantly hosts exhibits relating to the heritage of London's transport, as well as conserving and explaining the history of it.
Public art gallery in Whitechapel in the London Borough of Tower Hamlets
One of the world's leading contemporary art galleries, White Cube has spaces in London, Hong Kong, Paris, New York and West Palm Beach
Free contemporary art gallery in London's Kensington gardens
It is important to use good quality images in your work. This means not only high resolution but good provenance. This refers to the source of the image. Is there accurate, authoritative information about the object? For example:
Instagram and Pinterest have lots of images, but information about the pictures is often very sketchy. Try to use good quality books, museums, galleries and archives or their websites.
These are links to some good quality sources of images:
Cromwell Road, London, SW7 2RL
16-18 Ramillies Street, London, W1F7LW
St Martin’s Place, London, WC2H 0HE
49 Jermyn St, St. James's, London SW1Y 6LX
13 Carlos Place, London, W1K 2EU
49 Dorset Street, London, W1U 7NF