My Subject: Law and Legal Resources: Finding Law Journals and Using Legal Databases

Westlaw

If you want to search for exact phrases, use quotation marks. (i.e. “human rights”)
Use the Help section for the meaning of status icons (i.e. repealed, law in force, etc.)
For legislations, PDF copy is the original version. Amendments, if any, are not incorporated in the PDF file.
Free text – words used by researchers
Subject keywords – subject headings assigned by Westlaw people
Citing means the case is used by other cases
Cited means the cases cited in that specific case

Use connectors – OR, AND, AND NOT – to relate your search terms to the rest of your search (i.e. administrative law AND NOT civil infringement actions)

Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Database of full text law reports, legislation and many full text journals from the UK, Europe, the United States and many jurisdictions. Also includes commentary, notes, current awareness, and Halsbury's Laws of England. Date Range: UK case law since 1865. Journal coverage varies depending on publishers. US case law (State and Federal)-dates vary. Large collection of full text US law reviews/journals-again dates vary.

Take note that HeinOnline uses American English. Use Advanced Search.
In advanced search, use CTRL key (in your keyboard) and left click (in your mouse) to select multiple subjects or titles. Choose “All subjects or All titles” to clear your choices. If you want to see the exact pages where your search terms appear, click View Matching Text Page.

Heinonline - Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
Database of law and law-related issues including articles, comments, notes, book reviews, cases, and decisions. Covers more than 90 subject areas published in 29 countries. Also an image-based database providing exact page images as they originally appear in hardcopy. Legal journals and pre-1865 case reports (The English Reports).

You may use title, citation or keywords to search for case law, legislation, EU law and/or journal articles.
Search results linked to MDX-subscribed databases may be accessed directly (i.e. Westlaw, HeinOnline, Lexis).